We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Tapas, really good..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Los Melli

Bar Los Melli
C/ Guzman El Bueno, 16, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 161 Restaurants in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Wandsworth, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“True Tapas, really good..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Only place to eat in Tarifa. Nothing compared, great value and good beer. We visited early 2011 and it wasn't open every night so we only managed one visit. I can not wait to return, It felt very authentic and it was so good : ).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    43
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best Tapas We Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

During our 2.5 week stay in Spain, which included time in Barcelona, Madrid, Granada, and Seville, the best tapas we had were here. We definitely ordered too much, but we weren't really prepared for the portion sizes they gave us, which were quite hearty compared to a lot of other places we had been to prior. Even with the enormous amounts of food we had on our table (we ordered 4 tapas), we ate every bite. It was so good, we couldn't stop. Most of their seating is outside, so I'm glad it was such a warm beautiful night. We got our food very quickly, and it was beyond fantastic. I don't completely remember what we got, but I know we had a chicken dish, beef dish, potates, and a shrimp dish (I attached a picture I took of the food, which probably tells a better story). All that, coupled with a bottle of wine, made for an amazing dinner. It's not fancy food, it's more rustic old-world style. It's very well priced, as it's considered more of a tapas bar than a restaraunt. It's clear I'm not the only one that thinks that the food here is incredible, all the tables were filled the entire time we were there. If you are in Tarifa for a jaunt into Morocco, I highly recommend you find this place. It's only about 5 minutes away from the Ferry, located in the old-town area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent variety and quality of food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Eat and drink with the locals enjoy The food and drinks on The terrace

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome tapas, laid back atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We went here for tapas on a weekday evening; we got there around 21:00 and the place was packed, we had to wait a bit for a table. There are just a few tables outside, many people stand at the bar or on little tables attached to the wall. Everything we had was excellent: croquetas, flaminquines, gambas al ajillo and patatas bravas. Very reasonable pricing and excellent wines by the glass. Note that there is also another restaurant nearby called "El Otro Melli"; as I heard, they are 2 brothers ("melli" stands for mellizo, which is twin in Spanish) who split up recently.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Los Melli also viewed

Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
 
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Bar Los Melli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Los Melli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.