We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puerta del Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Puerta del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Puerta del Mar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 hotels in Nerja
Halifax UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Enjoyed 7 nights here with my wife and agree with previous comments suggesting that 2* doesn't do it justice - if you are looking for a great location with good staff, a nice breakfast at very reasonable cost go ahead and book!

One word of warning - we arrived at midnight and in our haste parked the car overnight at the underground municipal car park just at the back of the hotel, what a mistake. Next morning we moved the car at a cost of over 21 euros, we made sure that we always found onstreet parking thereafter.

Nerja is a charming place with some great restaurants and if people watching is your thing get a seat at the Kronox bar just around the corner next to the church entrance, reasonable prices and welcoming staff.

We'll be back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    56
    17
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
175
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Overall I have to confess to being disappointed. The hotel's main attraction - the rooftop terrace - is closed (most likely for health and safety reasons) at some of the most dramatic moments of the day (dawn and dusk).

The breakfast area seemed charmless, in an unappealing setting by reception.

The room was a reasonable size but for me uncomfortably narrow with the vaguest musty odour in the fixed wardrobe.

The wall hangings around the hotel comprise pictures of oversized flowers and I found myself wondering why at least there weren't pictures of the amazing local scenery if nothing else.

For the price, there is surely more character to be had elsewhere.

The town with its beaches is a delight, but being over-populated with generally bored Brits, made 2 days quite enough: I was happy to move on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here early October 2012 on the 1st floor. The hotel itself is a delight, located right next to the Balcon de Europa, and almost central to whatever you are going to do in Nerja.
The room was very clean, twin beds, air con, light and airy.
Buffet style continental breakfast was worth having each morning, in a small but functional area next to the check in desk.
The pool is on the roof, salt water and freezing, but nipping clean. The roof area surrounding the pool has lots of shrubs and pots with lovely flowers, quite sirene.

The staff were helpful and pleasant.

Now to the iffy bits!!!
For us the mattresses were a bit hard, although we are used to a soft 2000 springs mattress back home!
The bathroom ceiling had black mould on it, probably because the fan didn't work.
The white towels provided had holes in the edges, and brown stains that I hope was just sun cream!
The toilet role holder was bust, so we had to perch the loo role on top of the bin.
Hey Ho! We are just talking 2* here you know, so the above is just carping!
Over all this is a great hotel! well placed, nice and clean, a true Spanish gem!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Right in the heart of Nerja, less than 2 mins stroll from our room to the Balcon ! Friendly, hardworking staff who keep the place spotless - even the toilet/washroom faciities up on the charming roof top terrace & pool area. Very quiet at night despite the central location, & very efficient air con in the decent size bedroom which included satellite tv, a small fridge & a safe (no charge). Bathroom had full size bath & great "power shower" & there was daily maid service.

Continental breakfast is available from 8am till 11 am & has plenty of choice including meat/cheese platter, yoghurts, cereals, croissants,toast,jams, juices & tea & coffee plus a selection of fresh fruit, & the staff were always on hand to clean tables/replenish stocks.

Well worthy of 4 stars rather than the present 2 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villach, Austria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have passed by in Nerja by car and loved the place , so we decided to stay here for a couple of days, enjoying great summer weather at the beginning of oct. We stepped into the hotel, got offered a good deal for the last available room and did not regret to take it! Very clean & spacious room with big bath room and 1 window facing an inner patio. On the roof top, nice small pool with great panorama, helpful staff at the reception, had quiet nights and relaxing days, Nerja with its beaches is a gem and we would certainly come back to this hotel as well!
We liked to chill at playa calahonda in the beach bar papagayo (nice staff and 2 beers for 3 eur), to eat yummy slices of pizza 15 steps versus north from the church in plaza cavana, and to dine at the restaurante sevillano which has delicious food (esp. seafood & fisc!) gently waiters, and a welcoming roof terrace.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This lovely hotel is located right by the main plazas and the the owner works hard to make everything on your trip a great experience. Remember this is a two star and you are getting more for your money but it is not a five star. The rooms are a great size and the bathrooms are very large with tubs/showers and bidets. Breakfast was served till 11am so you can sleep in late and was more than adequate but not a hot breakfast. There was coffee, juice, cereals, breads with a toaster provided and plenty of fresh fruit for a continental style. All our questions and concerns were always taken care of by our host. You are lucky if you can book it as it was perfect stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the central patio are best as people sit out there and talk at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in a excellent location beside balcon,staff are very good,breakfast was ok.WiFi is free and very good signal,BBC and itv on television ,very quiet hotel,nice roof top pool and beach is 100 meters

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Puerta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Mar

Address: C/ Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#1 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta del Mar 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nerja 50 meters from the beaches, this small and recently renovated hotel features a saltwater POOL, Solarium, WiFi, Air/Heating, Refrigerator, Safe, TV. Includes free Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Mar Nerja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puerta del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.