We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, clean, central and romantic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Estrella de Tarifa

La Estrella de Tarifa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Estrella de Tarifa to your Saves list
La Estrella de Tarifa
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   San Rosendo 2, 11380 Tarifa, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Perfect, clean, central and romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is awesome. It has no parking possibilities attached, which is the only disadvantage. The place itself is led by really nice and helpful people. It is situated directly in Tarifa centre (old town), just a foodstep away from shops and restaurants. The rooms are small, but very charming, very clean and nicely decorated. Fresh fruits are served in the floor where at night candles light your way. Perfect place for the price. Recommendable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A very quirky hostal, different to a hostel. The ladies are renovating a very old house in the old town. There are twists and turns on the way to many and individual rooms. We had a room that had a private bathroom. It was lovely, small but lovely.Tthe bathroom was extremely small, even turn sideways while sitting on the toilet, but a gorgeous hotel feeling made up for it. We had some downtime after traveling from Cadiz that morning. When we emerged after 9.00pm the spiral staircase and surrounds were filled with beautiful relaxing music and candle light in all sorts of Moroccan lanterns etc. After staying in many 4 star hotels for weeks I loved the ambience. Reception is closed between 1 and 5 but they can be contacted if necessary. They speak English and it's an easy walk from the bus station. Tarifa had a terrific feel to it. Very relaxed and a calm feeling. Stay longer than 2 days!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
messina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

If you reserve a room at the Estrella, avoid the one at the ground floor. For 30 euros per person the double looks uncomfortable, doesn't have the door to the bathroom (...) and it's very little. Breakfast is not included. Instead the rooms upstairs are nice, well furnitured and wide.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We travelled for two weeks in Spain, in Malaga, Granada, Sevilla and Tarifa. La Estrella de de Tarifa was the most expensive and the poorest hotel we stayed in. The room was very small and the bathroom was so tiny that you couldn't even sit proberly on the toilet seat. The rooms cleanliness didn't meet the price, eg. when we arrived the room floor was full of dark black hair. There wasn't airconditioning so the room was damp all the time.

We looked around and the other hotels seemed to give better value fot your money. I've stayed in much better and cheaper hostels than La Estrella de Tarifa.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Morocan, clean, very good

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#2 of 18 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
5.5 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 18 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Blanco
Casa Blanco
#12 of 18 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#6 of 18 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pink House Tarifa
Pink House Tarifa
#13 of 43 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Estrella de Tarifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estrella de Tarifa

Address: San Rosendo 2, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Estrella de Tarifa 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your La Estrella de Tarifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Estrella de Tarifa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.