We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Tarifa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa to your Saves list
Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa
Castelar 11, 11380 Tarifa, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tarifa
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Viva Tarifa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Koala in August, full on summer in Andalusia. Which is basically Africa! Our room AKALO was all the way on top right next to the roof-deck. What a view! Loved the design of the place, modern but not too hipster. With a good working A/C and the evening breeze the temperatures were ideal.
My husband went surfing and running every day, so the shower was something we actually checked on before we made the reservation. Water pressure = thumbs up!
Our room was small but lovely. Everything we needed; we took advantage of the kitchen corner every day to prepare some light meals, used fridge, and espresso machine. Most of the time we ate out, it's so close to the historical center, many eateries to chose from.
The hotel itself is in a small and quiet alley. Super close to the harbor, where you can catch the ferry to Tanger/Morocco. You need a passport which is valid for 6 months after entry and mine was 3 days short of that! One more reason to come back next year :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Gerente at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por tu crítica y nos encantará alojarte nuevamente en el futuro,un abrazo!Marta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    19
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
114
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Air conditioning doesn't work ..it will be fixed "tomorrow".. "Tomorrow" never comes... It's the last week in August and a bakers oven would be cooler..
Room safe is locked.. They will find the key "tomorrow"
Toaster doesn't work
Shower blocked
Window blind broken and won't go up
Beach towels available at reception (rarely manned) and there aren't any.. Use the room towels they say... Then you have no clean towels after the beach.

It's well located and reasonably clean but it's far far too expensive for everything not to work... Go somewhere else is my advice

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Like another review here, almost the exact same circumstances. Booked months in advance one of the bigger rooms for 3 nights to attend a wedding. Re-emailed to confirm the room (with garden) which was confirmed by the manager.

Arrived after driving a long distance to the 'apart/hotel'. It's not a hotel as there are no reception facilities. It's at best 'hostel-ish'. We were met by the person who had reconfirmed our booking. He calmly checked us in and took us to a TINY room which defies the belief. When we mentioned our initial reservation, the chap disappears to the reception. Comes back up pretending that there must be some mistake and that somehow the room we booked was given to a couple whom he would ask the room back from the following day. He offered us an upgraded room 'gratis'. This apartment was big, dark and was two double bedrooms. It was musty and as we deliberated on whether to take it, we noticed it was covered in must, with dead insects on the table. We booked through i-escape who were BTW unavailable to deal with the issue, thus, we found a smaller, cleaner room at El Convento. We called the manager to say we were leaving and not to charge us. He didn't. The manager failed to be honest from the outset and tried to blag a crap room on us. When called on it, he tried to wriggle out. He even used his 'I'm looking after my child' as an excuse to not being there when we decided not to stay.

It would appear that this place needs investment. It charges a lot for the apartments, but none of the outside terraces were kempt.
Such a waste of time and effort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great location, great rooms / aprtments staff are friendly and helpful, apartment appointed with kitchen, lounge dinning table and tbe best shower i have had since ariving in Spain. We drove into Tarifa had some difficulty finding from sat nav however once parked easy walk to hotel and receptionist came back to car and helped carry luggage back suggested best place for parking and recommended great place for Tapas, which turned out to be great!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Gerente at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks a lot for your words and we hope you come back again next season,all the best and thank you again,Marta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice place! Nice attention! Very well located in The heart of tarifa. Close to The restaurants and bars but in a quiet street. We had a great stay. The price includes fresh bread For breakfast, and they leave it at your door every morning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Gerente at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your words and we hope you come back next season,all the best !!!! and kind regards,Marta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

my boyfriend took me to Tarifa as a surprise for our anniversary a few weeks ago, and he chose Koala apartments for our stay, knowing i like casual, funky yet stylish locations.
We stayed en Kalao apartment for a weekend and loved the interior design and special design objects in the flat.
the white wodden beans on the roof reminded me of Greece, the toilet sink recess reminded me of Africa, while the funky kitchen chairs made it all very contemporary!
the owners are very kind and discreet, they are happy to help if you need otherwise you really have the feeling of being in your own seaside house.
the location is just great, you can walk to the sea or to a lovely little restaurant in just minutes.
I hope i will be able to go again in summertime!
thank you for a great sta!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koalatarifa, Gerente at Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks a lot for your words and we hope you come back to Koala next season,really kind regards,Marta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Booked this as a result of Tripadvisor rave reviews. There's somehing odd here. For a start this is not a Hotel. It's just 5 apartments - 3 good, 1 very average, 1 poor - with no bar or dining facilities and an occasional concierge who is there a few hours a day. Notwithstanding 5 rooms, there are 117 reviews, mostly outstanding.- 6 of them June 2012, 7 in July 2012. Next favourite hotel in Tarifa has 41 rooms and 57 reviews. - Do the math, as they say...

We phoned them en route a couple of times from 4pm onwards to ask directions; no reply. Arrived at hotel 7.30pm found it locked and dark. - Thought it had shut down. Tried phone and could hear it ringing from the street, no anwer, Tried cell number on hotel sign - de-listed.

Went to cafe and phoned agent - booking.com. - Brilliant response. Paula had another cell number and contacted manager. Gave him a blast and he came to hotel with a friend. We had paid 110 euros for an apartment and he gave us the 75 euro room meauring 10ft 6" x 12ft INCLUDING BATHROOM - which had a screen wall that didn't go up to the roof. Double bed hard up into a corner, dry-cleaning clothes-hangers on an open aluminium frame. Then manager couild not find keys. Last seen phoning cleaners - 50 minutes later he returned, still no keys. It was approaching 9pm and we had not eaten but couldn't leave stuff in unlocked room. Paula rang to see if OK - Told her problems and she rang him and he got another blast. He upgraded us to a better room - the 90 euro Kalao, but still not what we had booked (these were occupied). He also offered a 50% room reduction and got someone to take us to a restuarant where we had a modest meal: they paid for food, I paid for drink.
The room we now had was better but quuirky - good shower, but only a single tap / faucet with cold water in the bathrom basin - note it wasn't that the water was not hot, there was only a cold feed to the basin. We were there in the winter, so no problem, but there was no aircon and this room costs 165 euros / $215 in the summer.

The manager apologised and said problem was due to his child being in hospital. Didn't buy this as I knew more Spanish than he realised and picked up on some rude comments he made to his colleage. Moreover, whist the discount / free meal was a very generous response, it was motivated by the threat of a blog and he asked me to write to booking.com. to say we were now happy.

Bottom line, they had lost my booking and had let the room to someone else. I spoke to the occupier of one of the good apartments and he was perfectly satisfied - though, like us, no-one was about when they arrived, ("At Lunch")

On the plus side, the housekeeping is outstanding but no sign of fresh bread reported - long-life milk and cellophne warpped buns.

Overall, this is overpriced and under-quality. - $215 for a room in summer with no aircon, no breakfast and no hot water to the bathroom basin is daft. If we had not booked it through booking.com, we would have had no accomodation and no way of contacting manager. 2 stars reflects the apologies and compensation, otherwise it would have been one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa

Address: Castelar 11, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a little hotel with 3 apartments and two rooms with mini-kitchen,with reception,a little garden for only two apartments and a little solarium in the terrace for all the guests.We have diary -cleaning service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.