We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Amazing location and superb seafood"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Restinga Beach

La Restinga Beach
Carretera N 340 Malaga Almeria | Km 288 Playa de Vilchez, 29793 Nerja, Spain
+34952528660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #208 of 326 Restaurants in Nerja
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Amazing location and superb seafood"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

La Restinga is siutated along the coast road between Nerja and Torrox, over looking a small beach, which adds to the ambience, there is also plenty of parking. This was our second visit after a recommendation and we've not been diappointed on either occasion. We had the mixed seafood platter, with a great selection of fish, nicely cooked, chef's salad, which had a variety of fresh ingredients and not just a pile of lettuce and a good bottle of house white. The service was welcoming, efficient and friendly.
La Restinga is not cheap, though worth paying the extra for superb seafood in an amazing location.
Well worth the visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Relaxed with great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Ideal spot, the children played on the beach whilst we watched from the terrace. The food is excellent, the giant prawns in garlic were the best!! It is expensive, but what isn't in the current times. You get what yo pay for and that is not always the case with other places I have been. Worth going to if you have a chance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relax location for a good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our 3rd visit this! The first time was in 2006.The food is good.Very friendly service.Location is between Nerja and Torrox above a quiet beach! Parking is no problem.The meals are lower in price comparing our visit in 2006......Loved the gamba a pil pil and pork chop! If you don´t want large portions, order the ranciones on the menu ! This is probably our last visit to Nerja and to this resaurant......and other places around the Costa del Sol! The last meal in the Costa´s was at La Restinga!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location for a celebration but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This restaurant is situated between Nerja and Torrox on the coastal road and can be easily spotted with its distinctive appearance looking like something from the South Pacific than the south of Spain. It sits just above a pleasant beach, very popular in the height of summer. Specialising in seafood, you could probably not find a better location along the Costa del Sol to enjoy the fruits of the sea than in this location. The restaurant also offers a pretty little beach bar where you can hire out sunbeds and laze under cute little Balinese parasols before having your lunch or dinner. The menu is very much fish and shellfish orientated but there is a small selection of meat dishes for those who do not prefer to eat fish. The restaurant specialises in raciones (rations), large plates of fish of one type, like boguerones, or shellfish such as mussels. They also have a number of speciality dishes like paella, zarzuela, merluza a la vasca etc. The portion sizes of the raciones we're quite large and it really is the sort of place where ordering a few dishes and sharing should probably be the order of the day. However, being Brits, we still have it within our psyche that a starter followed by a main is the order of the day; so this is what we did! Two of our group ordered gambas al pil-pil which was quite large ('' Well over twenty prawns," said my pil-pil officianado friend) and could easily be shared by two. Birthday girl chose one of her personal favourites, gazpacho, which came in a very large bowl. Two of our group tried choices off the salad menu, one trying the chef's salad which looked very fancy but seemed fairly basic. The other salad was roasted peppers with anchovies; "Alright but nothing special" said my wife. The fritura de pescado (mixed fried fish) was the choice of starter for one of my friends and I think he was surprised by the size of plate he was presented. Fried boquerones was the seventh choice, again an ample portion that was passed round the table! Finally, I chose sardines, a particular favourite of mine. They were quite small in size but I was given a good portion. These were delicious, being caked in sea salt and grilled - yum.
So then we came to mains.
Two of us had steaks, entrecôte . Ok, but a little thin.
Swordfish for the birthday girl, good size and well cooked.
Sepia a la plancha: good sized portion that looked great on the plate.
Rape a la plancha: nicely presented but nothing special.
Merluza a la vasca: a fantastic looking dish of hake and shellfish that was very good.
Lenguado a la plancha: a good-sized sole cooked simply, but disappointingly over-done.
Fritura de pescado was my choice. This was a big portion, perfectly cooked with a good choice of fish.
This meal was not perfect but the raciones were particularly good value and my recommendation would be to stick to those and share. We did not try out the paellas, arroces, zarzuela etc. but these will need to be tried in the future.
But one thing I need to warn you of is that this restaurant is not cheap, probably costing us about 50% more than the average that we would pay in a good quality restaurant round these parts. I would recommend choosing from the raciones menu as these represent good value.
However, La Restinga is in a fantastic location with good, but not perfect, food, friendly service, linen tablecloths and napkins (not standard chiringuito issue!) and is ideal for that special celebration particularly on a gorgeous summer's day. My wife and I would definitely return and have planned to go back for our anniversary - we just need to save up our euros for then!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Only the setting is good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My son has been here before so I took the 3 of us to eat after dark.

The setting is good, peaceful just of the coast road past Nerja on the way to Torrox Costa.
There is an old road alongside so no problem parking. The stars were wonderful and the waves lapping the beach soothing.

It is a quiet place but the tables (outdoors under thatched roofing) were so poorly lit that we could hardly see the food and had to hold our menus near the candlelight to read.

The menu looked to be classy but when our entrocote stakes came they were so full of large hard streaks of gristle that it was akin to being a surgeon to find some meat.

Nevertheless we perservered with the meal, which served great seafood starters beforehand and drank wine.

The bill for 3 of us was 150 Euros including a gratuity. In this part of Spain, the cost of eating out is significantly cheaper that the Uk.

We are of the opinion that the menu was well overpriced and the steak quality was bad enough not to be served to customers. They must have known this because they see the steak raw before it is cooked.

The sting is in the price and quality of meat (seafood excepted). There are better, relaxed eateries to sample and we suggest you do not waste your money.

However if you are going there to drink only that is another story altogether but it is suggested you check prices before buying.

So Many places we visited in the Costa Del Sol were good, we sadly report our honest finding on this place!

Regards.

Chris, Anna and Jordan.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Restinga Beach also viewed

 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Restinga Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Restinga Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.