We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully kept hotel offering good value but miserable staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Codorniz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Codorniz to your Saves list
La Codorniz
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Crta. Cadiz-Malaga, Km.79, 11380 Tarifa, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautifully kept hotel offering good value but miserable staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We had originally booked elsewhere but as my other half intended to wind surf whenever possible I thought a hotel with pool and rooms with balcony/terrace important for me. On arrival hotel was clearly not full but we were shown to a dark, poky double with small window overlooking bin/laundry area - I had drunk a beer earlier so was brave enough to complain!
We were immediately moved to one of the spacious bungalows at rear, overlooking garden with terrace. Peaceful, spotless and reasonably equipped - they also threw breakfast in for 5 days ( not clear why we had to pay for two?!) useful fridge too as it was v hot. We had to move for our last 2 nights to large twin with really nice balcony with rural views, at no extra cost. Room 104.
Pool area lovely and again v clean and well maintained also deserted most mornings.
Breakfast fine, typical continental cold buffet with excellent coffee. Busy road to front with pine covered picnic area, track through to beach, which is of course fabulous , and trendy relaxed beach bar in front.
Didn't eat at hotel, too expensive and Tarifa more to offer but all in all it was lovely and we would re visit.
However they are really NOT friendly Hola was too much usually and whatever you do don't take a room to the rear - think they are numbers 104-96!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Location great, 200 yards from beach, five minutes drive from Tarifa (lovely town). We stayed three nights in one of the bungalows, clean and basic. The porch is awesome for reading/sunbathing. Nice swimming pool on site too.
We found the staff were not very friendly, struggled to even say Hola. On the afternoon of our second day a huge bouncy castle appeared yards from our bungalow (see photos) Roughly twenty children were then dropped off for a noisy kids party which lasted three hours. Hardly professional behaviour of a hotel, it`s not a playground. We complained when we checked out and after a heated arguement with the horrible manageress we paid two nights instead of three. Be sure a childrens party is`nt booked in front of your bungalow when you go, bar that it was great

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigiliana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

A very good small hotel,very close to the beach, & only a few miles from the main town of Tarifa. Well worth a visit to the old part of the town, only problem is parking the car,easier to get a taxi. Would stay there again, lovely part of Spain.

Room Tip: small bungalow rooms behind the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel itself is not in Tarifa town but on the outskirts. We went as a group of 15 and the hotel could accomodate us all. It was perfect for our needs. The pool area was well maintained with salt water rather than chlorine. We stayed in a bungalow and although basic, was clean and comfortable with a fridge in the room which was a great touch. The gardens surrounding the bungalows are lovely. We also had a terraced area outside each bungalow with a table, 2 chairs and a sunlounger. Twin beds were the norm, but this is common in Spain. The air con kept the room nice and cold.
We did eat in the reataurant which as other people have mentioned, is not cheap. However the food is excellent although the starters were quite big. I had the clam soup which was great and my other half had the lamb which was delicious. The soup was 7e and the lamb 20e (well worth it) but there are other dishes which are in excess of this. We had no problem with service and the waiters had a laugh with us. There was spanish speakers within our group so this made it easier. The receptionist spoke English but nobody else I come across did.
A taxi into Tarifa was 11 - 12e per trip and the hotel was happy to order these on our behalf. Overall, a quiet hotel, basic in accomodation but perfectly located for what we wanted and the pool was an added bonus where we could all get together. Would stay again no problem. In fact, I think I would pick this over other hotels I have stayed in in Tarifa. We paid 90e a night which was on par with other hotels and not much more expensive than some of the pensions. I thought this was a fair price.

Room Tip: Ask for the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Fantastic location....poor service.
Do not expect the staff to be pleasant ...with this in mind you may enjoy your stay .Also take a spare arm and leg to pay for dinner.....which with wine will set you back £100 for 2. Breakfast out of season consists of toasted roll and croissant and that had to be prized out of them! The hotel receptionist was the only member of staff that was pleasant.......the 2 barmen enjoyed taking the p.... out of ' des ingles'.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

It's my second time I've been here. First time was great (just a single night stay) so decided to come again (2 nights this time). Unfortunately, left disappointed.

Hotel (motel?) is few kilometers north of Tarifa, next to main road. It has some rooms above the restaurant and some more rooms called bungalows in the back. Try to get a bungalow if possible - otherwise you'll hear noise from the road all night.
Rooms are not very big, unfortunately with 2 single beds teamed together (not single king one), with A/C, tiny tv (Spanish and Arabic channels only - a minus), bathroom with glass-protected tub (not those slimy plastic drapes - glass, hotel people, glass is the way!)
Free wireless internet is available throughout the place - kudos for that. (that was actually one of reasons I came back to this particular place)

There's a pool in the back (see pics), and if you want to get to the beach (nice, secluded, windy though) you have to get through the busy road, then little forest, and voila. Water is shallow for at least 50m, just beware those kite-surfers.
If you want to get to Tarifa - well, you'll need a car. Easy to park the car in new part of town, then just stroll to the old part. You'll find lots of bars there (I recommend La Cueva for gourmet burgers, really nice and different), also you could take a whale-seeing trip (not bad, 30 EUR per adult, 2 hours).

As La Codorniz is mostly a restaurant (mentioned in Michelin Guide 4 years in a row), not really a hotel - I hoped I'll taste those delights. No such luck - if I'm going to pay 50+ EUR for dinner (close to 100 EUR with good wine) I really expect no children running around and screaming! Waiters didn't seem to care, neither did parents.
Breakfast was also sub-par - just cold buffet, no omelettes, nothing.

To summarize: big pluses are free wifi and glass-covered bathtub. Minuses - poor breakfast, poor TV. Overall, not a bad place, just children ruined it all for me. Next time I'm looking for Child-Free hotels. Don't care about the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This "motel" is pretty basic but has everything you'd need to enjoy Tarifa. It is across the street from the beach. We had a balcony room, which face the road, so there was highway noise all night. There was free wireless throughout the hotel. The pool was in the back of the property and actually open at the end of May (most were not in Andalusia). The breakfast buffet was simple but cheap. However, an elevator wouldve been nice for our heavy bags. This hotel is a nice alternative if you cant stay at the hotels directly on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Codorniz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Codorniz

Address: Crta. Cadiz-Malaga, Km.79, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Codorniz 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Codorniz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Codorniz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.