We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in an excellent location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Blanco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Blanco to your Saves list
Casa Blanco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nuestra Senora de la Luz, 2, Tarifa, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tarifa
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place in an excellent location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The room was comfortable and nicely decorated. The most important part of it was the location. It was perfect for us because we wanted something in the center and walking distance to one of our favourite places to eat. We enjoyed our stay greatly at Casa Blanco!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanco, Gerente at Casa Blanco, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
We work hardly to get the satifaction of our guests and we appreciate comments like yours.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nauheim, Germany
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you have booked in the Casa Blanca, you have to check in the Misiana hotel, which is on the side on the street. Casa Blanco itself is a renovated old town house with rooms in. The house is located in the mid of the old town center, you can't be more central. The decorations are nice, some my call it cool. It's nice but everything is very basic. And so are the rooms. We had a superior room, which was big enough. The bathroom is no separate room, but part of the room. You enter the bathroom through the shower door, the toilet was to the right, the sink to the left side, both separated through plastic curtains. These are not very hygienic, nor was the backside of the shower plate (stainless steel). The problem with that plate is, that its only fixed at the top but not completely to the wall and isolated with silicone. So there is mould behind the plate. Using the shower with too much water floods your room.
The house itself has no lift, steep stairs, which makes it very difficult to take up heavier suitcases. Fortunately we didn't had to use the AC, because it is very noisy. No breakfast is included in the price, as no other services are offered. The house and rooms seem to be very typical for Tarifa. For such type of room and service (none), I find the price a bit overrated.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanco, Gerente at Casa Blanco, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for our review.
As long as we tried to get a simple and useful stablishment, we worked making it comfortable and respectful with environment and the preservation of the building's soul.
We are sorry about what you didn't like and promise to work on improving what you say as faults.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lovely looking, boutique hotel right in the centre of tarifa. Beautiful modern room, and comfy big bed. Shower was quite unique as it was under a bed that you use stairs to get up on to. But room was very noisy as our window was right on the main road. The wifi didn't work either, only if you went downstairs and neither did the tv very bad signal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

A gorgeous room inside the old wall in an updated 17th century convent. Lovely little courtyard. Trendy and modern with old world charm. Air conditioned and good wi-fi. Clean and comfortable room with nice linen and towels. The most unique room we have ever stayed in. A pleasure!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Having arranged a 'Private' Tour of Tangier, Morocco, we traveled from Costa del Sol to Tarifa to take the early ferry across the Strait of Gibraltar. Our return from Tangier got us back into Tarifa at close to 8PM.

Apart from the fact that we knew the Casa Blanco was within easy walking distance of the ferry terminal, we really had no idea where the Hotel was situated. Asking a few people at the ferry terminal wasn't helpful but the parking lot attendant at the ferry terminal was able to give us general directions and suggested we ask for the precise location once we had arrived on the other side of the fortification wall. It was dark, and there were few people on the streets, but when we finally found someone to ask, it turned out that we had parked just around the corner from the Hotel. I went up the narrow side street to investigate and easily found the establishment. The door was locked and no one came when I used the door knocker. There were no lights to be seen in any of the windows. What had Booking.com done to us?? Some people in a small store a couple doors down assured me that the Casa Blanco was open for business and suggested I knock again, louder this time. I did this about the time my wife came looking for me and still nothing happened. We walked back to the street where we had parked and asked a lady who was operating a small kiosk. Her English was pretty much as good as our Spanish (NOT) but it became quickly clear that she had something to tell us even though we had no idea what that might have been. In the end, she took pity on us, closed the kiosk, and led us up the street to another hotel. Once there, we quickly established that the Casa Blanco had no reception desk during the low tourist season and that we should have come to this Hotel to register in the first place. Too bad Booking.com couldn't have told us this in their confirmation e-mail. Registration went smoothly, the young lady at reception was very friendly and helpful, we were given our keys and off we went.

Once inside, the Casa Blanco looked to have been a moderately sized residence until some point in its recent history. We were given a room on the second floor (a fairly steep climb up concrete stairs) where there appeared to be 4 rooms. More rooms were on the floor(s) above. Our room and the common areas that we had seen were quite stylish in an ultra modern sense. While small 'ish our room was more than adequate for our short stay. The renovation from residence to hotel had made use of high end doors, unique hardware and bathroom fixtures and lots of white paint. Splashes of colour were supplied with lamp shades, bed coverings, and wall treatments (again very modern but decidedly minimalist). The bath facilities consisted of a central walk in area that doubled as the shower (no tub in our room) with a sink off to one side and the commode on the other. It was really one small room in which shower curtains formed the separation between the sink and the toilet. An interesting concept and space saving to be sure.

What did we think of the Casa Blanco? We thought it was wonderful in its own special way. First, it was an adventure finding it, but adventure is why we go on holidays. Second, the location was perfect - in old town, very near to the ferry terminal, and also very near to a number of Restaurants and Bars; thirdly, the young lady at reception was perfect, very helpful, friendly and professional. Finally, this small hotel described appropriately by the owner as 'chic', was truly an experience in itself.

Did we have any complaints? For ourselves, no. For others less adventurous than ouselves, the location and directions to get there could probably be improvedin the reservation confirmation e-mail (Booking.com's problem) and for those who would have trouble climbing stairs, this establishment may not work.

Would we return? ABSOLUTELY!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The last night we spent in Tarifa was in the Casa Blanca having spent some time in related properties. The hotel has some interesting design solutions to a small space and an old building and does well in achieving a liveable space. Our room was at the front and after a day of celebrations the locals were out in force and the lack of double glazing was apparent. A group of Spain's finest young women decided to sit out the front at 4 am and conduct a high speed, high volume analysis of their night on the tiles- not conducive to sleep so had to turn on the portable air conditioner that generates noise equivalent to a small locomotive to drown them out. On a quiet night this room would be fine.

Room Tip: Avoid street fronting rooms if staying at a busy time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed a few nights for our honeymoon, our room was really nice and very different which we liked, had a lovely feel to the place although our balcony was quite small we were in an ideal location to view the feria parade which was nice. Best things about the hotel is the decoration and location, very safe, modern and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanco, Gerente at Casa Blanco, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Emma
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Hoping to see you back again soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanco

Address: Nuestra Senora de la Luz, 2, Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Blanco 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Blanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanco Hotel Tarifa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Blanco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.