We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel with seafront location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Monica Hotel Nerja

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riu Monica Hotel Nerja to your Saves list
Riu Monica Hotel Nerja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fab hotel with seafront location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Just returned from a weeks holiday in Nerja staying at the Riu Monica. Fabulous hotel with beachfront location. Rooms excellent, cleaned daily. Mini bar/fridge in room but drinks are cheaper from the supermarket, however not much space in fridge to put them in. Take a travel kettle if you like a hot drink in the room/balcony as not provided. Breakfast and dinner are buffett style with plenty to choose from. Breakfast you sit anywhere, evening meal you are given the choice of two sitings with a designated table for the duration of your holiday.
There was entertainment each night but we chose to walk most evenings into the town where there are many bars, shops etc. Then we would return and have a drink at the bar opposite the front entrance of the hotel ( the Ship) which was run by a lovely couple from Holland helped by Miranda, Mary, and a young lad. They were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    321
    79
    18
    9
See reviews for
176
566
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Having stayed at the Monica before some years ago, my wife and I were interested to see if their standards had been maintained, they were, very much so. The glass of "bubbly" on arrival is always a nice touch and very welcome in the heat of June. We had requested a high, pool facing room and we got it. The rooms themselves are very big and there are loads of drawers and hanging space for clothes etc. There is a safe and mini-bar in the rooms and air-con. and a ceiling fan which was brilliant. The beds we found were a little on the hard side but always clean and linen changed frequently, there is the usual TV but with the two main channels of BBC 1 and HTV as well as other satilite channels.
The idea of selecting your dinner table for the duration of your stay is great and this can be changed if you so wish, the food selection is huge and I defy anyone to not find something they like each sitting. The staff introduction at the arrival meeting was a lovely touch and so was the fact that the director, or his deputy, makes a point of seeing all new arrivals and asks if all is well with everything, if it is'nt then it will be put right have no fear. There are towels issued free of charge for the pool and these can be changed as you wish, with regard to the pool, there are still those people who must sit on the same beds each day and go down with their towels early to get their spot. The only way to stop this is to adopt the system we saw in a few hotels in Cyprus were each room is allocated a bed on arrival which they keep for the duration of their stay, of course this means there has to be enough beds for all which might be a problem for hotels with limited space.
We were lucky enough to be in Nerja during the World Cup and the atmosphere was fantastic, Nerja itself is a lovely spanish town with plenty of good shops, restaurants and bars. Across the road from the hotel is Sarah & Monolo's Bar were they do a great choice of sandwiches etc. ideal for that mid-day snack. All in all this was a great holiday, spent in a really lovely hotel in a very spanish town that welcomed us with open arms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Having stayed in other Riu hotels before, we knew what to expect regarding service and excellent hotel chain. Unfortunately some things didn't live up to our expectations.
Negatives;
The safety deposit box at €15 per week inside the wardrobe on the FLOOR! If you have back problems this can be quite difficult, especially for elderly people I would imagine.
No fresh fruit available to choose from for breakfast, eg, bananas, oranges etc. There were only oranges and grapefruits already sliced up. No real fruit variety.
No fresh orange juice for breakfast, only watered down cordial.
Waited too long for drinks at evening meal sitting, at one stage we counted 20 mins before anybody came over, then you didn't feel like a drink.
Drinks in bar area very expensive, €5.50 for whisky €1.95 for mixer. Over the road at the Jamaica you could get both for €3.50!
Happy hour in bar on only 3 days a week, Tue, Thur and Saturday.
The rooms were of standard Riu, but we found them to be a little tired and dated, in need of refurbish. The cleaning of rooms was not up to standard either, we arrived and had a sunscreen stain on the main mirror, and was still there when we left!
Beds quite hard and creeky.
Pool area very cramped, only half the grounds has full sun, as the hotel has been made to block out one side of the hotel. People were getting up very early to put out their towels and to obtain the full sun areas, otherwise your day would end around 1pm.

Positives;
We found reception staff to be very helpful, especially Luis and Miguel.
Evening meals very enjoyable, especially the carvery, excellent.
The Director always around to answer any problems. We had no hot water one night, reported it to reception, the following day the director came over to our table and asked was it back working, which it was, very nice touch.

