We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central boutique hotel but could be better with a few small touches..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Misiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Misiana to your Saves list
Hotel Misiana
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sancho IV El Bravo, 16 | La Calzada, 11380 Tarifa, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good central boutique hotel but could be better with a few small touches..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night in the Suite which is beautifully decorated in natural white washed woods as the pictures demonstrate. Your own private terrace within the suite is lovely, two deckchairs overlooking the main church in Tarifa with lovely views of Morroco and the sea. We arrived at 11am and it was refreshing to be allowed to check in prior to the 2pm rule. We had a complimentary bottle of Cava which was lovely and 2 small bottles of water which was not replenished so u need to buy some from the supermarket which is literally 2 min away. We asked if hotel could replenish water which we would have paid for but were told they could not...? Fresh flowers were put in the room ehich was a nice touch. We had an outdoor dining table and chairs and assumed we would be able to have our breakfast brought up to make use of the terrace but were told no, breakfast is only to be consumed in the restaursnt. Same applied to lunch and dinner. This was a shame as its such a lovely view from the terrace and seems a shame to not provide this added service as guests would love it. Instead we brought some crisps, olives and a bottle of wine and did it ourself. We had a coffee in the restaurant at 11am when we first arrived at the hotel which was stone cold. We also tried to sit outside to have the coffee as it was nice and sunny but were told sorry the outside part does not open til 1pm, this seemed a little stupid.. Next day we had breakfast and literally had to whisper to each other at atmosphere between guests was so quiet. No music to create any ambience which is a small chamge that would make all the difference. We then went to get eggs and bacon which was from a self service area which was fine but again these were stone cold, the waitress had not even lit the burners to keep food warm. Again had coffee which was from steel flask, again stone cold. Would be nice if food was served hot and it wouldmt be too much trouble for them to serve hot fresh coffee to the table. All in all we had a nice stay but for 230 euro per night, you expect these small things to be in place. With a few small tweaks that would cost virtually nothing this place could be excellent as great central location.

Room Tip: The suite was very nice although pillows were hard and not very comfortable. Water not replenished a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    52
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
92
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We decided just before leaving Cadiz to stop in Tarifa. We arrived with no reservations on a Wednesday, and had no trouble getting two single rooms. We initially planned to stay just the one night, but were instantly charmed by the town, thanks in no small part to the excellent recommendations of Mercedes on the front desk. The rooms were bright, clean and airy, the included breakfast was descent and the staff were excellent. The hotel is centrally located just a short walk from the beaches and steps away from some of the best tapas (la Francaise) and tuna (Lola's) that I ate in Spain.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed two nights in Tarifa and enjoyed our stay. Very clean room, with a view of the front street in old Tarifa. Restaurant attached is great with good service. Within walking distance from the ferry to Tangiers and great little shops & bars minutes away. No on site parking, but that is to be expected in old town. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

While the topographic situation of the hotel is favourable to enjoy the town's city noght life and the rooms are new and clean, the service attitude of staff and management at breakfast and the breakfast itself are utterly horrifiying: on the first day, we asked for real coffee instead of the cheapo filter coffee which we were offered at an extra charge. After making a complaint that real coffee should be included in the price and mentioning that the orange juice on offer was already foul (don't even dare to dream of the freshly squeezed type, that would actually mean extra work!) we were completely refused anything else than filter coffee from the second day on by order of the management!!! Also, the choice at breakfast is cheap, poor and always close to exhaustion. To save the consumption of the heating cartridges, your eggs and ham are only heated on request - if there any at all. Have you ever been to Cuba? You'll find yourself reminded of the comunist country's typical shortages of everyday staple here.

Conclusion: better book witout breakfast and have that in a nearby cafe, where staff will understand that you have more sophisticated needs than a 1985 Eastern Germany student. Or better, don't come here altogether to avoid the funny, Franco-era style resenting attitudes of the hotel's management and staff over well justified complaints!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and found it very comfortable. Room was a bit small, but not unusually so for Spain. Clean and quiet, and very centrally located in the old town. Bed was pretty firm and I'm a soft bed person, but that was easily solved by sleeping on top of the fluffy duvet with the warm blanket for a cover.

The front desk staff were SO helpful! Answered all my questions about the area and even got online to look up bus schedules for our day trip to Gibraltar. (It is true that the overnight person doesn't speak much English, so get any help you need earlier in the evening.)

Re: ChartChecker's comments about the hot water, we did have a little trouble with this in our room. It never took 10 minutes, but there were a couple times when it took several minutes to get the shower to heat up, and I was briefly afraid I was going to be stuck with a cold shower. However, we always got heat eventually, and it never disappeared on us. I would assume from my experience and his/hers, though, that there is a definite water heater issue, and I would certainly have been very unhappy had I been showering in freezing water.

Tarifa itself is a lovely little beach town. If you go, make sure to take (very easy) day trips to Gibraltar and Morocco, ESPECIALLY Morocco. Both are fascinating.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor (401), and it was very quiet. Rick Steves suggests asking for a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel was very nice and I wish we had more time to stay. The reception was open late which was great because we the midnight ferry from Algerciras to Morocco was canceled due to bad weather. It was the only hotel that was open at 1am. The rooms were really nice and the reception was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It took 10 minutes of running the water just to get warm water. We often had to keep the water running slowly non-stop, just to have warm water when needed. When taking a shower, the water went from warm to ice cold several times. The hotel clearly does not have a proper water heater. There are no normal hooks to hang anything - just a few egg shaped "hooks" in the bath, but anything we tried to hang fell right off. Defintiely a form over function kind of hotel. Another example? The closet rack was a tree branch and due to the varying width of the branch, the hangers would only fit over one end of the rack. However, the bed was comfortable and the style of the room charming boutique. Hand-held mountable shower. We did not try the complimentary breakfast. Busy reception. Tried to call twice with no answer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Misiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Misiana

Address: Sancho IV El Bravo, 16 | La Calzada, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Misiana 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privileged space in the center of Tarifa: a 21st century Hotel with charm that peeks out in between two seas, with beaches bathed in sunlight; A special lodging that is surrounded by hundreds of interesting corners that are just waiting to be discovered. Let the aromas of Southern Spain envelope you in Hotel Misiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Misiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Misiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.