We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puerta del Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Puerta del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Puerta del Mar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 hotels in Nerja
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel would have more stars if it had a bar and/or restaurant but they are not necessary as all the restaurants and bars are within a 2-5 minute walk. Right in the centre of town, though you wouldn't know it. No noise. The hotel is immaculate and the staff friendly and very efficient. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are excellent as are the bathrooms. The rooftop terrace/plunge pool is a perfect place to escape to and as in the rest of the hotel, it is spotless. I have stayed in many hotels all over the world from 5 star down and this rates as one of my favouties and is up there with the best of them. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    56
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
155
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
COLCHESTER
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a fantastic find. We wanted to visit the caves and needed somewhere to stop overnight. We parked and walked to the Balcon, just down a side street was Puerta del Mar. Unprepossessing from the outside, but inside a real Moorish delight - beautiful little courtyards - lovely plants, helpful staff. Breakfast was delightful in a small dining room which encouraged interaction with other guests. Lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have larger windows but, of course, there will be street noise. We had a delight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent a week at the Puerta del Mar in October on our first visit to Nerja. The location is perfect - right near the 'Balcon' and an array of restaurants, cafes, shops and with easy access to the beaches. We had a street view from our small balcony, which was fine - but possibly other rooms would not have a great view given the hotel's position between other buildings. The hotel was spotlessly clean and our room was spacious and well-equipped. Breakfast was OK. We loved Nerja - really pretty and a lovely atmosphere, helped by the festival which took place over 3 days during our visit (we accepted this would mean a certain amount of noise up to 5am!!). We went to the Alhambra in Granada by car which was very straightforward (just over an hour's drive) and worthwhile. We parked our hire car a few minutes' walk away from the hotel in a free carpark, as recommended to us by the hotel staff, who were always obliging and helpful. We will definitely go back to Nerja sometime soon and most likely to the Puerta del Mar - we didn't see anything that would offer better value for money and in such a good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked our room here on the strength of tripadvisor reviews. Great little hotel. The staff are helpful, the rooms were clean and reasonably sized. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. All in all we will definately go back. Great situation for Nerja's beaches and bars etc.Well done to Javier and his staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Booked into this hotel based on the reviews from Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Staff are very friendly and always there to help. Spotlessly clean, nice room, and a great location just minutes from the Balcon, cafes, and restaurants. The buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and served upto 11 o'clock each day. It would have been nice if the hotel could supply tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms but other than that, this is an excellent hotel to pick if you are planning on visiting Nerja.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A lovely hotel, spacious room, large bathroom, daily maid service, nice breakfast and friendly staff. What more could you want! definately deserves more than 2 stars, Nerja nice and the italian restaurant Vitiliano was a lovely place to eat at night also the Coach and Horses was good for lunches.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here for 5 night recently. I found this hotel to be in a perfect location and within walking distance to all that Nerja has to offer!!! Our room was a great size and had a nice tv with loads of channels including movies!! The breakfast area was very canteen like lacking ambiance - basically a corner of the reception area, however, I really enjoyed the breakfast provided!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Puerta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Mar

Also Known As:
Puerta Del Mar Nerja
Address: C/ Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta del Mar 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nerja 50 meters from the beaches, this small and recently renovated hotel features a saltwater POOL, Solarium, WiFi, Air/Heating, Refrigerator, Safe, TV. Includes free Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puerta del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.