We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & cleanliness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al-Andalus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Al-Andalus Hotel to your Saves list
Al-Andalus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Siroco 1 | C/ de la Cueva s/n, 29787 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food & cleanliness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a 3 star hotel with no pretensions at being anything else. Minor issues; some of the bathroom furniture (and the sign outside) could do with refurbishment. Also some of the items (bath, swimming pool, balcony) seem to have been made on the assumption that their average guest would be very short indeed. It's a half hours pleasant walk, or a 1 euro bus or 8 euro taxi drive into Nerja. It's actually in Maro, only 300 metres from the entrance to the caves which, to the Spanish, are Nerja's main attraction. It is close to the main coastal road, but we never found noise disturbing. Reasonable sized room, TV with English news and sports channels. Helpful staff throughout (though command of English variable - many guests are Spanish), cleaning team exceptional. We love Nerja, been there twice before and on both occasions the hotels were let down by the food. Not here. Meals taken on the terrace (weather permitting). We stayed a week half board (conveniently meal can be taken at lunch or evening) from the a la carte menu. We never had to eat the same thing twice - although some dishes were so nice we did. The owner also runs a cookery school - need we say more? Substantial cold buffet breakfast includes gazpacho, which is a couple of euros elsewhere. Will happily stay again, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view gets you a pleasant view over Nerja and the Med, though rooms without the view seemed rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
10
52
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

stopped over for one night stay in October, delightful hotel overlooking the town, a little out of the centre and close to a busy main road. The staff were welcoming, we were half board and enjoyed a nice evening dinner, breakfast was help yourself, all very relaxing. The room was nicely decorated, regular size and a small balcony. The gardens and swimming pool were nicely kept, all in all a tranquil place to stay.

Room Tip: my room was at the side - amazing view of the town but also insight of the main road, so it was nece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed here for a week in September - wonderful, will definitely be booking again! The whole experience was good, right from the start. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially Isabella the receptionist and Antonio the waiter, by the end of the holiday we felt like friends; the meals we had on the Terrace were excellent (pork fillet in Malaga wine sauce mmmm!) - we don't usually eat in the hotel we're staying at, but this was the exception, the food and service was that of a top class restaurant but with a relaxed atmosphere. The room (116) was clean, attractive and a good size - wonderful bed; flat screen tv; full size fridge stocked with water, orange juice, lager and crisps (free of charge) and a plate of Tapas to welcome us. It overlooked the carpark and Terrace, which worried us at first, but was actually a bonus, as the view to the left on the balcony was the mountains and to the right the sea (otherside of the motorway but that didn't bother us and you can't hear the noise from the road in your room) and it was entertaining to see people coming and going! The pool area is small, but the pool is perfect for cooling off after a hot day. There are also sun loungers in the garden just down some steps from the pool so it never felt crowded - in fact one day we had the whole pool area to ourselves all day! It's advertised as Nerja but is actually in Maro, which is a lovely, quiet small town, 5ish minutes walk away. Nerja was a 5 minutes drive or a 40mins walk -at our pace! :-) There's a walkway/pavement all the way into Nerja and you can really take in the views. We did a lot of exploring in Nerja and the mountains but it was always good to go back to the Al-Andalus at the end of the day - felt like going home! Definitely a relaxing, and very Spanish, place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We visited the Al-Andalus for the third time. We went last September for my birthday and the staff made the most fabulous meal for us when they learned it was my birthday. We went back in June this year for five days and enjoyed it even more. The staff are fantastic and cannot do enough for you from the cleaning lady to the Reception staff. The owner too made sure that there was seating for us at lunch on a Sunday when there was a communion party. The little pool is in delightful gardens and the caves are a five minute walk away. The food is reasonably priced and good. I would recomment it to anyone. However you need a car as it is a good five minute drive into the centre of Nerja.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We only had one night at this hotel but have booked to go back in September for four days, we liked it so mucd. Do not be put off by the fact that it is near a main road. It is also just two minutes from the fabulous caves of Nerja. The swimming pool and garden is lovely and the food and service excellent. The staff were very friendly and it felt as if you were in a family home as the clients we met were fantastic. Can't wait to go back

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Me and my partner arrived at this place wich i wouldnt even call a hotel more of a run down Hostel ! 11pm 2/9/09 and we left on the 3/9/09 at 11am we paid untill the 9/09/09 .
1st ...Its not in nerja its in morlo cost you 90 euro from Airport
2nd...The room they gave us stunk of pooh!!
3rd....The room they gave us was about 100 yards from a motorway
This place should be on holidays from hell in all my 35yrs of travelling abroad i have never been in a place quite like it was disgusting i would not recomend this place to my worst enemy
Iam now trying to get my money back as the people in hotel was not helpful at all

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

3rd stay in Maro, 2nd at this hotel. The proximity to the motorway worries some reviewers, and worried me when we arrived and saw we had a large room on the 1st floor with 2 windows directly overlooking it (and the distant sea), but the sound of it hardly entered the room. The double glazing and shutter does work. The room was very comfortable, clean and well equiped. Stayed 2 nights and slept very well. Food unimaginative but good value. Service slow on the night of a conference but very friendly despite the language barrier. Speak to them, try a little phrase book Spanish, have a laugh and they do try.

There are 2 local shops selling "everything" in Maro which is a 5 minutes leisurely walk away. There are also 4 restaurants in Maro.

Yes you probably do need a car, but no problem. The very popular Playo Maro is 40 minutes walk away but is so popular at weekends and parking so limited that you might as well walk. Then you can enjoy the excellent beach bar restaurant before the more strenuous walk back. Further down the coast are more beautiful beaches. There is also the must do caves 5 minutes walk uphill.

And all this with 2 nights half board for less than the price of a night, room only, in a Premier Inn in the UK. Recommend it? Go figure.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al-Andalus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Andalus Hotel

Address: Calle Siroco 1 | C/ de la Cueva s/n, 29787 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Al-Andalus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al-Andalus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Andalus Hotel Nerja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al-Andalus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.