We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff Made A Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel to your Saves list
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Nacional 340. Km 289,5, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff Made A Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel itself is 4/5 but the staff made this hotel 5/5. We were unfortunate that over 7 days we only got 2 proper days of sunshine. There isn't a lot to do at the hotel if this is the case, but the beautiful town of Nerja is only a 15 minute walk away.

We went at the end of April so the hotel wasn't fully open for summer yet, but this only meant the pool bar and beach restaurant was not open. This meant the hotel was a bit cramped in the evenings especially at the weekend. The food was superb throughout the stay and the flowing drinks helped ease the pain of the poor weather.

I'll leave my last bit to the staff who really make this hotel, always helpful and willing to go the extra mile, thank you for making our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    250
    99
    43
    18
See reviews for
199
240
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a fortnight at this hotel. We went with Saga and had the All Inclusive package, but there were plenty of guests who were not on All Inclusive which created difficulties for the serving staff. Our view of our stay was that parts were good and parts mediocre, not helped by rather poor weather during our first week.
The general layout of the complex is delightful, a south facing U shape hotel building enclosing a sun-trap quadrangle. The outside dining area leads south to an outside patio sitting-out area with sunshades and the children's paddling pool, a pool bar, then the main swimming pool (about 40m long) with a pleasant bridge crossing at the centre, then a very nice grassed area with plenty of sunbeds with umbrellas, then the beach. We found this layout worked well.
Our room was probably the best we had ever stayed in, an enormous sitting room area with a small kitchen (which we did not need) a large balcony facing south with sea view, and sliding doors leading into a large bedroom with two double wardrobes, and a good bath/shower room.
Inside the hotel there was a small heated pool with spa features, and a gym.
There was a fair range of entertainment in the evenings, including a good conjurer, flamenco dancing, and various musicians and singers.
The animation team worked hard, but being only three of them there seemed to be much less happening than at other comparable hotels with larger teams.
The food in the restaurant was quite acceptable, but was the least good of several other four star All Inclusive hotels we have stayed at.
The beach has plenty of sandy areas, but to get into the sea you have to go over a strip of shingle which was uncomfortable on the feet, and the sea being colder than the pool we didn't try a sea swim.
Some things that we felt were missing from this hotel, that other comparable hotels include, were:-
a children's slide at the pool; mini sports such as archery, rifle shooting, mini golf; a-la-carte restaurants; restaurant theme nights, proper meat roasts, regular fruit salad.
The scenery behind the hotel is delightful, and there is a nice easy 25-minute walk along the coast into Nerja, a pleasant little town where we went for morning coffee a few times.

Room Tip: Our third floor room was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as my best friend was getting married here. The wedding day was beautiful, food fantastic and couldn't have asked for anything more.

As a hotel it was good but not excellent. Food was average with some days the cooked breakfast being cold and replenishment of food from the buffet was slow. Lunch time food was very limited if you were not all inclusive as the pool bar only served sandwiches which could be toasted. You could pay 15 euros each for a buffet lunch in the restaurant however a short walk up the beach took us to two restaurants which good, fairly priced food.

The service of restaurant and bar staff was brilliant, all were welcoming however some had very limited English which was a shame particularly because around 80% of guests were English.

The rooms were clean, however the beds and pillows were slightly hard and could do with updating. There was a good selection of English tv channels and a small kitchenette with kettle, fridge, microwave and hob to use if needed.

Room Tip: Walk to Nerja on the beach, it took us about 15 minutes but it is well worth it especially towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here 4 years ago & was very pleased with it but I have just returned from another week but this time I felt that this is no longer 4* accomadation . We had to ask to be moved from our 1st apartment as 1 bedroom was no more than a corridor with 2 beds head to head and not at all suitable for an adult . It didnt even have a plug socket ! The glass ware and crockery supplied were ridiculous ( 3 tumblers & 4 cups ) for what was supposed to sleep up to 5 people . The kettle did not hold water and the towels supplied were all threadbare . Not at all worth the money we had paid and not 4* at all .

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom apartments are not up to 4* Standard at all . Breakfast was good but equipment & t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times with my family. The location is right on the beach so some of the rooms have good sea views, and the two bedroom suites we had are great for a family group. We went half board both times at very reasonable rates, and for what we paid the food wasn't at all bad. A couple of our party are veggies and they struggled sometimes to find an adequate choice of food but that is common in most Spanish hotels I've stopped in. The staff are friendly, decent service I thought. Perhaps the main down side of this hotel is its location for those that don't have a car - its a bit of a foot slog into Nerja. But overall we all liked it, we'll more than likely stay there again.

PS - I wanted to give this hotel 4.5 stars but TA won't let me !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Marinas we were a party of 16 (9 adults & 7 kids) the hotel is located about a 15-30 minute walk from Nerja (we had small children so took longer)
The hotel it's self was lovely. The reception and foyer area are very grand and have excellent views over the pool and sea. The food here was first class lots of traditional Spanish dishes which I liked. Something for everyone and all cooked in front of you. Excellent choice of desserts and always replenishing stock. Waitress service for drinks even for us in all inclusive. Tables are situated in groups of 9-10, this didn't bother us and the staff were happy to quickly separate for couples or smaller families. Found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Our room was a 2 bed apartment with everything we needed inc English tv. We had a view of the pool and sea and were on the first floor. Room was cleaned daily by friendly maids.
The bar was not really big enough for the hotel size so seating was get in early!! Entertainment was really good loved the flamenco dancers. The kids entertainers were brill and spoke several languages. If I had to find fault with this hotel it would be that all inclusive did not include ice creams or lollies for kids and the bar snacks were just sandwiches ( you had to pay extra for it to be toasted or have a hot dog!!) as I said the food was first class but instead of the buffet lunch on occasion it would have been nice to sit by the pool and have a sandwich rather than dress and go eat buffet style!! Other than that a fabulous holiday would defiantly return here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in late April on a Saga all-inclusive deal.

Our check-in was very fast and our luggage was taken to our room (probably because we were with Saga). We could not fault the reception staff, who were polite and helpful throughout our stay here.

We were pleased with the room, which was a 1-bedroomed apartment with fridge, kitchenette with fridge, kettle, microwave etc. and a lounge area. The bedroom had two separate wardrobes, so plenty of clothes storage space. I found the beds and pillows to be quite hard. The bathroom was fine and there was always plenty of hot water, my only gripe was that the towels were very thin. We had a good-sized balcony with a sea view. The TV got UK channels, so you could keep up with the ‘soaps’ if you wanted to!
The rooms were cleaned and towels replaced every day.

The food here was quite good and very plentiful, but could be a little repetitive with the same dishes appearing every day for lunch and dinner. If you are going out for the day you can order a packed lunch the day before – we did this and received a large bag packed with sandwiches, fruit and water. The restaurant is quite large with the tables close together, which can be uncomfortable at busy times such as weekends.

We liked the hotel’s bar, which was comfortable and with good service.
The large swimming pool looked very good, but unfortunately the weather was not warm enough for us to use it that week.

We liked the location of the hotel, which has a grassy sunbathing area overlooking the beach. We walked along the beach to Nerja a couple of times; this took about 25 minutes and was a pleasant walk. Halfway along is the Boatyard Bar where they hold music sessions a few nights a week.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here, and found the all-inclusive deal to be excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel

Address: Ctra Nacional 340. Km 289,5, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#10 Family Hotel in Nerja
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marinas De Nerja Aparthotel Beach And Spa
Marinas De Nerja Aparthotel Beach Hotel Nerja
Aparthotel Marinas Nerja
Marinas De Nerja Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.