We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Charlotte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nerja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Charlotte
San Pedro 16, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Nerja B&B and Inns
Dublin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed in Case Charlotte for two glorious weeks in August. Everything about the location, the facilities, and the ever helpful Frans and Nuttee far exceeded our expectation. Firstly, the location - only five minutes walk from the beach and the Balcon de Europe and yet on the right (non-touristy) side of town, with plenty of local tapas places to choose from - make sure you try Bar Delores and El Nino at least once. A real authentic Spanish experience. Secondly, the facilities - everything you could possibly need in an apartment is there and the apartments are spacious and really clean. And our hosts - Frans and Nuttee - could not have been more helpful, from the suggestions on where best to eat on day one to booking us a taxi on the last day. We can't recommend Casa Charlotte highly enough and willbe back!

Room Tip: We had the top room which had its own balcony (although all rooms have access to the roof where ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lochristi, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Very hospitable reception by Frans and Nuttee, who do everything to offer their guests a perfect holiday. Very nice and quiet town, still very authentic. The flat is fully equipped and offers a lot of quality (satellite tv, airco, etc.). Books, beach chairs, towels are (freely) available. A lot of restaurants, bakers and grocers nearby. The beach is within walking distance (5 minutes). Situated in a quiet street while the very touristic part of Nerja (balcony of Europe etc) is only a few minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We come to Casa Charlotte every Easter and have been doing so for 8 years. It is so superior to the apartment we used to rent and the location suits us being close to all our favourite tapas bars. The quality of the apartment and everything in it is exceptional. The bedding is more like what you would expect in a hotel! Frans and Nuttee are very welcoming and always update us on what has changed in the town since last year and Nuttee always keeps the apartment spotlessly clean. The kitchen has all the things you would need to cook any type of meal and glasses for every type of drink. It is also very useful having a washing machine and drying space on the terrace.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed upstairs in the 2BR flat. If you want a great mix of comfort, charm, weather, value and great food, this is the place! Aside from the many charms of Nerja itself, Casa Charlotte is a real find. Frans and Nuttee are very dedicated to making sure their guests are well-informed, comfortable and taken care of. The apartment is roomy, VERY well-appointed (even the kitchen...I could cook pretty much everything, and there's a wonderful grocery down the street (out the front door, to the right, then right again). If you want only quiet and the sounds of the waves, it's not a match. If you like staying in a neighborhood, hearing the sounds of local children playing while you cook dinner, and wandering through narrow streets...if you like walking for 1-2 minutes and sitting with the locals watching a football game and sipping a beer... if you like beautiful weather, and sitting outside eating paella and sipping a beautiful wine, then come HERE! Big pluses: Rooftop BBQ (tho we never tried it), kitchen/eating area, bright and sunny, good TV choices, easy walk from the bus/no car needed, family neighborhood, good grocery and locals bars. Downsides (minor): a slight (VERY slight, but I have a super-sensitive nose) mustiness if the windows are closed, second bedroom was a little primitive (clip-on light for top bunk bed and little decoration, but FINE for kids) and the hood over the stove not too efficient, so can't cook things too smelly! See...MINOR!! Stay here...you won't regret it! Pretty much a luxury place at a bargain price!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed in the ground floor apartment which was spacious and well laid out and had every appliance that you could possible want including a great hifi system with a good selection of cd's. Satellite tv was also available with BBC, ITV and an excellent range of other English stations. we fully agrre with and endorse all the comments made by George Demeter on 21 Feb so there is no point in repeating them. The couch in the living room converts into a bed and was uncomfortable to sit on as the cushions kept sliding away from the back of the couch, and that is our only criticsm of this wonderful apartment. The apartment has been designed to suit a wheelchair user and would be excellent for this purpose. It was nice to feel part of the local community wit a bakery, a small convenience store and a restaurant/tapas bar within 25 metres of your front door.

Restaurants we enjoyed included La Taberna de Pepe around the corner on C / H Oria (Prawn coctails like they should be made & Prawns Pil Pil), Joanny's Cafeteria in Plaza de Olvido(Prawn salad with 9 different types of fresh fruits-delicious & refreshing and a wonderful fish stew for 2 that has to be ordered in advance) and Restaurant Sabor for tasty tapas (1.5 for a tapas and a glass of wine at the bar). Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

My wife and I spent 7 weeks at the beautiful Casa Charlotte in December 2010-January 2011. The apartment is wonderfully located within easy walking distance of everything beautiful in Nerja. In less than 10 minutes you can be at intimate Buriana Beach with its restaurants cooking paella on the beach - or meandering through narrow streets of downtown and making a decision where to have fabulous tapas and a great glass of wine. There are terrific restaurants and Tapas bars virtually a minute away from the apartment. In the morning - fresh croissants and take home cafe con leche only a minute away. Roof top garden of Casa Charlotte offers truly magnificent views in all directions. This is a very civilized and most wonderful way to spend your holidays. Most importantly, the apartment is excquisitly outfitted - even if you still manage to find something you absolutely need and don't find in the apartment - your hosts Frans and Nuttee will get it for you in no time. The apartment and the building are absolutely clean, beds in our apartment were terrific. In addition, the hosts Frans and Nuttee both have great sense of humour and are terrific conversionalists. Frans will also introduce Nerja to you and his recommendations are priceless. Friend recommended this spot to us and we want to recommend it to you! It is one terrific place to spend winter!!!!.
George and Kata Demeter
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

There are lots of hotels and pensions in Nerja, but I am sure I did a correct choice.
The owner, Frans is so kind and helpful. I was alone in Nerja, but did not feel lonly, beause he taught me how to enjoy Nerja. His wife, Nuttee is very kind lady.
The room including shower room is very clean, bed is comfortable. I really want to stay again there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Charlotte

Address: San Pedro 16, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this typical Andalusian house there are three independent and luxurious apartments with free WiFi Internet.The Parterre ( ground floor...and for Anglo Saxons the first floor) is equipped for guests using a wheelchair.The middle floor has two bedrooms of which one with a bunk bed.The upper floor has one bedroom and a lovely private terrace.Above the upper floor there is an unique sun terrace with Ocean- and mountain views and with a "Winter solarium".With the year around blossoming geraniums and begonias is CASA CHARLOTTE a real "flower house."The reservations can be paid with Master- and Visa cards. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Charlotte to your Saves list