We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have people stayed in a different hotel to me?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balcon de Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Balcon de Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Balcon de Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“have people stayed in a different hotel to me?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Goodness me! I have just been reading the reviews for the Balcon and cannot believe the negative comments. Yes, you have to be dropped off at the Riu Monica and wait for the mini bus, but it was only a short while before it came and the driver/porter arrived and he was very friendly and helpful. When we arrived at the Balcon, we were checked in quickly and efficiently and the porter took our cases up to our room. We had booked a room without a sea view, so we knew what to expect and as we were only there for a week, we didn't care, as we were hardly in our room, which was incidentally, lovely and light and airy. I have to say, however, if I was staying for more than a week and at a different time of year, I would definitely pay extra as the sea view is absolutely stunning. I honestly don't know why people are complaining about the food so much as we thoroughly enjoyed all our meals there, so much so, that we never went out for a meal. On the Friday night before we came home, there was a Chilean night, which was superb. Drinks were reasonable and we found all the waiting staff, both in the restaurant and the bar and terrace were all lovely. As I was always taught, behaviour breeds behaviour and everyone, including the lovely reception staff worked very hard. We were there late November, and they were just putting up the Christmas decorations, which were beautiful and made me wish I was staying for Christmas. The hotel is in such a superb spot and we loved sitting on the terrace or the small bar in the square opposite watching the world go by.

Room Tip: choose a sea view if you like sitting on your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    231
    84
    27
    18
See reviews for
76
415
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a lovely stay at nerja!! Stayed at the balcon de Europa and was a very pleasant stay!! The staff were very friendly, especially the waitor Oliver who was very helpful!! Would recommend staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

On a recent trip to Andalucía I chose to pay a little more than budget to stay here, and I have to say it was well worth it, with a stunning location right by the Balcon de Europa. Even then it wasn't desperately expensive. I had a comfortable room with a stunning sea view, with the most amazing sunrises and the restful sound of the waves lapping on the beach below at night.
Staff were friendly and attentive, and the breakfasts were very good indeed. One or two reviewers have criticised the cooked food, but come on guys, this is Spain, not England. There was a wide range of continental stuff on offer, including some quality Serrano ham, omelettes made to order and cava available to make Bucks' Fizz. What's not to like? Just make sure you get up early enough to have time to enjoy the breakfast, and the view from the breakfast room.
Staff were also good at helping with the slightly complicated parking arrangements, where you go through the underground car park for the Balcon to get to the hotel's garage. Not specially cheap but all central hotels in Nerja charge a lot for parking, and the hotel garage is significantly cheaper than a long stay in the Balcon car park.
One of the bonuses was to discover a Happy Hour in the bar in the early evening, sets you up a treat for your tapas in the town later. All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view of the Med. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

hi
just arrived home after a fab week in nerja we stayed at the balcon I will write a very honest review as I always try to use trip advisor.on arrival this hotel has the wow factor for location and fab reception,we had only paid for a standard room what a very big mistake we faced an alleyway and NO balcony never again the supplement is well worth it.
we found the restaurant had amazing views and was well looked after by the waiter oliver who was English and helped with our menu choices, what I must say as in other reviews we were fed! BUT it was not always good 4 star this being on the table service evenings the buffet nights 2 nights were excellent.
lastly everyone needs a Rory the Thomson host he was very chatty very helpful as it was our first time in nerja so thankyou for all info on area and making us laugh .
Would I return yes most definitely for the ambience and area

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Fantastic sunsets and sunrises. Clean and comfortable but next I will ensure to have seaview instead of the window facing a wall. Very good breakfast and friendly staff. The best located hotel in Nerja.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have just spent a delightful five days at the Balcon. We had a superior sea view room which appeared to have been recently re-furbished. Staff were helpful and efficient, and breakfast was delightful and varied. Will definitely stay there again.The weather was also excellent - as were the views from our balcony.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a package deal with Thomsons during February at a vey fair price. If you can book a full sea view room as the location is amazing, can't be beaten in the whole of Nerja.
The staff are great and very helpful and courteous and the housekeeping staff do a great job, the hotel is spotless.
We stayed here last year and don't go back to the same place twice that often but we enjoyed it so much last year we thought we'd return.
The only thing I will say is that we thought that the food at dinner wasn't as good as last year. Dinner is waiter service (which I really like) on 5 nights out of sevev but I have to say on a couple of nights it was a bit hectic and lacking in some respects. Also the temperature of the food wasn't always as hot as you would want it either. Don't know whether they're trying to achieve this without the right number of staff. The wait staff all do their best. Rumour has it that they will gradually change over to a buffet at dinner. Must say the breakfast is excellent with a chef there to prepare fresh omelettes and pancakes, all the usual bacon etc., lovely pastries and a cava to wash it down if you wish.
So all in all we had a very good stay but the evening meals were not up to par with last year.
However if we were visiting Nerja in the future we would not hesitate to stay at the Balcon, good price for a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: if you can go for full sea view - wouldn't go for 5th floor - it's the floor between cafe an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiraiya23, Propietario at Hotel Balcon de Europa, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
@valleygirlCardiff

Thank you so much for repeating with us during your visit to Nerja. Our goal is to keep improving and give our guests the best service we can. Sorry you didn't find the dinner as good as you wanted.

Thank you again for your feedback and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#7 Family Hotel in Nerja
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balcon de Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.