Overall we had a very nice first week, but after the second week kicked in, we were getting bored with the repetitiveness. The area of Nerja is very nice, very Spanish, but very quiet. The beach outside the hotel is not one of the best either. We are not party animals, but we found there was basically nothing to do once the first week was over, walking to the same shops every night, and the square became very boring, a week would of been perfect, but I think 2 weeks was far too long. Public transport in Nerja is non existent too, only the town bus which takes you on a short ride around the town, or a bus to Frigiliana. If you wanted to venture further afield, you had to get the bus to Malaga, then change to your required destination. Car hire VERY expensive too, the most we have ever paid! €68 for one day! A complete rip off, as they know you will pay because of lack of public transport.
All taxi rides are at €6 whatever the destination, ie the market on Tuesdays.
This hotel is very nice for a quiet one week stay, would we go back, probably not.
Mainland Spain has gone very expensive, we would probably go all inclusive to Spain, as we love the country and the people, and most of all the Riu hotel chain.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Ayrshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Just returned from Riu Monica after a one week holiday with Thomsons. The hotel is in an excellent location. Right on the beach and an easy stroll from the balcon and town centre. There is a good selection of bars near to the hotel if you don't wish to walk into town.
All rooms have a side or full sea view. They were large and exceptionally clean as were the public areas. Hangers were plentiful - we had 20 in total which were great for 2 women travelling together. There was ample drawer space as well. TV has BBC 1 & ITV which is good news for any soap fans! The beds were comfortable and as there was just a promenade then the sea at the rear of the hotel there was nothing but the lapping waves to keep you awake.
There is an indoor pool but this is only open during winter months. The main outdoor pool was good for swimming and once you were in was not too cold. There were sunbeds around the pool area and also on a raised patio area at the side of the hotel. There was the usual problem of guests reserving sunbeds with their towels as early as 7.15 and tying them up all day. We normally did a bit of walking and sightseeing in the morning and were seeking a sunbed after lunch which was sometimes a bit difficult.
There is a very small gym with a few machines and some free weights.
Breakfast was a cold buffet only till 8.15 - we did two excursions which left at 8.10 & were picked up for flight home at 8 so on these mornings had to satisfy ourselves with breads, yoghurt, fruit, cold meats etc. You need to let reception know if you require breakfast before 8.15. On our last day we booked breakfast for 7.15 but the breads were not brought through from kitchen till 7.30 which wasn't helpful. The cooked breakfast was substantial with all the usual items.
Evening meal was two sittings at 6.30 & 8.15. The reception seemed keen to get as many people as possible in for early sitting which suited us ok. A table is allocated to you for the duration of your holiday. Waiter service was excellent - drinks order taken almost immediately (and unfinished drinks returned to your table for the next evening) & dirty plates cleared promptly. The first evening we went down just after 6.30 but the dining room at this point seemed chaotic. Every other evening we went down around 7 which was much better. We were able to access the salad buffet freely as everyone else had by that point moved on to their main or in some cases dessert. The food itself was very good - an excellent salad buffet, a good choice of mains with good variety of vegetables. Going down later didn't affect our food choice - only 1 incident were menu item (salmon) was no longer available from buffet. There seemed to be different items on the menu every night - I don't think we had the same thing twice. Good choice of desserts - lots of different gatauex and small bite sized sweets.
The head waiter will check with you the first evening to ensure you are happy with your table and they also checked with us during the holiday that we had been happy with the service given.
As this is a very popular hotel you will be given a glass of sparkling wine when you arrive to kill time whislt waiting to check in. Cases will then be delivered to your room for you.
The resort itself was charming. Busy on the main square but take a few steps away it was peaceful. We walked out to the caves - a stroll of around 80 minutes, visited teh donkey sanctuary and walked inland along side the Rio Chillar which starts just to the side of the hotel.
Incidently we booked two excursions with Thomsons which I would also recommend - El Chorro and Granada. The first was a relaxing tour by train & coach round the resovior area - very scenic with breakfast & 3 course lunch provided. The latter had a 2.5 hour tour of Alhambra Palace and Gardens (magnificent) and free time in Granada itself. Two very different tours but both equally enjoyable.
All in all a very enjoyable break at a good quality hotel in an excellent resort with the right mix of actvity and relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Having stayed in Nerja before we thought we would go back again this year,the hotel was clean but the service was not what you expect from a 4* .
The bar area were you sat to watch the shows was very tight for space and if your there for two weeks you see the same acts over again, which were not very good, but the guy from Wales done a great Elvis and was great with the audience, the food was fine there was plenty of it.
The reception were not all that helpful, asked for an early morning call at 5am and got it at 5.35 also asked for a table to be reserved because we had a meeting with a vicer as we were taking our vows after 25 years, this was not done nor was the bottle of champagne that was to be put in our room
The bar service was poor and not cheap, over the road at the ship inn it was cheaper and great fun [ do not use the mini bar in your room unless you won the lottery ]
Would i go back to Nerja most definitely there are many things to see and do it's a beautilful place, would i go back to the riu Monica NO

