We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Conveniently Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Convento Tarifa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Convento Tarifa to your Saves list
Convento Tarifa
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Avenida Batalla del Salado 14, 11380 Tarifa, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Tarifa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
michigan, usa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Conveniently Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is a soild place to stay. It is easily found on a main street. Loading and unloading can be a challenge as it is on a main street without much pullover space if you are in a car. However, it is easy walking distance to the ferry dock and old city. The room was fine and the desk people tried to help us with their limited English and my extremely limited spanish.

There is no on-site parking but they have arrangements for pay parking at a facility about 2 blocks away.

They provide a "breakfast". It really is coffee and a piece of toast. If you need more, you may want to venture out somewhere else.

Again, a solid place to stay in Tarifa. Would stay there again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night on the way from Ganada to Tanger the next day. The hotel is right in front of the ferry to Morocco. We were greated by a very nice lady who was very helpful with our questions about dinner and the ferry the next morning. Very, very clean rooms (they look just refurbish and new). The bedding just the way I like it; pillow top matress... it was a great hotel, I would recomend them anytime.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at the Convento Tarifa for two nights and had a very good stay.

As other reviewers have mentioned, this hotel was built right up against an old stone convent structure. The ruins can be accessed from the 1st floor landing (it looks as though the grounds can be rented out for private functions) and hotel guests are able to walk amongst the old stone.

The hotel itself has been built with modern materials but the minimalist white/cream colour scheme (think Pottery Barn) subtly reminds guests of the building's historical purpose. This gives the hotel a calm, peaceful ambiance.

Breakfast (toast and a beverage) is included. Although the hotel has a restaurant attached, the restaurant only seems to be available on certain days of the week. On the days when the restaurant is closed, guests are given a breakfast coupon which they can use to get the same breakfast items at a nearby cafe (a 30 second walk).

What we particularly liked:
- the staff is very helpful and friendly. The two young women at reception spoke only a little English, but between that and my few words of Spanish (plus a smile, and a little patience), we were able to communicate without a problem.
- the hotel is scrupulously clean.
- the WiFi connection quality was better than you get at most hotels.
- the hotel is in a convenient location: close to the gate to the old town, yet within walking distance to the bus station.

Where the hotel can improve:
- the rooms do not have a refrigerator
- like in many hotels in Andalucia, beds have a very firm mattress. The long, flimsy pillows are not very comfortable. This hotel has a 3 euro 'pillow menu' (which we did not sample), but charging extra for comfortable pillows is a strange business model.
- the rooms are not well sound-proofed, but this was not a major issue during our stay as the hotel was only half full and since it was low season, there was not much noise around the hotel.

Final Thoughts:
We were pleased with our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pa.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This hotel is terrific! Clean, centrally located in town. You can walk to the beach, the ferry, or to many great restaurants. Great value too. Breakfast included!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I loved this place. I actually went in for breakfast and was so charmed by it and the owner that I wanted to stay. Part of the property was an old convent. The garden area and part of the building were built in the 18th century, the other part in the 19th century (though the property has undergone significant restoration).

I highly recommend this place. As an aside, the breakfast was wonderful and cheap! I haven't eaten there for dinner, but the menu looked good. I believe the restaurant is only open on weekends in the off season, but I understand it is open all the time in high season and they want to start having flamenco there as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Convento Tarifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento Tarifa

Address: Avenida Batalla del Salado 14, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Convento Tarifa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Convento Tarifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Convento Tarifa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.