We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff Mean You Can't Knock It Really” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balcon de Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Balcon de Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Balcon de Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff Mean You Can't Knock It Really”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The location of the Balcon de Europa cannot be faulted, and the same goes for the unfailing cheerfulness of the staff. We were made to feel so very welcome and as for the breakfast, well it's amazing I only went home 2lbs heavier and not much more! I defy anyone to confront that banquet and think "Do you know what, there's nothing there I fancy". The staggering array of goodies is amazing and if you breakfast at one of the window tables you can have the luxury of a Bucks Fizz and fry up overlooking the most incredible view of the Med. I could do that every day and never get bored of it.

After the spectacular spread at breakfast I will admit to being rather disappointed with the one occasion we had dinner at the hotel restaurant - a really dated and unimaginative menu not very well executed. With so many excellent restaurants to eat at in Nerja I would say 'go out to dine'. Dinner at Oliva not far away was outstanding.

My room was not all that special and was furiously overheated, but I paid a cheapo rate and the last time I stayed at the Balcon I got a free upgrade so it would be churlish of me to whinge about it. In spite of sweltering the night away the room was immaculate. One tip - if you are gasping for water and fish a bottle out of the mini bar only to find it has a beer bottle top and there is no opener, somewhat bizarrely the bottle opener is attached to the wall in the bathroom. But of course! Silly me....

I have stayed at the Balcon three times, on each occasion only one or two nights, and I would go back in the blink of an eye. The staff are so warm and welcoming I cannot think of anywhere else I would wish to stay when visiting Nerja.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the further you are away from any street noise. If you have a room which backs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    231
    85
    27
    18
See reviews for
76
417
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We visited the Hotel Balcon de Europa for a long weekend, this is our third trip to Nerja this year and of we return, it will definitely be to this Hotel.
The staff from reception to housekeeping are very friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble.
We had a balcony room at the back of the hotel with a sea view and it was perfect for views over the sea and the actual Balcon, it was also very quiet (apart from the sound of the sea).
The hotel is kept spotlessly clean by a small army of staff.
We only used the dining room for breakfast (self service), there is something for everybody in ample amounts.
On our visit, most of the residents were older UK citizens probably dodging the UK cold.
If you are visiting Nerja, you would find it hard to get a more central location, the hotel is literally yards from dozens of bars and good restaurants.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Pro:
Great location - brilliant views
Listening to the sound of the waves
Excellent service at breakfast - eg. My partner selected a table & went off to get food. Upon sensing I wasn't sure which one to sit at the maître de quietly prompted me. Really appreciated.
Great tea & coffee
Hot breakfast selection excellence
Front desk team very attentive & helpful (even our odd-ball restaurant requests).
WiFi good.

Tips:
Hotel car parking price is cheaper than the public car park
Get a room upgrade - for a little extra the views are amazing.


Summary: a great team is behind this hotel. We felt welcome throughout - from housekeeping to front of house, very happy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for two and half weeks during October/November and as usual had an excellent time. Room was perfect , breakfast buffets had an excellent selection. We had B&B reservation so only dined in on a couple of nights and again could not give the standard of cooking and presentation more than a 3 star rating. However here is the good news, the hotel owners have appointed a new director, regular visitors like ourselves will already be aware of this. He appears to be making serious attempts to improve evening dining , introducing speciality additions to the menu, etc. He was also conducting a survey to get real feedback from guests as to their dining experience. Let's hope this works through to real change.

To those that critisise bar staff, just think of a tip !!!

We are back in a couple of weeks for Xmas and New Year.

