We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 km from Tarifa village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Archaeological Ensemble of Baelo Claudia

Archaeological Ensemble of Baelo Claudia
Ensenada de Bolonia, s/n., 11380 Tarifa, Spain
00 34 956106797
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 43 things to do in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closed Mondays in July, August and September
Holland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“20 km from Tarifa village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I can recommend a visit to this site. Of course it is no Ephesus or Rome, but it is a nice site near a beautiful beach with Roman remains of a theatre, some temples and a fish salting factory. Entrance is free for EU citizens. During our visit it was cloudy and rather windy and cold. I think that is common weather for this area in february.

There is ample free parking and a souvenir shop. It is next to a small village with some bars.

The site is signposted on the N340 road between Tarifa and Cadiz at 18 km from Tarifa. Then you have to take a small road to Playa Bolonia for 4 km towards the sea.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    88
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Exhilarating day tour from Malaga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We took this tour from Malaga. We first visited the seaside village of Taria which is truly scenic. The drive to Tarifa along the was great with a view of Gibraltor. En route we stopped at the marina in Benalmadena which is refreshing. Tarifa itself was picturesque with it cute and narrow cobbled streets and exquisite tile work. We caught a very rustic native lunch. On the drive back we visited the Archaeological Ensemble of Baelo Claudia which are Roman ruins of historical interest. The ruins themselves can be quite tiring and impressive to those who have a hostorical bent. Even to others it is worth a visit if you haven't been to other Roman ruins.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Compact but impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Well worth a visit although disapointing that works were ongoing so there was extra walking as no alternative routes. Especially helpful to see some explanations in English - a coffee area would however have been nice!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“history by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A wonderful, unexpected find. Wander around in the sun, by the sea, against a background of stunning dunes and get the feel of a Roman town where garum was made.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Just ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I'm glad this was free as I wasn't overly impressed. I have seen far better ruins in Greece and Turkey.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archaeological Ensemble of Baelo Claudia also viewed

Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
 
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Archaeological Ensemble of Baelo Claudia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archaeological Ensemble of Baelo Claudia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.