We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostal Miguel, Nerja, Spain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Miguel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Miguel to your Saves list
Hostal Miguel
Almirante Ferrandiz 31, 29 780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Nerja B&B and Inns
Lancaster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Hostal Miguel, Nerja, Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Hostal Miguel and had an excellent time. The Hostal is in an excellent location with some up-market restaurants and friendly local tapas bars right on the doorstep. Jane and Ian couldn't have made us more welcome and were very helpful with local information, the loan of beach towels, access to ironing facilites etc. We had a most enjoyable breakfast each morning which was very good value for money and sat out on their pretty roof terrace in the sunshine surrounded by colourful flowering plants - an excellent start to the day. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Hostal Miguel is a short walk to the Burriani beach where there are excellent facilites. I would definitely recommend Nerja and in particular Hostal Miguel for those of us who enjoy experiencing the real Spain. It was my husband's birthday whilst we were there and Ian booked us into a fantastic restaurant, we had a wonderful night so thanks Ian and Jane for helping to make our stay special !!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    30
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
92
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We may be a little biased as Ian and Jane (the owners) are from Sheffield and so are we. We are already seasoned lovers of Nerja so love the town. I learned about Hostal Miguel through a mutual friend and decided to give it a try. Well what can I say, absolutely superb. We arrived at about 9.30pm on Friday night and forgot to change any money, Ian loaned me 50 Euro to go out for a bite to eat. Absolutely brilliant location although a little noisy (ear plugs supplied if you can't sleep) The accommodation is not five star but it is absolutely spotless, tastefully decorated and comfortable. What 'Hostal Miguel' lacks in facilities it more than makes up for in charm, cleanliness and the total dedication of the owners to make your stay special. Nothing is too much trouble for Ian and Jane and they have covered every eventuality. We have already booked another four night break here later this month after having a wonderful break. We can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Sleep quality not too good as our room overlooked main street but well worth it to sit on the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at Hostal Miguel last year following on from the excellent reviews on this site. For once, Trip Advisor let us down unfortunately.
The location was fine as expected being very central, however the rooms were much to be desired. The room was very dark with very little natural light, it had no air circulating as the windows looked out onto a wall, it felt oppressive. Perhaps the rooms in front would be better as they did look much brighter than the rooms at the back of the hostal.
Also there was no privacy as the bathroom was almost in the bedroom with a sliding door which didn't close properly.
The hospitality though of the owners was fine, they were very helpful with advice etc.
There are better places to stay in Nerja for the money, I would not return to Hostal Miguel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
euroblade, Owner at Hostal Miguel, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thankyou for taking time to write this review (a full 8 months since the visit) We too are disappointed - in the fact that any concerns were not voiced to ourselves at the time of the stay. We pride ourselves on trying our very best to cater to our guest´s needs and on this occasion feel we were not given the chance to do this but now have to defend ourselves at a much much later stage. We are sorry you feel you are unable to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijas, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I have just read the last and very negative review of Hostal Miguel and feel compelled to disagree, despite never having bothered to write one of these reviews before.
My partner and I went to stay there after a recommendation by a family member. We have stayed there on numerous occasions and stayed in a few of the rooms.

From the start, Ian's directions were flawless and we made our way there really easily. The hostel is right in the middle of the beautiful old town and some rooms have a little balcony overlooking the bustling pedestrian high street.

The rooms are simply furnished and immaculately clean. I am allergic to dust mites and would know if there was any dust straight away. The decor is simple and colourful, the building itself is traditional Andalucian.

Ian and Jane are superb hosts. They greet you and have a wealth of local knowledge, from where to get a good steak to the best of the free tapas in the bars.

Once they are sure you have everything you need, they leave you to enjoy your stay and are very inobtrusive. On one visit, we asked for a full English breakfast and Ian was apply to oblige. We we're servers a delicious freshly cooked meal on the sunny roof terrace and I seem to remember it was not expensive at all.