Room Tip: Front sea view rooms are a must for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

if you are after peace and quiet this is for you, lying on the beach here is so restful, not a sound of traffic or planes even though you are only an hour from Malaga, this hotel in right smack in the center of Nerja, which is pedestrianized. All the good restaurants are within walking distance, the breakfast is excellent, only drawback is the very small pool area, which makes it unsuitable for children, yes all together too boring for kids!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have been visiting Nerja for 20 yrs and have made almost 60 visits (mainly DIY) in this time. This was our first stay at the Balcon Hotel, we have previously stayed at over 15 other locations in Nerja, usually apartments. We had seen it as a special offer from Thomson - Half Board. It was also a first to travel by coach from Malaga as we always rent a car. The Rep in Malaga told those of us booked at the Balcon that a minibus from the hotel would be waiting at the Hotel Monica where the first group would be disembarking. There was no minibus, for us or the other 2 couples destined for the Hotel Balcon.
After 10 mins one of the others asked in the Monica about the bus and was told it was en route. After 40 mins in shade and a cool wind, we decided to walk to the Balcon with our cases and left the others. On arrival at the Hotel Balcon we informed the receptionist of our wait. She told us the driver had left some time ago to collect us. We went through the check in, after which, the other 2 couples arrrived. This was 1 hour after being dropped off in resort. The receptionist did tell us that the Rep phoned the Balcon to say we would be there about 12.00 but we were there over 20 mins before that, and the minibus arrived at the Monica hotel at 12.30. That was a problem made by Thompson, however the following day a large tray with a fresh fruit basket, & mineral water, was delivered to the rooms of those affected by way of apology from the hotel, no apology was forthcoming from the Rep.
The room was ok, very clean & comfortable, with no view, except an enclosed 'vertical tunnel' but we had not paid anywhere near the normal price so accepted this. 'Happy Hour' 5.30 till 6.30 was good value but the waiters were surly, this comment was heard from several guests during the week. The 'happy hour' crew were also the dining room crew for dinner !!The breakfast was excellent, cereals, full continental including Andalusian choices, and hot buffet, and bottles of cava on ice. Dinner however, was a totally different and mediocre matter. The Maitre d' insisted on taking the order for all 3 courses at the same time. The noise from staff laying up each table for breakfast 30 mins before end of service was very loud and intimidating, and the habit of reaching across ones face to clear tables, was very unprofessional.
The daily menu was posted in reception and offered at €20. I am a worldwide traveller, I am normally very easily pleased with food of all cusines. The food served here however was far less attractive across the week than I would have expected for an €8 menu del dia. Meat was 'wet' and tastless and for most meals the vegetables were bland. I am a ships steward and am regularly assessed on food safety and 'temperate aware'. The food had appeared not to have been 'probed' for the correct serving/holding tempurature as it was usually just warm & never hot. One evening on our way to dinner we could smell fish on our floor which was 2 floors above the Restaurant. 2 nights per week dinner was a buffet (this seemed to coincide with the Maitre d's nights off) This was by far the better option on both occaisions, food was of a more acceptable temperature and the extra choices were very welcome especially being able to choose course by course, however we were bemused by a couple of offers for deserts - one was marshmallows on sticks, and the other, a bowl of Haribos (mainly the fried eggs & coke bottles) For a 4star hotel I found this an amazing miss match. There were no children staying at the time. In fact I have stayed at 2* ApartamentoTuristicos in Nerja with higher standards.
It was 3rd week in November, and contractors spent several days putting up Christmas decorations, I began to think I was staying in a British Turkey n' tinsel hotel rather than a 4* hotel on an iconic Andalusian landmark, or am I just a Bah Humbug?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed for a week on half board at this lovely hotel in southern Spain. The location beside the Balcon de Europa in central Nerja is just about perfect and our room, overlooking the terrace and beach, was excellent. The room was spacious and clean and we loved the views from the balcony. We enjoyed excellent service from the friendly staff in all departments. The breakfast buffet provided for all tastes and quality was very good. Dinner was waiter service on five evenings with buffet on the remaining two. We had intended to eat out on a couple of evenings, but, in the event, we found the choice and quality of the restaurant good enough to keep us eating in. We liked the town and we liked the hotel. We will return.

Room Tip: This is an "upside down" hotel with reception on floor 6. We recommend taking a sea view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#7 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balcon de Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.