We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed and free to EU visitors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archaeological Ensemble of Baelo Claudia

Archaeological Ensemble of Baelo Claudia
Ensenada de Bolonia, s/n., 11380 Tarifa, Spain
00 34 956106797
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in Tarifa
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closed Mondays in July, August and September
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed and free to EU visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A good investment made in the museum building - friendly staff with notice boards in Spanish and English plus an amazing view over the bay.

The site is compact (2 hours in total) but with enough information given to keep everyone interested - it worked for our 8 and 11 year old. We visited some Hadrian's Wall sites last year but I have to say that I think the children got more out of this site.

The shop had a lot of books on local/Andalucian sites - some in English too.

So as others have said - free parking and entrance to EU visitors - only suggestion is that they could sell ice creams!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    75
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The ruins were fabulous and nearly deserted when we visited on a beautiful weekday afternoon in early April. They deserve at least two hours and a bit of sunscreen helps. I especially enjoyed that unlike many ruins in Italy, this was a working factory town for salting fish and making garum (fish sauce). Plus it's directly on unspoilt beach adjoining Straits of Gibraltar National Park. This was the highlight of my trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice and well described ruins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The ruins are small but the route advised is very informative. All the buildings have signs and descriptions. The view is beautiful. It is around 8 km from the highway. I would recommend it to ancient history lovers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Brilliant site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Free parking, free entrance for EU passport holders (and €1.50 won't break the bank for non-EU visitors !) a museum with Spanish and English descriptions and a laminated self guide tour in English as well. What's not to like ? There is work ongoing to make the site even more accessible and more excavations round the perimeter.

We thoroughly enjoyed the visit including bird spotting as the local birds aren’t at all shy. We also enjoyed an excellent lunch in one of the restaurants near the beach.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“20 km from Tarifa village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I can recommend a visit to this site. Of course it is no Ephesus or Rome, but it is a nice site near a beautiful beach with Roman remains of a theatre, some temples and a fish salting factory. Entrance is free for EU citizens. During our visit it was cloudy and rather windy and cold. I think that is common weather for this area in february.

There is ample free parking and a souvenir shop. It is next to a small village with some bars.

The site is signposted on the N340 road between Tarifa and Cadiz at 18 km from Tarifa. Then you have to take a small road to Playa Bolonia for 4 km towards the sea.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archaeological Ensemble of Baelo Claudia also viewed

Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
 
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Archaeological Ensemble of Baelo Claudia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archaeological Ensemble of Baelo Claudia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.