We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay. Not on the beach, but within walking distance.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal San Miguel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal San Miguel to your Saves list
Hostal San Miguel
1.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   C/San Miguel 36, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Nerja B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice stay. Not on the beach, but within walking distance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The hostal San Miguel was a very comfortable stay. The room was clean (even had a bit of a bleach/cleaner smell upon arrival) and had plenty of space. The hotel has free wifi, accessible from the room. It is a 5-10 minute walk (several blocks) to shopping, restaurants, and the beach (Balcon de Europa). So, you can find a closer place. But, the walk isn't bad. A grocery store is located across the street, great for picking up food for a picnic near the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
41
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
landskrona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed for tree weeks Nov - Dec 2010 in an apartment San Miguel. The apartment is well equipped and very cozy. The kitchen had everything we needed including a washingmachine. We appreciated that the hot water in shower always was enough and that everything worked very well.
We had a very good wireless internet and could also watch Swedish SVT 24.
Just across the street you have a very good supermarket and just around the corner you have a bakery where you can get fresh bread early in the morning.
The host couple Eva and Magnus was always very kind and helpful.
We had a very good time so we have booked another three weeks in October this year.
Inga-Lisa and Bertil Karpsten

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from here having met up with my brother and wife who live in another part of Spain and fancied a change of scenery.

The hostel is very near the bus stop from Malaga and that was very convenient. There was no public parking for my brother's car and he paid the owners to use an underground secure parking space and I believe paid about £10 a day for this. So you may wish to consider this if you have or plan to rent a car.

The owners are a very nice Swedish couple who are very helpful.

The Hostel itself - I was a little dissapointed despite the reasonable price we paid. The room was very basic and the bathroom very small with an inadequate shower tray for what was a very high pressure shower, consequently the shower curtain stuck to you and the floor got very wet. We booked and paid for a kitchenette, again very basic, we used the fridge but that was it. You would not want to cook in it. The first night the traffic noise kept me awake but after that I slept well. The small balcony (not big enought to sit on) is double glazed but you can still here the traffic. There is a roof terrace with a kitchen area that needs a re-vamp and a small plunge pool and some plastic chairs and sunbeds that have seen better days.

Downstairs there is a small bar area that is not very well utilised and seems to be a dumping area for books, ironing boards, printers etc. This area is also used for breakfast if required - 5 euros. This could make a nice lounge type area but does need some attention.

So to conclude, nice owners, clean, very basic, could do with some improvements as it seems more like a youth hostel and maybe for a few extra euros we could have found something with a little more character.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnus_Eva, Owner at Hostal San Miguel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
dear sir!
We were pleased to have you with us as you were very nice.
You were so happy when you left and you spontaneously said that you would recommend us on Tripadvisor as that was where you had found us.
On the way back home you got disappointed which I am sorry to hear.
I do not say that you are wrong but your review is nevertheless interesting and I would like to add a few words.

You are so right that we are not a 4-star hotel. Maybe that would have suited you better when I read what you are missing. They certainly have cozier lounges and higher class furniture. Not even the 4 star hotels though offer the free services that we do (free wifi throughout, free international telephone to 40 countries, free terrace kitchen, free washing machine, free Internet computer etc.)
So I have to wonder what is very basic..

We are only a 2-star hostal though (small hotel, not hostel) but I can guarantee that no other hostal around offer, apart from the above, an abundant breakfast buffet, sun terrace with pool, conference room and all rooms with private baths, air con, fan, flat screen TV and safe, so I do not see it as very basic but instead modern, central and well equipped. We have lots and lots of testimonials on our home page saying the same. You are very welcome to your opinion though and I hope this helps others to make the right choice. Thanks for the advice to replace the plastic chairs on the terrace. I do not see them as bad but they may have lost some color in the sun. Most people though choose an hostal not to save 150€/night compared to a 4-star hotel but because hostals often are family run and friendly. I am happy to see that you liked that part and wish you welcome back.
Best regards
Magnus and Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Helpful, kind, welcoming owners.
The Apartment Hotel is close to buses, a big supermarket etc (5-10 minutes walk).
It is quiet, the kitchen very well equipped.
Home-feeling for Swedish people with SVT Europe.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

One room studio apartment with separate pentry. Very nicely and convenient furnitured. Facing towards the sea. Located at a nice square just five minutes from Balcon de Europa. Pleasant mix of tourists and local people. Many nearby shops, restaruants and cafeterias. Super Market and local busstop within five minutes walking distance. Commuter bus to Malaga each hour to and from Malaga and adjacent cities within ten minutes walking distance.

Cleaning six days a week. High speed internet available as well as wireless.

We liked the location near the the sea combined by the genuin nearby placas being frequently used also by local people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Best host and hostess there are! Always at your service.
Unbeatable surrandings, from the nice little town with its genuine atmosphere
to nearby Frigliana and the Caves. Or if you like...why not hire a car, drive a bit and visit Grenada.
You mustn´t miss the beach and don´t forget the paella at wednesdays.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Our 3 weeks with Eva, Magnus and Angeles "la muy andaluza" have been a very pleasant time. Friendly, secure, spick-and-span.
The only sad thing is that we hadn't heard about Hostal San Miguel earlier but we are coming back next year.
We have been hiking, swimming, playing golf and tennis and we have had wonderful moments on the roof terrace.
It is easy to recommend Hostal San Miguel and the little gem Nerja.
Barbro and Göran Helgeson. Nyköping, Sweden

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal San Miguel

Address: C/San Miguel 36, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal San Miguel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal San Miguel, one the BEST small hotels in Nerja! Central, cozy and family-friendly. Single and double rooms with free WIFI, complete private bathrooms, TV, both ceiling fans & AC as well as a minifrigde. Sun terrace with POOL and a small kitchen,wonderful breakfast buffet and bar. Hostal San Miguel is a block away from the bus station and offers great multilingual service in a recently refreshened atmosphere. The ideal hotel for a great and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hostal San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal San Miguel Hotel Nerja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal San Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.