We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very welcome surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Monica Hotel Nerja

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riu Monica Hotel Nerja to your Saves list
Riu Monica Hotel Nerja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Black Fri-Cyber Mon SALE
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a very welcome surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

24th March - 31st March 2013
We were desperate to get away from the miserable UK weather and thought southern spain may be a good choice. We didn't want a long flight and this was perfect - 2 hours 40 from Gatwick with just over an hour's transfer to hotel. The Riu Monica is large and very well run, the staff try very hard to keep everyone happy. The rooms were very clean and cleaned each day if you wanted it - we declined for a few days because it seemed unnecessary. There were lots of children there and they were made to feel welcome and relaxed. If I had one criticism it would be that the whole place felt a little dated although the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness made up for it.
Nerja is a lovely place - very Spanish and no McDonalds..hurrah. We hired a car for 5 days and went off exploring. It was brilliant to see more of the countryside and it felt very safe there.
All in all a very good holiday and we would definitely consider returning. The weather was good too - 19-21 degrees most days.

Room Tip: the best rooms are high up on floor 3, 4 or 5 - best views over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    311
    79
    18
    9
See reviews for
176
548
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you are looking from a kids point of view, it is sooooo good. There is a kids club and lots to do in the pool. The adults will love it to, there is a town 5 mins away and a great beach. If you are looking for a hotel, go here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead,Tyne and Wear, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for one week half board from 31st March to 7th April.
This was our second stay at Riu Monica and was as good as our previous stay in 2010. It is situated about 15 minutes walk from the Balcon area.
The room was comfortable and a request for an additional pillow was dealt with immediately.
The bathroom was functional with a shower over the bath and basic toiletries provided.
There was a good selection for breakfast and dinner and meals were enjoyable. Decent bottles of wine at reasonable prices were available.
All staff were pleasant and efficient.
The weather could have been better and a few days, although it was warm, it was very windy and the hotel pool area was not busy.
We will have no hesitation in booking this hotel on our next visit to this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed there at the beginning of March. Our choice of hotel was based simply on the fantastic reviews here. We were not disappointed. Everything was good apart from the weather which was not the hotel’s fault. Refreshing to see the whole management team put in an appearance at the welcome meeting and they were in evidence around the hotel, especially the assistant manager at breakfast time.
We will return one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at the Riu Monica over the Easter Holiday. We were quite late arriving at the Hotel due to our flight to Malaga being delayed but were welcomed by the Manager and staff with a glass of cava and after a quick check-in were told that a buffet would be available for us in 15 minutes. This was extremely welcome and was the start of a lovely holiday. Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely hardworking staff. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and food excellent and lots of choice. Great location with bars, restaurants and supermarkets across the road and a pleasant stroll into the centre of Nerja. Enjoyed seeing the Semana Santa procession on Easter Sunday which we found quite moving. A visit to Frigliana and the Donkey Sanctuary is recommended.

Room Tip: High floor room on the western side of the hotel gets the afternoon sun and lovely sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our second Riu hotel holiday (join the RIU class club for discounts) and another excellently managed hotel. The staff were amazing, efficient and friendly. Lovely room, comfy bed-an important thing for my holidays! On the fifth floor so lovely sea view, bit of wave noise but not complaining. Dining room well designed and asked on second day if we wanted to change tables, did not.Food for all tastes, hot when meant to be,cold when meant to be! Entertainment not as bad as expected. Lovely swimming pool but waves on it due to WIND++cold wind at that. Hot sun when sheltered eg in the great lunch cafe to right of beach gate. Excellent food served here.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views, we prefer high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay and we were very impressed with the hotel. We had a drink on arrival and the booking in was simple and efficient.
The location is ideal but it could be a problem if there is a mobility issue, as virtually every way you go is up hill.
The room and en suite were of a good size and the sea view was excellent even though it was supposed to be limited. There are no tea/coffee making facilities but we got a kettle from reception, which was subject to a refundable 10 euro deposit. Room was a bit dated but it had no impact. My wife advises taking a hair dryer.
Food at breakfast and evening meal was excellent and there was a large choice.
Entertainment in the main was very good and the singer was excellent.
Staff, in every area, were very friendly and extremely helpful.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Monica Hotel Nerja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Monica Hotel Nerja

Address: Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 Family Hotel in Nerja
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Monica Hotel Nerja 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Riu Monica Hotel Nerja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Monica Hotel Nerja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.