We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean tidy hotel in great central location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puerta del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Puerta del Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Puerta del Mar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Ash, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Clean tidy hotel in great central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and tidy hotel and certainly good value for money. Location is very central and near underground parking (bit expensive though). Our room (208) was pretty small and no view at all from the side street balcony. Our bathroom had a nasty drain smell so staff keep the window open. We told the guy on checkout but no word of apology. Breakfast was basic with a slow toaster and very basic selections. So overall, cheap and cheerful and clean hotel but for us not worthy of 5 stars trip advisor rating.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    67
    19
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
193
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My parents had stayed here before and recommended the hotel for a family trip. The location is fantastic for exploring Nerja and everything the town has to offer. The only slight downside is the lack of parking but if you have a car the reception will tell you where you can leave it for free.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, as is the entire hotel. The rooms are large enough and the view varies. This isn't a place to go if you want amazing views from your room window and a massive balcony. The rooms have small juliette balconies, which were fine for us.

Breakfast was simple but just enough to get you started for the day with cereal, fruit, cheese and meats and toast. No cooked breakfast but that didn't bother us at all as we prefer to eat a continental breakfast.

The roof terrace is a lovely place to sit and catch the sun. The weather was mild and a little windy during our stay but the terrace blocks out the wind and is a tranquil little sun trap.

I am surprised this is a two star hotel as it is so well kept. I assume the only thing holding it back is the lack of bar/restaurant.

My only reason for not giving this place 5 is that on some nights we didn't sleep well. Our room overlooked a motorbike/moped park at the rear of the hotel and also the bins. We were woken on several mornings by the bins being collected, which meant we didn't sleep as well as we would have liked. I would suggest requesting a room at the side of the hotel and not at the rear to avoid this. However, I would still certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking over the bins at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked this hotel on the strength of it being voted number 1 and we weren't disappointed! It is far better than a two star hotel. The rooms were cleaned daily, the breakfast area was spotless and their was a good choice of food for breakfast. There was also 24 hour room service for drinks from a small menu.
We were lucky enough to use the sun loungers during our stay, there were plenty of beds for everyone and these, and the pool area, were also clean and tidy. The hotel is in a great location, close to the town square and the balcon de Europa and there are countless bars and restaurants close by. Basically it was comfortable and handy for the town and was great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We are currently at the Puerta del Mar. This is a fabulous little hotel, spotlessly clean, great staff and right around the corner from the main square.
I am very surprised that this is only classed as a 2 Star hotel, which it certainly is not.
From previous reviews, it may be that the hotel does not have a bar or restaurant, but the hotel does a lovely continental breakfast from 08.30 until 11.00am, and if that does not suit there is a vast arrange of choices within 100 hundred yards.
The roof top pool / garden is a true delight, with superb views over the plaza and Mountains, withing the building on the first floor there is a lovely enclosed terrace.
Within two days of being in Nerja, we have defiantly decided we will be back, for a long weekend.
Having been around the town and seen many of the other hotels, if we do come back! We will certainly be staying at the Puerta del Mar, it is lovely.
An added bonus, is that there is free Wifi throughout the hotel, that actually works.

Room Tip: I can only assume that they are all good, because ours was lovely, all have a French.balcony and som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

When you read so many great, positive reviews of a hotel, it's natural to pause and wonder if anywhere can really be that good. Yes it can. We have stayed at many 4 and 5 star hotels over the years but this absolutely lovely little hotel could teach them all a thing or two. Firstly - ignore the two star rating completely. Utter tosh! This is up there with the best.

There are three really outstanding features of this hotel. The first, as many have already commented on is the cleanliness. Two wonderful ladies work tirelessly to keep everything at an incredibly high standard. The entire place positively sparkles. It really is quite amazing. The second is the location. Smack bang in the middle of old Nerja tucked away down a little side street by the church. Everything literally on the doorstep. Great restaurants, bars and cafes only minutes away. The third is the staff. They are friendly and so very helpful without being intrusive in any way. Nothing is too much trouble. Any queries or problems, just ask.

Rooms are simple, traditional and very comfortable with high quality fixures and fittings. Lashings of hot water all the time and towels changed every day. Fridge in room is very useful as was the room safe. Breakfast was plentiful and varied and everything was of high quality. Nothing runs out as it is constantly replenished and every table cleared within seconds of it being vacated, so no wading through somebody else's crumbs!

There have been some comments about the noise of the bin men early in the morning. Ignore. My very light sleeper husband heard them on the first morning and slept through them thereafter and we were there for 9 nights. Same for the church bells. We quite enjoyed hearing them.

Nerja is a great place to people watch and stroll. We didn't hire a car but enjoyed walking every day both along the sea front and through the many little streets. Word of warning - the sea breeze intensified the effect of the sun and for the first time in decades we ended up impersonating boiled lobsters in a very short space of time. We used factor 50 suncream religiously thereafter and this was in March!

We spent many happy hours on the rooftop terrace with a drink and a book. Best sun loungers and umbrellas we have ever seen in a hotel. A lovely, peaceful place and beautifully kept like the rest of the hotel.

I don't have any negative comments whatsoever, but would like to mention that larger bath towels and better pillows might be worth thinking about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Fantastically located, spotlessly clean , very comfortable, friendly staff, good breakfast.-what more do you need? The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Can not recommend this hotel enough- thanks Trip advisor that is how we found it,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

11 of us stayed at the Puerta Del Mar between 15th and 18th March on a girls weekend. The hotel is absolutely spotless and you the staff very helpful. On arrival we had organised some bubbly and we were imediately shown to the terrace where it was waiting. As you pay when you arrive it is nice to check in and not be asked to pay the bill as soon as you walk in the door, we paid on departure.

The terrace on the top of the hotel is lovely, it is cleaned daily, I am sure the pool would be lovely to cool down in over summer however we didnt have fantastic weather and it was a bit chilly!

All the rooms were cleaned daily, including fresh towels every day. There was plenty to choose from at breakfast, all fresh fruit, pastries and cereal as well.

I am surprised that the hotel is rated 1 on trip advisor, it is a great little find and all 11 of us said we would definately return.

Some of the rooms didnt have a little balcony so i would probably ask for a room with one if you like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Puerta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Mar

Address: C/ Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#2 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nerja 50 meters from the beaches, this small and recently renovated hotel features a saltwater POOL, Solarium, WiFi, Air/Heating, Refrigerator, Safe, TV. Includes free Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Mar Nerja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puerta del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.