We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January Joy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nerja Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nerja Club to your Saves list
Nerja Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nacional 340 Carretera de Malaga Almeria, Km 293 | Frente a El Capistrano, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“January Joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have just returned from 3 fabulous weeks at the Nerja Club, I really can recommend this hotel. The staff really are outstanding on the service they deliver, rooms are light airy and well maintained. The food is very plentiful and the Spanish kitchen selections especially are superb, sadly for my figure the sweets too were really great and I actually added 12 lbs despite spending hours walking in the hills that surround Nerja. The help I got planning walks I received from the hotel was superb. - It is amazing the value for money this hotel delivers, the small gym is pleasure to use and the spa facilities great after a day walking. I will certainly return................

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Dave,

Thanks for sharing your review of Hotel Nerja Club in Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that everything was to your liking during your stay and we hope to meet again soon. Our Hotel is a great location to visit the fantastic mountains of Nerja. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page for you to meet all our news and specials.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    233
    107
    49
    28
See reviews for
63
367
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ammanford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Nerja Club. Although the weather was a bit mixed (it was January after all !) we enjoyed the pleasant lounge and terrace at the Nerja Club, and we had a simple but comfortable room (252) with a small balcony but big enough to sit out on.
Both breakfast and dinner were enjoyable with a good choice, especially fish courses at dinner. I prefer buffet style eating and my partner tucked in to salad after salad while I tried everything.
The evening entertainment was of the 'solo guitarist' variety but enjoyable and the weekly flamenco show was very good.
The situation of the hotel on the outskirts of Nerja may put off people who cannot walk far but its lovely and quiet there so if its a bit of peace you want later in the evening and through the night - its the place.

Room Tip: The 'newer' rooms are reputed to be better so if you have booked well in advance you could c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear friend,

We appreciate your feedback. The satisfaction of our customers motivates us to keep improving every day. Hope to have you soon in our hotel. As you know from our location you can easily visit the mountains and trails of Nerja, a wonder. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Nerja Club Hotel for one week half-board in mid-March last year. The hotel is quite small, but pleasant and clean. Our room was on the first floor with a tiny balcony overlooking an orchard of sorts. It was newly refurbished, slightly larger than average and very clean. Apparently not all the rooms had been refurbished because I heard a couple complaining at reception that their room was dated. From what I could tell they were given a better room. The hotel is in a quiet location on the east side of Nerja, a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest beach, and 15-20 walk to the Balcon de Europa. This was perfect for us, as we prefer to be away from the hustle and bustle, but we do enjoy a good walk. For bottled water and other extras there is a decent supermarket right across the street. The road can be quite busy, so beware if you're a jaywalker like me. We found the food to be of a good standard with enough variety to satisfy most people. I'm afraid I didn't really notice how well vegetarians are catered to, because I myself can be quite carnivorous. The pool area is small, but pleasant, and enjoys full sun for most of the day. We went out there for just part of one afternoon, and had no difficulty finding sunbeds. The spa is nice and has a modern feel to it - probably because it is new. To use it you will need a rather unflattering swimming cap, so pack one in your bag if you have one. Otherwise, they are €2 or so to buy. There is also a small exercise room with a few universal weight machines - and a water cooler with tiny plastic cups. You are not meant to use it to fill up your water bottles, but if you are coming back to the hotel parched, you could always heft a dumbbell with one arm while doing a few reps of the little plastic cup with the other. We don't usually pay much attention to the evening entertainment, but we did see an excellent trio of flamenca dancers one night. Lastly, the reception staff were pleasant and helpful, and the waiters in the restaurant were great. Would I go back? Without hesitation. Loved the hotel. Enjoyed the destination.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Kevin,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review. We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our city. We hope to see you soon. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel, half board, for a week in January 2013, having booked a late deal. We are still unsure how they managed to provide such a good, varied and generous menu for the price we paid. We consider that we eat well at home , with home made bread and cakes and home cooked food but we could not hope to equal the meals we enjoyed at the Nerja Club hotel.
The room was basic but clean and well serviced, lounge and pool areas were compact but very pleasant and there was a new Jacuzzi/ hot pool area which was free for two visits of an hour.

During the week there were 4 nights of entertainment including flamenco of a good standard and some very professional singers on three nights.

