We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthy cause.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nerja Donkey Sanctuary - CLOSED

Nerja Donkey Sanctuary
N - 340 Coast Road, 29780 Nerja, Spain
618 467575
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A worthy cause.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Visited here one morning whilst staying in Nerja as we all love donkeys. It is free to get in and then you can pay 2 euros for a bucket of food to feed the animals. There were donkeys, horses, mules, goats and a very fat pig! Although previous reviews have mentioned the smell, what do you expect from basically a farmyard of animals. They all looked well cared for and the people running the place do a fantastic job. I paid 5 euros for my bucket of food as I didn't think 2 euros was sufficient. A great place for children and I would encourage people to go along and support a very worthy cause.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    96
    20
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for a visit, especially with children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

On the outskirts of Nerja. Quite low key and run by English volunteers. €2 donation gets you a bucket full of food to feed to horses, mules, donkeys, pot bellied pigs and sheep. Our 7year old son had a great half an hour. The animals appear well looked after. We had to go back twice just to appease our son who would not stop mentioning feeding the pot bellied pigs (who follow you around but are harmless and well mannered). Definitely recommend a visit......

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great place for children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great place to bring the children. They can feed the and groom the animals. Adopt an animal or buy some of the many souvenirs they have for sale with proceeds going towards the cost of keeping the sanctuary running. Definitely worth a morning out of your holiday for.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a lovely morning feeding the donkeys and pigs it is a charity and for 2 euros you can get a bucket of food and feed all the animals.we went as we love donkeys and also it was something different to do than lie on the beach

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hot !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Once we found it, we had a very pleasant time there. My son was a bit worried by the pot bellied pigs there but they were harmless x

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nerja Donkey Sanctuary also viewed

 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nerja Donkey Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.