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

After spending lots of time in Nerja in the past, I often found myself wondering what it would be like to stay in the striking Riu Monica. The hotel had stood the test of time and indeed had the best of the reviews in Nerja.So after years of self catering holidays at the resort, we decided to give it a go on a half board basis.
We arrived late(around 11;30pm) and on arrival were told that a buffet had been prepared for our arrival. This consisted of luke warm soup, salad and stale bread. A few bits of cake from dinner was also afforded to us. Whats wrong with that? Well...I will get to that.
The room itself was ok, nice and clean but with faults. No tea and coffee making facilities, a very over priced minibar with no refrigerator space for any of your own items.Fair enough, but when you travel with a two year old, you do expect that there will be space for a juice bottle at very least. The four star hotels I have previously frequented worldwide had provided at least refrigerator space and drink making facilities. The air con in the rooms are not exactly efficient and the ceilling fan had only one speed, making hot evenings sometimes uncomfortable.Sleeping with the patio doors open when you have a two year old and occupy a fifth floor room, is not an option. The beds were rock hard and not to my own satisfaction.
The maids came every day and regardless of weather you put the "please make up my room" tag on the door or not, they would proceed to enter the room at around eight o clock every morning! Sure they were consistent...but hardly thourough... I strongly suspect that the sheets on the bed were never changed as I found myself being heavily bitten on two nights, resulting in me sleeping on a chair.
The dining situation was fine...for the first two sittings, after that, it all got too repetitive.Hardly anything to entise little ones into an appetite. If you dont like garlic or onoins, then stay well clear of most of the hot plate and the veg selection. On arrival, we were promised a "gala" or "themed" evening and unfortuanately that came on our day of departure.... a day we were told that we were not entitled to any food at dinner as the paltry "buffet" were subject to on arrival, actually counted for one of our dinner sittings! We could have paid for a sitting at 10 euros per person!!!!(a specially discounted rate)
If you are a fan of sitting by the pool, then be prepared to get up early to reserve you loungers to avoid disappointment. By 8;30 am, most loungers were occupied by annonymous towels, even though the management warned against this on arrival via a welcome letter in the room. They claimed that "towels will be removed by management" should people resort to such actions. That never happened. Sometimes, people even left their towels on the sun loungers all day while they left the hotel for the day, only returning for the last two hours of sun, and to have a refreshing dip in the pool. There wasnt sufficient spaces per head by the pool by any means. By the pool, a snack bar could be located, but take plenty of money, as this bar is not cheap. Nothing in Nerja is cheap any longer.
As far as an entertainment programme goes...well there really isnt one, certainly not for little ones, nothing when you have a bad weather day either. I expected more from a four star hotel.
The hotel really caters for the middle aged and able bodied people, we found it not really child friendly, or people with disabilities will also may also agree with me.
I suppose, the evening entertainment was ok....if you like Elvis impersonators.... which was fine....and my little boy loved it! Drinks in the main hotel bar, very expensive...may I suggest that you venture across the road to some very reasonable bar for a drink if you so desire.
It may appear to you after reading this, that we didnt think much of the hotel, and in fairness, we were diasappointed in many aspects, but the hotel is a nice one, it just not practical if you have children.
The grandness of the facade will make it a winner with the middle aged and most couples, but in my opinion, not really families.
The resort itself is really struggling with the ecomomy, lots of retaurants have closed or will shortly close due to the sheer expensiveness in comparrison to my previous visits, which is sad... I recall Nerja being a vibrant, relatively cheap resort....no more.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed during the first 2 weeks of May and went with Thomson Holidays. We were delighted with the deal we received and the hotel. One of the best holidays we had ever had. The staff were excellent especially Paco the breakfast chef and Senor Jacob Timon the assistant manager.
The town of Nerja is lovely and worth exploring. We can recommend the resort and hotel wholeheartly. The only downside was Malaga airport and it's new terminal which was manic!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Monica Hotel Nerja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Monica Hotel Nerja

Address: Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#3 Family Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Monica Hotel Nerja 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riu Monica Hotel Nerja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Monica Hotel Nerja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.