The position of the hotel in relation to town and beaches neccessitates a hilly walk of 15--30 minutes but the beaches are well worth the walk(or bus/ taxi) and the town is pleasant.

There are beautiful mountain villages accessible by bus and the scenery behind the town is spectacular.

All in all, we wanted a month, not a week!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for recommending our accommodation for users of Tripadvisor. We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We invite you to follow us on Facebook our. We hope to see you soon.

kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by how good this hotel was. It was a last minute holiday and the cheapest we have ever paid for a holiday. It was well located for walking mountains are just across the road. You can gain access to walks by walking up into housing estate opposite and look for dry stream bed and follow into hills. Or go to caves where the entrance to national is. We climbed Picos Cielo from here.
The only negative was the walls of rooms are thin so can be a bit noisy take some ear plugs . The pool is small but there is a great public swimming pool over the road were we were made very welcome.
The hotel is clean , friendly and the food was satisfactory. We walked down into town most nights after dinner. The town has character and has some interesting architecture.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Lynne,

Thanks for your recommendation. We love to hear that all went well during your stay. As you comments Nerja is a town with lots of character and its streets are breathing the authenticity of Andalucia. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Ivntiamos you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in the Nerja club in July 2012. I have been to nerja loads of times but this was my partners first experience of the beautiful place. We decided to stay at the Nerja club hotel. It had just been done up when we went and it was lovely. The cleanliness of the rooms was superb. The rooms are a little on the small side but it was a fine size for 2 of us and the balcony which for us overlooked the pool and in the distance the sea was fantastic, again small but fine for 2 people. The pool area was very clean the only downside being that you had to get up early and hang around until the staff started to put the sun loungers out, then it turns into a free for all to get a sun bed and an umbrella. If you get one then your fine as its yours for the day. It's really handy having seats around the pool area to be able to have lunch. The only reason this didn't score a full 5/5 was because for us the location was a bit out the way it is quite a hike to the beach and to get back you have to go up a huge hill which can be hard in hot weather it's also quite a walk from the balcon probably 20-25 minutes. The other downside for us was the food. We were half board so we had our breakfast and evening meal included. The food wasn't the best. It was very Spanish and not very child friendly if your not a fussy eater then its probably fine but there wasn't a huge selection either. All together we ate in the hotel for 2 evening meals and 3 breakfasts. Overall I would recommend Nerja Club Hotel as it is fantastic. The staff, rooms and pool area are fantastic. It's a good value for money hotel. You can't go wrong really.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Nerja Club for your holiday and share your experience on Tripadvisor. For us it is very important to feed back to our guests, as it helps us to continue improving day by day. We take note of all your suggestions to continue offering the best service to our guests. As comets our hotel is excellent value for money. Thank you very much for your recommendation. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page to see all our promotions.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have been to nerja club hotel twice now, first time in April second in September both times in 2012. We paid such a small amount, £650 between us for half board including flights and transfers, that could not be anything other than fair to it. The bedrooms are clean and spacious most have balcony s none of which have sea views. The hotel has several outdoor areas and deck with smallish pool. There is entertainment ( live acts ) most nights , not great. There is small bar all day till 1am. The food is adequate some evening meals good, always several choices. Because of its location, slightly out of town uphill about 20 mins to the Balcon de Europe, the main centre of the towns day and nightlife. If you can get a good deal as I did through thomsons then the best £650 for two you will spend in Spain. Terrific town lots to see and do without the lager louts to contend with .

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony ideally on side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your review. Communication with our customers is very important to us. We hope to have you with us on your next visit to Nerja. As you mention is a wonderful city to enjoy a relaxing holiday. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nerja Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nerja Club

Address: Nacional 340 Carretera de Malaga Almeria, Km 293 | Frente a El Capistrano, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nerja Club 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is ideal for couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We have large Sun Terraces where you can enjoy glourious sunshine nearly all year round.Our staff have many years experience and will ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay.You can enjoy some memorable evenings at the Nerja Club Hotel. After a nice freshly prepared dinner in the Buffet Restaurant, you can have one of your favorite beverages in our Bar Cocktail, whilst appreciating the live music which is on offer every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Nerja Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Club Hotel Nerja
Nerja Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nerja Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.