We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food with lovely views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balcon de Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Balcon de Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Balcon de Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food with lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went as a group of 20 and ate in the downstairs cafe bar. It was really nice and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The views were lovely and the whole place was bright and airy. Would definitely recommend a visit.

The upstairs bar is great especially for people watching when outside.

Room Tip: we didnt stay at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    261
    88
    29
    18
See reviews for
91
463
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay at the Balcon half board. After reading the other reviews, I had requested a room on a high floor. Room was spotlessly clean, had everything we needed and quiet. Despite not having a view - sea views are extra and not included in standard jet2 package - the hotel is so close to the beach and town it really didn't matter.

Breakfast was fab - served in the restaurant with panoramic views of the sea. Dinner was pretty good - what you'd expect from hotel catering - but lots of choice.

The pool is small, but this makes the hotel ideal for those who want a quieter time - very few families. We could always find a bed and the views from the sunbed area are lovely. The beach isn't private - but does feel that way. Sunbeds on the beach do have to be hired - 7 euros for 2 - but those by the pool are free.

Reception staff were very helpful - we didn't leave until late in the last day and due to being fully booked we had to leave our room at noon; the hotel gave us the keys to the sauna room to shower and change before our flight and allowed us to use all hotel facilities until our pick up. Nerja itself is lovely - and I'd definitely recommend a bus trip to Frigilana. All in all a very relaxing stay in a fab hotel in a gorgeous location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here in January and although we didn't book a sea-view room, we had a lovely recently refurbished room on the ground floor overlooking a courtyard and side street. The hotel is of a high standard and the staff were welcoming and efficient. Breakfast is self-service and there is a great selection, something to suit everyone. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the sea and it is lovely to sit and have champagne breakfast listening to the waves rolling in through the open windows. This provided a lovely start to every day.
There is a sheltered terrace for sunbathing at beach level and private sunbeds for hotel guests.There is also a sunterrace with pool and hot tub on the roof which provides an alternative to the beach. Food served in the bistro at beach level, we had great fresh fish here! alternatively there is a snack menu at street level.
We didn't avail of evening meal as we prefer to sample the many restaurants that Nerja has to offer, however I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for a couple.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a wonderful week here in June in a room with a balcony facing the view. Our room was modern, spacious and with plenty of storage. A lovely bathroom. Staff were very helpful. Room and public areas always very clean and tidy.
The breakfast buffet was amazing; a wide variety of all that you could wish for. The evening meal was fine; always something to suit and I am quite a fussy eater. Drinks were cheaper than we had expected.
The hotel is in a prime position with a lift down to the beach. The sea was very cold but the views were lovely. Only criticism would be that the pool was very small and the sunbeds rather close together. Situated right in the heart of Nerja with easy access for buses. A great week and would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My fiancée and I are just back from 10 glorious nights in this hotel. The main recommendation is to spend the extra and get a sea view room, unfortunately we hadn't booked one prior to arrival but were fortunate to be able to upgrade half way through, the views are spectacular . We found the staff in the hotel to be very pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts are excellent providing all you could want/need for the day ahead. Evening meals were just what you would expect for a 4* hotel adequate selection and standard. I agree the pool ans surrounding areas are small, but we knew that before we went, and as beach lovers it wasn't an issue. The sunbeds and umbrellas have to be paid for which it clearly states as you enter that area. The main thing we learnt was that as guests it is possible to "book" your sunbeds for the following day with the attendant, something which I wish we had known as the beach is very busy!!!
The resort is fantastic with lots going on and plenty people watching to do.
Loved it and would break my golden rule of not visiting the same place twice and would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My partner and I have recently returned from a two week holiday at this hotel having travelled with Thomson Holidays. And what a wonderful holiday it was!
In contrast to two previous recent reviews, we had a great welcome from all the staff at the hotel. From the porter who met us at the mini-bus transfer, the reception staff, barmen, restaurant staff, beach boys, and even the room cleaners always greeted us with a smile and hello. The " elder lady with wavy hair " was far from rude and ignorant as previously stated. She actually booked us in and was pleasant, charming and helpful, an experience that was repeated whenever we asked her or any of the other reception staff for help. Maybe it's the way that you speak to them?
Regarding the food, well breakfast was perfect with everything you could ask for. We also had no problems whatsoever with the evening meals. The two buffet nights per week were as good as any we have had anywhere else in the world, where we have stayed all inclusive. On the other nights there was always a choice of five starters, five mains and four desserts. If you couldn't find something you liked, then you must be extremely picky indeed. Remember, you aren't paying for fine dining, so don't expect it. Last year we stayed at the much vaunted Grand Hotel Nastro Azzuro in Sorrento, and believe me the Balcon easily matches them for food quality.
As for complaining about paying for the beach sunbeds.....well that is the case all over Spain on public beaches. If you don't want to pay, then do as the locals do and lie on a beach towel. This charge is clearly stated in the holiday brochures and online, so why anyone should be unaware of it I cannot understand. After all, if you hire a deckchair on a UK beach, then you have to pay. Again, how anyone can stay there for a week and not be aware that there is a swimming pool with free loungers is beyond a joke! There are photographs of the hotel facilites posted on every floor, and again in holiday brochures and online.
Finally, the six million dollar question....would we return? Absolutely....in fact we have just booked with Thomson to stay there next year and we can't wait. To all at the Balcon, thank you for making our stay so memorable and we look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room, it's well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just had a week at the Balcon and have to say everything was fine from the room to to the food. We didn't pay extra for the sea view as we couldn't justify the extra cost, money has gone towards another holiday in September! The food in the restaurant was cooked to a high standard and there was always a choice, it was cheaper for half board than bed and breakfast with our tour operator so that's why we chose that option. No problem getting the free beds by the pool although it doesn't open until 10am so that may be why the beds down by the beach are reserved pretty early. We booked with Jet 2 and it was advertised as suitable for couples so we presumed it was an adults only hotel but this was not the case and the day before we left a few children arrived and they were left unsupervised in the jacuzzi and filled the small pool with inflatables (the signs around the pool clearly stated not to do either) which meant a lot of the older people who had enjoyed quiet dips were not able to go in without being splashed. It certainly isn't a hotel where I would take children unless they spent the days on the beach as there is no space for them to run around by the pool. I have already recommended this hotel to friends and would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#5 Family Hotel in Nerja
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balcon de Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.