We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Casa Mercedes

Save Saved
You added Hostal Casa Mercedes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Casa Mercedes
C/ Maria de Waard 18b, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Nerja B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Casa Mercedes was a lovely find. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very much at home by both Mercedes and Daniel. It was our first visit to a Hostal in Spain and we would certainly say that it holds a place amongst other "star rated" Hotels on the costa's. The location suited our needs being in a quiet residential location 15 minutes from the town centre, but may not be suitable for those with walking difficulties - but local taxis are always there to help. Room 1, where we stayed for the first part of our holiday, was quite large and well equipped with "Moorish style" furniture - had a large bathroom with whirlpool bath with shower over - was cleaned daily by friendly staff - had a very comfortable bed and a small balcony overlooking the pool (which is more of a plunge pool for cooling off on those hot Spanish summer days). Whereas Room 2 was very modern but a lot smaller and only had a shower - but a great sea view from the small balcony. The Hostal also has a superb sun terrace which has great sea views and loungers. Do try Daniels "omelette Y bacon" along with the great breakfast on offer every day. If you want to stay in a good family run Hostal, then Casa Mercedes is good value.

Room Tip: The rooms vary quite a lot in size as do the bathrooms - so check when booking as to size and facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
73
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was the first time we've booked into hostal and not the hotel. Didn't spend much time looking for a place as found Casa Mercedes at a good price and with great reviews. I should say that this is a good value place with caring host Mercedes. However when we arrived and walked around the town we decided to switch for a central place, as in such a small place as Nerja you want to be centrally located and even 10 min up/down the hill makes a difference. Room was very basic and furniture is a bit old, bathroom is new and clean, view from the balcony is lovely. What can be improved are hostal grounds as I found it to be not very clean and pleasant to be around, such small details as i.e. swimming pool that did not evoke a desire to swim in it. I would recommend this place to the people who don't mind to be a bit out of town and also who enjoy the home-like feel of the place not expecting a perfect cleanliness in every detail.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I are a mature couple.We stayed at Casa Mercedes in Sept 2012 while attending a family wedding in Nerja.
We arrived late at 11pm.Mercedes was there to check us in.
The room was spotless,was cleaned every day with fresh towels daily as required.
Great breakfast and good choices every day.Try Miguel's omellette/bacon/eggs/tomato!
It's located in a residential area just about 5 to 10 minutes walk from the beach,The Balcon & Town centre.
Not a sound at night, great for sleeping.
As my mobility was limited we soon discovered that a 5 / 6 euro taxi ride gets you there in two or three minutes.(good radio taxi service)
Mercedes & Miguel were helpful but not intrusive.
All in all a nice stay at C.M. Great place to stay.
Not surprised they have so many excellent reviews
Gerry,Dundalk Ireland

Room Tip: Three rooms on the ground floor,ideal for those with limited mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked my 2 week stay at Casa Mercedes fairly last minute - my friends stayed in June and they checked availability for August for me, so I think I luckily nabbed the last room! I was travelling alone and wanted somewhere small, friendly and comfortable as a base to chill out in, but still fairly close to everything. On my friends' recommendation, Casa Mercedes certainly fitted the bill. Mercedes and Daniel & family, the owners, are helpful, lovely and nothing is too much trouble. Mostly Spanish families in situ at the time I was there, which is always a good sign. My room (#4 at the top) was basic but very clean, had aircon (essential in August) plus a ceiling fan, comfortable bed and a good shower, a safe and a small balcony with good sea view. I didn't get to see the other rooms as they were full, but hear that they all vary in size (priced accordingly) and I would book early next time to get a big room. Great breakfasts each day! Small pool and good communal areas with a large open terrace + fab view of the sea. A short walk downhill to the beach and about 10 mins stroll over to the Balcon de Europa and the old town area. Casa M is also close to main bus stops if you wanted to travel elsewhere. All in all, excellent value and a good experience so I highly recommend. This was my first visit to Nerja and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

2nd time we have stayed and if any thing better then last time which was fabulous, lovely family run hostal, the breakfast the best we have ever had ........... so much choice and all really fresh plus cooked breakfast, very close to beach and short walk to centre, and nothing too much trouble just ask and they will help you.We will i am sure return again.

Room Tip: mini suite fab......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the suite on our honeymoon through spain and it was amazing- the room is enormous and the view from the huge balcony is stunning- better than the view from the famous 'balcony of Europe' - and at only 95 euro per night was excellent value. The breakfast choice was fantastic - the best on our three week trip, and Mercedes and her husband were excellent hosts and very helpful. Nerja is a fabulous place, and still retains its quaint character unlike many places on costa del sol. The small beach at the bottom of the hill from the hostal (10 min walk) was the nicest in nerja and we spent every morning here and every afternoon on our balcony sun baking or reading on sunlouges by the pool- perfect for a relaxing holiday. Try the restaurants and bars on the outside of town and on the old town region- full of locals and much less touristy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hostal was excellent, run by a young family who were helpful in every way. Although a little outside the centre (a 5-10 minute walk) this was not a problem. We had a mini suite which was well worth the small extra charge. The swimming pool wasn't usable during our stay but we appreciated the sun terrace and the large private balcony. Breakfast was excellent.
We loved Nerja and hope to return to the hostal in the future.

Room Tip: Upgrage to a mini suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Casa Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Mercedes

Address: C/ Maria de Waard 18b, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Casa Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Casa Mercedes Hotel Nerja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Casa Mercedes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.