We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we enjoyed it so much,we will book for next year,perfect location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Plaza Cantarero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Plaza Cantarero to your Saves list
Hostal Plaza Cantarero
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   C/ Pintada 117, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighouse, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“we enjoyed it so much,we will book for next year,perfect location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

very clean room and bathroom,always a good start.make sure you check out the terrace on the roof,very pleasant,and somewhere to dry beach towels etc.We took our morning cuppa up there. Would ask for a room with a balcony next time.

Room Tip: ask for street facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
45
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Just back from a week in Nerja. Hadn't stayed in a hostal before but very pleasantly surprised. Very nice couple run the hostal, helpful but also leave you to your own devices if help not required. The room, whilst not huge was more than adequate. Spotlessly clean and serviced each day. New mattresses throughout while we were there. Plenty of wardrobe space, TV , aircon. Really pleasant roof-top terrace. Free wi-fi too
If you can manage without a pool I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Cracking little hostal in a great location, the position is ideal its central so you can easily walk to the Balcon, Burriana beach or to Tutti Fruitti. The lovely lady Tania who runs the hostel is very helpful, if you need any local info she is more than happy to help.She has just had a brand new water system fitted so gallons of lovely hot water with no fear of it running out, brilliant. We went to do the tapas trails to get a true taste of the typical spanish local food which is given when you purchase a drink, that was a great way to experience new tastes.
As its in the old town you will find some really authentic tapas bars, we were made very welcome by the locals and never once felt uneasy or as if we were intruding, that was lovely.
Go to the caves if you get a chance, fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We had a apartment with kitchen which was very nice.
The staff was very helpful and nice.
If I go to Nerja again I would definately stay there :-)

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

The second time I have stayed in Nerja, the first occasion was in a dump. This time was different, the Cantarero providing comfortable accommodation despite it's 2* rating (no meal service unfortunately). Receptionist/owner Tania welcomed me when I arrived late and quickly dispensed with the formalities of booking in, her English is very good unlike my broken Spanish. She gave me the rundown of the places to eat and visit and a useful town map as well. I had a clean double room to myself, ensuite with bath, aircon that worked with very little noise, firm but comfortable mattress and clean linen and tea/coffee makings. The room had some character unlike the sterile rooms in large hotels (like the 4* that I stayed at in Brussels early Sept with feeble aircon). The only drawback - noise, street noise no but with tiled floors the corridors can be a bit boomey and a door closing can sound like a cell door being slammed, likewise if people decide to have a chat outside their room one can hear every word even though they might be yards away. I also found that when my neighbours had a shower or flushed the toilet I had to check they were not using my bathroom it was that noisy! Once over that though and provided nobody wants to leave at five in the morning one can get a good sleep, I know I did and I usually only sleep for six hours max. A car is a must for me in Spain but parking in towns is a real bummer and Nerja is no exception - there is a spot just by the hostal for about six cars but it is restricted parking and the Policia DO check!! I grabbed a spot one early evening and was thinking about what I was going to do the following day when I saw a cop pull up on his pop-pop and stride straight towards me pulling his ticket pad out of his pocket. The car behind me (also occupied) shot off like a scalded cat and you don't need to ask who was riding his rear fender! So I had to wait on the edge of town till 2000 when it was OK to park up for the night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

Simple but excellent accomodation at the the top of the town's main street. We had an interior room which was nice and quiet and the hosts were a very charming young couple. They do not do breakfast, but there are several good bars and cafés nearby which do. The room was spotless and housed the biggest wardrobe I have ever seen.

There is no lift, so I would suggest that anyone who is elderly or has walking difficulties requests a first floor room.

Nerja itself is far superior to any other town on that coast, and there are plenty of good restaurants and bars.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — If you stay at the front of the building there is a lot of noise from motor scooters
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2006

Good hotel in a really beautiful beach town.
The girl was very kind and the room was enough clean.
Try to get not exterior room and you will sleep like an angel.
The hotel has a real great value but it is on the level of the town.
Nerja is one of the best places for eating little fish and drink white cool vine: I recommend “El pulguilla” y “la marina” for this

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Tips/Secrets — No exterior rooms.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Plaza Cantarero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Plaza Cantarero

Address: C/ Pintada 117, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Plaza Cantarero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Plaza Cantarero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Plaza Cantarero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.