We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly stay, fantastic value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Lorca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Lorca to your Saves list
Hostal Lorca
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   c / Mendez Nunez 20, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Nerja B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly stay, fantastic value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night after a last minute booking. The owner was so helpful even though we arrived late at night. The rooms were more like a hotel than a hostel. The garden was lovely and so handy for Balcon and the main area of old Nerja! I would stay here for longer but not in the hot summer as there is no air con in the room. Loved it. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
952523426, Owner at Hostal Lorca, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
There are ceiling fans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gouda, Holland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in Hostal Lorca in September after our Roadtrip in Andalusia. Nerja sounded like a very nice little Town at the Costa del Sol and according to Tripadvisor this Hostel was one to look forward to. Both are true. The Hostel is a very nice Spanish House wit not too many Rooms. We had a Room at the back with a small Balcony overlooking the Garden with the Pool. The Room is basic, clean, big enough and with very confortable Beds. We made our own Breakfast in the Kitchen, the big and cheap Supermarket Mercadona is around the Corner of the Hostel. Many Thanks to Rick and Fenna the very nice Owners of this Hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Good and small hotel in the quiet end of Nerja. Close to beach and town center / square. Having stayed here before, and will be very happy to stay here again. The owners are warm and welcome, and are always willing to help you with all your questions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We recently stayed in Hostal Lorca for a week. We wanted a low cost, last minute break and as we already knew Nerja we thought we would try a hostal for a change (we usually book an apartment). The atmosphere here is really friendly and the hosts excellent. You have a nice facility downstairs with small pool, garden and shaded seating, ideal for relaxing in the hot July afternoon siesta time. You also get to meet other guests and you can buy beer and soft drinks from the fridge. You can stock up on essentials either from the typically Spanish store next door or there is a Supermarket 2 minutes away.
You are close to plenty of tapas bars and restaurants in this area of town (very Spanish and although they don't speak much English they are really friendly) or you can walk 5 minutes or so into the more tourist area of Nerja near the Balcon.
On the negative side we had a room on the top floor which wasn't very big and was pretty hot at night as there is no air-con, only a fan, but it was typically hot July Nerja weather so we can't complain too much.
To sum up if you want a budget stay, basic facilities but clean friendly and well situated then Hostal Lorca is a good choice and an ideal alternative to self catering apartments.

Room Tip: probably the rooms facing the garden might be best although the top room is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in June.
I was very impressed by the place.
Room was a good size, bed was comfortable. Its was all very clean.
The owners are a Dutch couple who were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.
The little courtyard and plunge pool are great, the pool was perfect to jump into and cool down. A good 5.5ft deep at one end.
Our shower head broke and was fixed within an hour on a Sunday.
Its within strolling distance of all the bars, cafés etc.
Have already recommended this hostel to and will return next time we are in Nerja.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

A nice place to stay in Nerja, owned by very friendly hosts. You feel at home from the beginning, because of the relaxing atmosphere. There is a small common area where you can prepare your breakfast (no cooking, but there is a microwave available) and store some food&drinks in the fridge. A nice garden where you can eat or have a swim in the small swimming pool. All information is available about trips and walks in the surrounding area and the hosts are willing to give you more personal information.
The hostal is in good walking distance from the beach and other hikes can also easily be started from there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here recently for one night and found everything pleasant for what we wanted.

The room was clean, and we had everything we needed.

The host was very friendly, he lent us umbrellas as it was raining and gave us a map telling us about good restaurants and bars. It has a very laid back feel and you get the feeling that they will cater for any reasonable requests quite happily.

My only slight grumble was that it was noisy, but this was due to other guests at siesta time rather than the hostel, and for €30 for two people for a hostel you really can't grumble, it's much more than I expected and we will certainly stay again.

They even have a fridge with drinks in that you can help yourself to and settle the bill when you leave - they have trust in their customers which must give you a good idea of the type of people staying there.

Perfect if you want one night and don't expect a 5 star hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Lorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Lorca

Address: c / Mendez Nunez 20, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Lorca 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostal is a beautifull place to stay at in Nerja for a reasonable price, a small hotel with swimmingpool and garden in the center of nerja, 600 metres from beach. It is possible to make your own breakfast or lunch in the bar. Cold drinks are available on the honoursystem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Lorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Lorca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.