So, in reply to the last review, I am sorry you didn't have the fantastic time we always do. We think that we are lucky to have found Ian and Jane and Hostal Miguel and will continue to go there as often as they have room for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I am rating this Hostal as average due to all the other good reviews and some positives though our experience was not that good. We just were disappointed in our room, #102. It was our only disappointment in 27 days in Spain. The room is just blah. It misses being quaint and is just chintzy. We tried to switch rooms but the Hostal was full over the weekend. (I had requested a view and thought I was getting one but didn't).Two twin mattresses pushed together to form a larger bed but we kept falling in between the crack. No TV which I guess I should have known. We pulled a blanket out from the closet and got a faceful of dust. The bathroom door doesn't close very well as it is a slider without a bottom track. The tub was very tough to shower in and keep your balance. One tiny light in room and people in the hall can see in as you have to leave the window open to a small atrium for air. I think if the owners stayed a night or two in this room they would see the flaws and fix it up. On the other hand the owners are very nice and helpful and the location is great. A full English breakfast was very good for 7.50E. 43E per night is a decent price. We would try this Hostal again for those reasons but would try another room. Nerja is a great town to visit and the Balcon de Europe has fantastic views.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
euroblade, Owner at Hostal Miguel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Firstly we would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write this review. We are disappointed that the negative points highlighted in the review were not discussed with ourselves at the time of the visit. We were asked if we had another room available but we were full for the whole of this persons stay (2 nights) and it was not possible to accommodate their request which we would happily have done if it were possible. It is normal practice on the continent to put beds together and we do mention on our site that we will try our hardest to accommodate requests for double beds. We are sorry, we don´t know what "blah" means and chintzy conjurs up a Laura Ashley effect which is something we definitely do have in our hostal. We do not have t.v.´s in the rooms and would mention this on our site if we did, the same applies for A.C. which, in fairness, is not normally an issue at the end of October. The comment re the lack of privacy is, we feel, a bit of an over-reaction. The room looks onto an atrium which is seperated from the hall by a wall and other windows. The hall is certainly not a busy thoroughfare and in fact leads to one room only however, we value the comment and steps have been taken to alleviate this. We do not offer full English breakfast as the norm only should a guest request this as did these. The price they have quoted is incorrect as it includes several extra coffees taken by one as they waited for the other to join them for said breakfast well after the time the service had ended - in fact the breakfast was delivered by tray to the guest´s room as they were so late because they were sleeping in the room. The matter of the "faceful of dust" we cannot understand as the rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and if this was the case then we do apologise. To sum up we would like to clarify that we are in fact a small family run hostal, not a 5 star hotel. We are glad that these guests did consider our rate a fair price though the comment does appear to be in direct contradiction to the review. Finally we would like to mention that a few days later other guests chose this particular room out of 3 options and told us they had a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Just returned from 4 days staying at Hostal Miguel in Nerja Spain a really good place to stay the oweners Ian and Jane could not be more helpful or friendly we were treated as friends rather than guests and nothing was to much bother. Rooms lovely and clean and we had a balcony over looking the street which was great to watch the world go by.
Would recommend this place definitely for couples or families with older children will be going back the whole place of Nerja is brilliant

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but at front you can see the street where everythings going on but can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We loved Hostal Miguel...... Ian and Jane were so helpful and friendly it was more like staying with friends than a hotel! The hostal is great, rooms were clean, homely and well equipped (ceiling fans rather than air con but was fine with windows open as very safe) and Ian gave us some great restaurant recommendations!
The hotel has a lovely roof terrace and a supply of books, games and beach equipment for borrowing!
Location was also great, right in the centre, near everything but our room was at the back so we're weren't bothered by any noise.
We preferred the beaches that were a bit further away (10min walk) than those at the Balcon which are small and overcrowded. Would definitely recommend this place and look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Miguel

Address: Almirante Ferrandiz 31, 29 780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal Miguel - a nine bedroom, friendly guesthouse built in a typical Andalucían style in the heart of Nerja on the south coast of Spain. Our aim is to provide you with a memorable stay by ensuring you get the most out of both the hostal and the varied activities on offer in Nerja and the surrounding area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Miguel Hotel Nerja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.