We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go back to this Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balcon de Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Balcon de Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Balcon de Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would not go back to this Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in the Balcon for a family wedding in June 2013. We requested a sea view when booking with our travel agent. On our arrival we were given our rooms on the ground floor. The
room had no balcony and no sea view, it had a small window and was looking onto a wall of a small courtyard, we asked the Manager to move us but he said that the hotel was fully booked and because we didnt pay extra for a seaview there was nothing he could do, we offered to pay
the additional cost but he refused to move us. My Father who is 90 was given a room that was
like a prison, it had a small window with bars on it and was so dark, it was looking out onto an alley and the Irish Bar, the noise at the weekends from the bar was awful and he experienced people coming from the bar shouting into his window, again they would not move him. Could not
fault hotel for cleanliness or location, breakfast was ok but evening meal was awful and staff were
not pleasant or helpful. Only helpful staff member was "Juan" the porter, he was a very happy and helpful person. Swimming pool area was very small and beds were too close to each other.
We would not be returning to this Hotel but would definetly return to Nerja.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    231
    85
    27
    18
See reviews for
76
417
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked this hotel for a ten day stay through Jet 2 holidays, paying for a sea view upgrade at extra cost. When we arrived at Nerja our minibus driver, who spoke little or no English had to be prompted to explain where we could find the hotel as it's around two hundred yards from the drop off point and out of sight. We found later that the hotel provides a porter service which elderly people would find useful.
The hotel is quite small and situated on a cliff overlooking the Med and a fairly rugged coastline which has a natural, mostly unspoiled, beauty.
Our room (803) was about average size with good wardrobe space, two three foot beds pushed together to form a double and a new large, flat screen tv attached to the wall and a free safe. There was a mini-bar in the room which could be had for 2 euros a day empty or the cost of refilling it if you used it but we passed on that as we had no need for it. A good point about the tv was that a lot of English channels were available including BBC news.
The bathroom was small but had an excellent walk-in shower and safety bath mat. They had also squeezed in, besides the usual bits, a bidet and a hairdryer which actually could dry hair.
The balcony was tiny. It had two excellent reclining chairs and a small table leaving very little room for anything else. Our sea view actually turned out to be a tree view with glimpses of the sea to the side. At first we were unhappy about this but we soon realised it was good for us as it acted as a sun shade whilst still letting in lots of light. We were able to spend much more time on our balcony than normal because of this.
The hotel was very clean and the maid kept our room spotless. The staff were courteous and friendly and always happy to help with problems.
One day our toilet stopped flushing. We contacted reception and within ten minutes the maintenance men arrived. Ten minutes later it had been repaired. No mess, no fuss. Excellent.
The dining room was quite small with pleasant sea views. The waiting staff were attentive and courteous.
Unfortunately, food quality and quantity did not come up to what we would expect from a four star hotel.
Breakfast was good with lots of fresh fruit, cold meats, cheeses etc. but evening meals, which were waiter service, were very disappointing, averaging between poor and not too bad. Not good enough for a hotel of this class.
The exception to this was on the two buffet nights we had, when the food quality and quantity improved tremendously. We actually ate out on two occasions because of the lack of choice on the menu del dia.
The food was the only problem we have with the hotel because we really enjoyed staying there. If we were to return we would book bed and breakfast and eat out at one of the numerous restaurants nearby.
Lunch time snacks are well catered for in Nerja. There are many restaurants and bars at the top of the parade ground in front of the hotel about one minutes walk away. Just to the right of the ice cream shops there is a shop selling pizza slices (large) for two euros, also ready made baguettes. However, for the best baguettes go a little further up the street and on the right hand side you'll find " ANAHI",a panateria-cum-café which sells baguettes made fresh to order and which we would highly recommend.
The general location of the hotel is kept clean by the local authority as is indeed the rest of the town. The "parade ground" in front of the hotel tends to get very busy but not usually noisy. Our balcony was a wonderful vantage point to watch all the activity that occurs. For instance, the children had a great time playing chase the pigeons, the accordion player murdered "Volare" and "Roll out the Barrel" on a fairly regular basis and the beggar woman based at the water feature at the shop end of the balcon( other beggars were available at various locations) kept the tourists entertained for some of the time, especially after a visit from the Policia Local. We mention this simply because Nerja is a small resort and there isn't a lot to do there, although we did find a pleasant pub, Lindas', opposite the Hotel Accaculpo Playa( looks like a wine rack), about ten minutes walk from the hotel.
Beer prices were about 3.5 euros per pint. Bacardi and coke about 5 euro (Spanish measure) and Scottish falling down water required a second mortgage.
Hope we haven't put you off. We had a really relaxing ten days in what is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

stayed in hotel balcon de Europa. room with sea view beautiful .aLL staff very friendly and helpful location perfect for restaurants and shops food was very good and buffet breakfast was nice with a great selection

Room Tip: was on sixth floor with sea view beautiful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013 and I could not fault the hotel for cleanliness, service or location. Food etc was top class. I would highly recommend this hotel and Nerja for a holiday or short break.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were very happy that we stayed eight nights at this hotel. Right in the centre of Nerja. Very comfortable room, 811, with a fabulous view. We stayed on a B&B basis, which we would recommend, as there are some great restaurants close by. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, choice, freshness and quality. It is a modern type hotel with an old fashioned feel. The stairs carpet reflects this and we think that carpet is past its prime. We had a wonderful time in Nerja.

Room Tip: Room 811 had a marvellous sea view and it was invigorating listening to the waves. Sea view rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed over New Year and will again. The hotel is alongside the Balcon de Europe and its outstanding views and adjacent to the town centre. No cars allowed so very quiet. Service was good throughout the hotel with nothing too much trouble. The party we had on New Years Eve was outstanding with staff getting involved. A lovely hotel in an amazing location

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the sea, so relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week in May 2013. Lovely hotel with an old fashioned air. Room was very comfortable and clean. Staff very helpful and polite. The choice at breakfast buffet was amazing. Three course served dinner was good and varied. The jacuzzi by the swimming pool had an amazing view and as the weather was a bit chilly, lovely to sit in. The sea and outdoor pool were too cold. Go for a level 8 or 9 room with a sea view and balcony. Lovely to wake up to the sound of the sea lapping in. Room service was a bit late some days. Toiletries replenished every day which would have been good to know beforehand. Good central position to explore the town and always plenty happening on the Balcon De Europa. We enjoyed making friends with the local cats that were very well fed and friendly. They seemed to be happy in the same position each day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#7 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balcon de Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.