We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nerja Donkey Sanctuary - CLOSED

Nerja Donkey Sanctuary
N - 340 Coast Road, 29780 Nerja, Spain
618 467575
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Peterborough
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I loved the donkey sanctuary. It is free to go in and you can take your own food for the animals or buy a bucketful there for a couple of euros. Very family friendly place, the children and adults were enjoying feeding the donkeys, one sheep, horses and pot bellied pigs.

They are all rescue animals so the sanctuary are doing a good job. The one sheep was rescued from the side of a motorway when it's mother was killed. Some of the donkeys had been used for drug trafficking . There were a few you couldn't feed, I presume because they are on a special diet to build them up. Would definitely go again.

It is being rebuilt at the moment. There were no facilities for visitors but it is not far to the nearest bar.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    96
    20
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hope this Sanctuary does not close down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Every time we visit Elcapistrano Oasis in Nerja, we pay a visit to this wonderful place and the family all enjoy feeding the assortment of animals. Pigs, Cats Ducks etc and the poor worn out Donkeys.Its free to go in and a basket of food is only a few Euros. and they sell nice cloth Bags for life with the Donkey Sanctuary on them, and they last a long time, and hope the place gets some last moment funding,as I did hear on face book that its was being closed down and that they could not afford to move to any new property.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sadly this is closing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a wonderful place to visit with children. They can feed the donkeys, pot bellied pigs etc. unfortunately, the local council has followed an EU regulation which has left them no alternative but to close. They do not have sufficient funds to relocate, need a minimum 10k€ so they are trying to re home the animals before closing this month

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Happy donkeys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Visited today for second time. Wonderful place with happy animals who are very well looked after. Enjoyed feeding and talking to them.Looking forward to visiting tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Piggy kisses.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Hot, dusty and lots of flies! but if you can put up with this for a short while (and lets face it the animals and volunteers do all the time!) you will have a lovely experience. We took a bag of apples with us to feed to the residents and they loved them. However you can just turn up and for a small donation you will be given a bucket of snacks and you can enjoy feeding the animals. I came away with piggy kisses on the backs of my legs - perfect little snout marks made by the two of them asking for more apples. Great thing to do, but if you are planning to visit do so soon, unfortunately the sanctuary is closing for good at the end of June. Sad news.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nerja Donkey Sanctuary also viewed

 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nerja Donkey Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.