We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our eleventh visit to Riu Monica.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riu Monica Hotel Nerja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riu Monica Hotel Nerja to your Saves list
Riu Monica Hotel Nerja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
waterlooville, england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our eleventh visit to Riu Monica.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Went with Thomson Holidays again. The lovely Sam was our Thomson rep.
Like so many other guests we were multiple repeats visitors to this superb hotel. It's the staff who make this hotel mainly because they are long serving and very experienced.
The hotel's position on the sea front and only being a ten minute walk from the Balcon area make it a good base.
Please visit the donkey sanctuary if you possibly can, they currently have two really cute baby donkeys.
We have found some amazing disparities in the cost of holidays to the Monica. Strongly advise you to shop around and check the Thomson internet price. Sometimes only one week can cost as much as two! Bargains of a sort can be had.
A word of warning, Malaga airport check in staff very hot on luggage and hand luggage weights. Beware.
All said and done the Monica is a good hotel and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    318
    79
    18
    9
See reviews for
176
560
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

27th March just returned from a relaxing two weeks at the Riu Monica. This was a comfortable and welcoming hotel with an indoor pool and pretty gardens. Comfortable lounge and bar area with low-key entertainment each evening. In fact we found the chairs here some of the most comfortable ones in any hotel we have used. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were all pleasant and helpful. The Manager is always seen around the hotel throughout the day and is very approachable. There are quite a few steps down to the pool area but there are lifts so that’s not a problem.

Decent sized bedroom with more than adequate hanging and drawer space. Ample hot water throughout our stay and we never had a problem with the air-conditioning. Don’t watch TV much but we could have kept up with quite a few British programmes. Mainly British, German and Dutch guests which was fine – we enjoy trying to converse with other Nationalities and had some laughs. The guests during our stay were mainly the older age group but some younger families did arrive over the last couple of days. Fifteen minute stroll to the Balcon de Europe along the main road, keeping right into the square near the Church. In the other direction you could walk along a dirt track into Torrox.

Situated, as advertised, on the sea front and it was nice to fall asleep listening to the waves splashing onto the beach. The beach itself is coarse sand with pebbles but there were ample areas to sunbathe within the hotel gardens so we didn’t bother with the beach. There are sunbathing terraces on top of the pool restaurant too. We had room 52 which overlooked the garden with side sea view and was on the same level as the bar/lounge/restaurant but we were not bothered by any noise. We had lots of sun, although it was a bit windy. Never had a problem getting a sunbed. Extra mattresses available and we always managed a sun brolly. The pool was too cold for us but we did not expect it to be warm in March and we made good use of the indoor pool.- spoiled really because not many guests did and we quite often had it to ourselves. Towels supplied and could be changed at two periods each day.

The food was of good quality, several hot and cold selections at breakfast but we thought the choice of dishes at dinner a bit monotonous – although a great number of people were repeat clients and many were staying for a month, so obviously they did not have the same opinion. There are two sittings for the evening meal and you are allocated the same table for the period you are there. The staff put your table and sitting number on any wine you order and if you don’t finish it the bottle is on the table the following evening. Early start for a trip just order an early breakfast and, if required, a wakeup call.

There are snacks available at lunchtime but if these don’t suit there are bars and restaurants within yards of the hotel.

Sam was the Thomson representative, very informative and, I believe, helpful although we don’t tend to use the representatives much ourselves.

All in all another satisfactory Riu hotel would possibly go again if we wanted a break on the Costa del Sol but we do like to see as many parts of the world as possible. Would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Room 52 handy and overlooks garden with side seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I have just retuned from a fantastic weeks stay at the RIU Monica Nerja.Good food fantastic Staff good location in a lovely surrounding area.Plus the best weather the region has had at this time of the year for several years.Will definately go back at the first opportunity.

Room Tip: most rooms appeared to have a sea facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Spent a week at Monica in March, had never been to the area before, wished we had booked for two weeks. Room nice and roomy, food excellent could not fault, good facilities. Did have some noise from next room, had to ring reception at 0015 to complain.
Good base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: Even number rooms get sunset, odd numbers sunrise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed at the Monica 5th -12th Feb 2012 after booking a late deal with Thomson.On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of champagne which was unexpected but a nice touch.We have stayed in Riu hotels before, mainly carribean all inclusives.The Monica didnt disappoint.We were on half board and the food was good and quite varied.In all parts of the hotel the cleanliness was very good and all staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful (especially reception.)The hotel is in a good position close to the town,bars,restaurants,promenade and beach.The hotel is on a slope so there are steps to negotiate to the pool and promenade but didnt cause us any problems.Although February we were sunbathing most days.There is also an indoor pool which is not huge but very good.We had a good deal on this holiday(always a bonus) but we would return here again.The only fly in the ointment(no fault of the hotel) was the 4 hour delay on the return flight to Birmingham.We all know these things happen but its how theyre dealt with which is important.Before we left the hotel for the airport we were told if there was any kind of delay Thomson being the good eggs that they are would not take us to the airport but leave us in the comfort of the hotel.Not so- 4hr delay known about the day before.Do Do happens just be truthful!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Just returned after a week at this Hotel. Staff were very pleasant. The Hotel was clean and in a superb spot in Nerja. However, no tea or coffee facility in the rooms. The buffet choices were predictable and boring. Hot buffet was luke warm at best. Never a 4 star hotel??

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have just returned from 3 weeks holiday at this hotel and couldn’t fault it. Everywhere was very clean and the food was excellent. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We find it hard to believe that some guests are so negative!!

We were on the 6th floor with a lovely view and enjoyed fantastic sunsets every evening. Apart from one day the sun shone in a clear blue sky from dawn ‘till dusk and although the wind was quite cool it was actually too hot to be able to sit on the sheltered balcony for too long. The beds were comfortable, most nights we left the balcony window partly open to be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. When it was necessary to put the heating on, the room warmed up immediately.

Our Thompson’s rep, Sam, was excellent as was the entertainment’s organiser.

We liked the town itself in fact it was a perfect holiday and we certainly hope to return to the Riu Hotel next year.

Room Tip: High floor to appreciate the view & sunrise or sunset (depending which side your room is on)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riu Monica Hotel Nerja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Monica Hotel Nerja

Address: Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#3 Family Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Monica Hotel Nerja 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riu Monica Hotel Nerja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riu Monica Hotel Nerja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.