We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puerta del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Puerta del Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Puerta del Mar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

11 of us stayed at the Puerta Del Mar between 15th and 18th March on a girls weekend. The hotel is absolutely spotless and you the staff very helpful. On arrival we had organised some bubbly and we were imediately shown to the terrace where it was waiting. As you pay when you arrive it is nice to check in and not be asked to pay the bill as soon as you walk in the door, we paid on departure.

The terrace on the top of the hotel is lovely, it is cleaned daily, I am sure the pool would be lovely to cool down in over summer however we didnt have fantastic weather and it was a bit chilly!

All the rooms were cleaned daily, including fresh towels every day. There was plenty to choose from at breakfast, all fresh fruit, pastries and cereal as well.

I am surprised that the hotel is rated 1 on trip advisor, it is a great little find and all 11 of us said we would definately return.

Some of the rooms didnt have a little balcony so i would probably ask for a room with one if you like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    69
    19
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
197
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean & modern with free wi-fi and bang in the centre of Nerja which has over 300 bars and restaurants mostly within walking distance.Take a taxi or bus from Malaga as a car is not required unless you are touring, safe car parking is expensive! The reception staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Breakfast was adequate but dining area could be a bit crowded at times. If you want a full English breakfast plenty of places nearby. Rooms nice some with small balconies but they let themselves down with the toiletries and so called bath towels which are in basically hand towels! Very good value for money and well suited to couples.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevres, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We staid 2 nights in Nerja, sadly the weather was terrible, raining most of the time, but the place is charming. The hotel is very clean, quiet, well furnished, comfortable. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is adequate, what else would you need ? We have seen the roof garden and swimming pool, seems perfect even though we coul not use it with that terrible weather !
It is a little difficult to find the hotel, as a matter of fact it is located along the church, very close to the Europe Balcon in a peaton's area.
Use the public parking to take your luggage out of your vehicle and check-in but afterwards you should move accross the main-street and stay in the free parking under the bridge (cross main street you will find it easily).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Hotel Puerta del Mar is located around the corner from the main square leading to the Balcon de Europa. Our room had 2 french door windows, one looking onto the square behind and the other overlooking the street at the hotel entrance.

The hotel was also in a nice location near the stairs/elevators to the underground municipal parking lot. Unfortunately, due to the bad weather, we did not get to take advantage of the beautiful rooftop deck, pool and jacuzzi with views to the sea and the Balcon.

The room was in decent shape, not luxurious but clean. The breakfast was mediocre at best.

The hotel's restaurant recommendations were both closed, so we had to find alternate choices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calahonda, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have stayed here many times. So clean and beautifully done. The nicest staff, could not be better! Right in the center of Nerja, 2 minutes walk from everything! They even have U.K T.V! A huge plus as many hotels do not. An excellent roof top terrace with pool, beautiful.

Room Tip: Get a room over-looking the square, lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel would have more stars if it had a bar and/or restaurant but they are not necessary as all the restaurants and bars are within a 2-5 minute walk. Right in the centre of town, though you wouldn't know it. No noise. The hotel is immaculate and the staff friendly and very efficient. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are excellent as are the bathrooms. The rooftop terrace/plunge pool is a perfect place to escape to and as in the rest of the hotel, it is spotless. I have stayed in many hotels all over the world from 5 star down and this rates as one of my favouties and is up there with the best of them. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLCHESTER
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a fantastic find. We wanted to visit the caves and needed somewhere to stop overnight. We parked and walked to the Balcon, just down a side street was Puerta del Mar. Unprepossessing from the outside, but inside a real Moorish delight - beautiful little courtyards - lovely plants, helpful staff. Breakfast was delightful in a small dining room which encouraged interaction with other guests. Lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have larger windows but, of course, there will be street noise. We had a delight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Puerta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Mar

Address: C/ Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#2 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nerja 50 meters from the beaches, this small and recently renovated hotel features a saltwater POOL, Solarium, WiFi, Air/Heating, Refrigerator, Safe, TV. Includes free Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Mar Nerja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puerta del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.