We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Monica Hotel Nerja

Save Saved
You added Riu Monica Hotel Nerja to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riu Monica Hotel Nerja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #7 of 38 hotels in Nerja
hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Our second home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Went again to the Monica with Thomson Holidays last two weeks in April.
Many cloudy days but enough sunshine to get a suntan.
As usual couldn't fault the hotel and staff were superb. Special mention to Rui the entertainer and Daniel the assistant manager.
Visited the donkey sanctuary twice and would recommend it wholeheartedly. The sanctuary has to move it's site unfortunately but might be a few months yet.
The Riu Monica is a lovely hotel and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    287
    76
    16
    9
See reviews for
159
514
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I like Nerja, it has a charm and style not present across many resorts in the Costa del Sol, but it is short of good quality hotels, there are only 2 four star properties and the Monica is the best ( not saying much?)
That would be unfair, it is a nice hotel and has many pluses, notably the location, just out of town and just on the front facing the Mediterranean .The food is good, the staff helpful and the overall ambience is conducive to a good holiday. We have stayed there now twice, I reviewed it in 2011 and it is interesting to see if the points I made then are still valid, so here goes.
I said meal times resembled a scrum and the tables were too close together... Meals are still let's say a chase for the grub, but it is plentiful, but it did seem less frenetic than my last visit ,that may be that the clientele was almost exclusively 55+ age range, very few kids or TOWIES ( ask your kids what this means) but a few zimmers and walking sticks, the food frenzy was more pedestrian.The tables are still ridiculously close together , so you will need to polish up your dinner conversation skills, unless you can secure some of the small number of isolated tables.
The bedrooms are still a little distressed and are badly in need of an upgrade, better towels, flat screen TVs , but largely are OK principally that they have good views....however...
I had mainly 2 gripes, firstly the hotel was cold, the weather had taken a dip and the room temperature was chilly.My wife asked at reception and was given 2 blankets. I went down and was told it is not usual at this time of year, I asked to see the Manager and explained that I did not think it was good enough to have guests cold in their rooms, to his credit he instructed the staff to put the heating on...was I the only one to complain? They should have put it on without me having to pester.
Secondly, the last time we visited I booked directly with the hotel, this time I went through Thomson. It was a surprise, as it made the place feel like a holiday camp from the moment we got on the bus and were asked to shout " Hola"to welcome the driver, to the request to tell the Hotel Manager everything was "Excellente" if we were asked, at the welcome meeting. I gave up on holiday camps when I was 12 , and didn't like the Hi de Hi approach to holiday making , but plenty of my older colleagues did and enjoyed it. I did think that the Thomsons rep.Vee was a delight and gave a calm and helpful feel to the place so it was not all bad.
The one thing Thomsons need to learn is with regard to the flights which were awful, from the over priced and burnt limited choice food selection ( take your own) to the terrible check in and entry to the plane in Malaga...dreadful. I never thought I would miss the Ryanair approach to chuck em on chuck em off but I did.
The Monica is worth a visit because Nerja is a nice resort...next time I will go as an independent traveller and will miss the knobbly knees comp and Donkey derby!!

Room Tip: The walls are paper thin, Ok if you are deaf or like to eavesdrop. Rooms on the left of the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel - and they are still our friend. This is a superb hotel - very professional, very friendly and very welcoming. Perhaps the bedroom could do with a bit of updating but it was comfortable and clean. The restaurant is buffet service but all the waiting staff are experienced - no holiday-time temps! Choices from the buffet dinners were excellent 6 days out of 7 - perhaps on the 7th we were being picky! The hotel is a short walk from the pretty town of Nerja and about a 60 minute bus transfer from Malaga. Indicative of the welcome, was the glass of Cava given to us as we were checking in.

Room Tip: We had room 18 which was underneath the restaurant. Hence noisy during mealtimes (chairs scraping o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We just needed to get some sunshine after the long hard winter. Although the weather wasn't as hot as we would have liked it was warm enough to lie by the pool. We only booked 1 week but wish we had stayed longer. The reception staff were very welcoming from the moment we stepped off the coach and answered any queries immediately. The room was very roomy and spotlessly clean. It had a side sea view but was fine. The food was excellent with something for every taste. The only criticism was the wine glasses in the dining room. Spain produces some fantastic Rioja's which deserve to be served in decent wine glasses. We had intended this trip to be a relaxing one but we found ourselves joining in the activities around the pool as Rui, who was in charge of entertainment was such a bubbly character. We didn't see all the entertainment as we wanted to explore the area but what we did see was excellent.Definately one for a return visit.

Room Tip: Although we had a side sea view it was a better view than other hotel's when we have had suppose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel is extremely clean and staff friendly and helpful. Good dining room and enjoyed the food. Situated on the sea front and supermarket and bars close. Short walk to town with many shops. Scenic bays and mountain back drop. Fantastic trips to Granada and frigiliana . Only 45 minutes from Malaga airport. Will return to Nerja and also to this lovely hotel. Big procession through the town on Easter Sunday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

24th March - 31st March 2013
We were desperate to get away from the miserable UK weather and thought southern spain may be a good choice. We didn't want a long flight and this was perfect - 2 hours 40 from Gatwick with just over an hour's transfer to hotel. The Riu Monica is large and very well run, the staff try very hard to keep everyone happy. The rooms were very clean and cleaned each day if you wanted it - we declined for a few days because it seemed unnecessary. There were lots of children there and they were made to feel welcome and relaxed. If I had one criticism it would be that the whole place felt a little dated although the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness made up for it.
Nerja is a lovely place - very Spanish and no McDonalds..hurrah. We hired a car for 5 days and went off exploring. It was brilliant to see more of the countryside and it felt very safe there.
All in all a very good holiday and we would definitely consider returning. The weather was good too - 19-21 degrees most days.

Room Tip: the best rooms are high up on floor 3, 4 or 5 - best views over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you are looking from a kids point of view, it is sooooo good. There is a kids club and lots to do in the pool. The adults will love it to, there is a town 5 mins away and a great beach. If you are looking for a hotel, go here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Monica Hotel Nerja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Monica Hotel Nerja

Address: Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#5 Family Hotel in Nerja
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Monica Hotel Nerja 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Riu Monica Hotel Nerja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Monica Hotel Nerja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.