We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting hotel, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balcon de Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Balcon de Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Balcon de Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Leeds
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Enchanting hotel, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

In terms of location, they don't come much better. Within a minute walking distance you have numerous restaurants, bars and ice cream shops. The rooms are about average size and very clean with a free safe (large enough for most things including a laptop) and free Wi-Fi. The twin beds were very wide and very comfortable with good qualify bedding. However...we were in room 203 overlooking the sea and it seemed ideal for a restful stay, what spoiled it was the totally inadequate soundproofing from the rooms on floor three and the restaurant on floor four above. Every time someone moved a chair or table in the restaurant we could hear it on the second floor. On one afternoon they were holding a function in the restaurant and the noise was very intrusive. I cannot imagine what it was like on the third floor directly under the restaurant. It would be totally unfair of me to mark down the quality of the rooms solely on this one issue as other rooms probably don't have the same problem. The layout of the hotel is a little unusual. There are 9 floors. You enter on floor six and the restaurant is on floor four so unlike many hotels some of the rooms are 'downstairs'. This hotel appears to be built into the cliff side and perhaps the solid rock foundations don't help the acoustics.
We were on a half-board basis and ate in the restaurant 6 days out of 7. The food quality was very mixed. Some days the food was good and reasonably hot, on others it was quite poor and many things were barely warm. If you don't eat fish and seafood the menu choices are somewhat limited. The breakfast, which is buffet style was also a little inconsistent with the bacon on two mornings doing a very good impression of boot leather. Again many of the items were barely warm although they did have a microwave in the restaurant for guest to use to warm up their food. Sorry, perhaps it's just me, but in a four star hotel I don't expect to have to warm up my food.
This was a difficult hotel to review. It has many good things going for it, the free safe, the free Wi-Fi, the quality of the beds and bedding and the location. On the whole the staff are friendly and helpful, with the exception of a couple of restaurant staff who were obviously living charisma transplant donors. Nerja itself is clearly suffering from the current financial meltdown. Many shops are closed and/or up for sale and there are many new buildings which are unfinished and on which work has clearly stopped. There is potentially a superb square in Nerja (where the museum is located) but it is unfinished with the front of all the shops just breeze blocks. However the Balcon de Europa square hasn't seemed to suffer in the same way with numerous restaurants and a lovely little church.
Would we stay there again? Probably but only if I could guarantee getting a room on the top floor away from the restaurant and if I could book on a room only or B&B.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 201 - 206 and 301 - 306. If you hire a car remember there is a 12 Euro per day/night par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    223
    80
    26
    18
See reviews for
75
395
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Once again chose this hotel for its location, reputation and its ease of access and facilities for my mother who struggles walking great distances. Wonderful hotel and wonderful service that's delivered in a quite and subtle way, that can only come from many years of experience of understanding guests needs. What strikes you about the hotel is the sense, its as much a golden oldie as many of its guests, who obviously have been drawn to it for the very same reason we were. Reception areas and dining areas are charming and elegant and hark back to 60's splendor. Rooms are large and obviously newly refurbished, lovely shower and very comfortable beds. We had two rooms one with sea view no balcony and one with sea view and balcony both lovely. We traveled third week of April and weather was 18-20 degrees each day which was just right and Nerja at that time is not too busy.
The hotel lift goes to all floors and right down to beach level which is wonderful for those who struggle with mobility and there is also another very nice restaurant right on the beach with good food and stunning views. Even before we arrived when our taxi driver rang ahead to see where was best to park the hotel arranged to send someone out with a chair to pick up my mother. On arrival they offered me a tour of three different rooms to see which i thought best for my mum, which was very thoughtful. We booked room and breakfast only as we wanted to eat out each night which we were happy with. Breakfasts were fine and cant comment on evening meals but found the restaurant on the beach very good. There is also a happy hour between 6-7 in the bar on the same floor as reception when cocktails are half price. Through the week we were treated to a free flamenco performance in the piano bar which was very good and took good advantage of the Jacuzzi on the 4th floor sun deck.
All in all very impressed and found no evidence to suggest as some reviews have that there are hidden charges for sunbeds, entrance onto the sun terrace ect ect.

Room Tip: go for sea view or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

we stayed at the balcon in march.the room we were given was beautiful,but we got the one which overlooked next doors heating unit.we asked if we could pay for an upgrade(rooms permitting) we were able to change rooms the next day.the room was every bit as lovely as the one we left,and had the best view in town.the one thing that really bugged us were the whingers who complained about the transfer to the hotal by mini bus, from being dropped of at the rui monica.please dont,it is a service, given free of charge by the hotel,so if the forward journey takes five or ten minutes more,so what. it is a small price to pay.a little wait is well worth it.

Room Tip: paying for an upgrade was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Balcon last week, and had a superb time. The staff couldn't be more helpful, although they're quite serious ( with 47% unemployment in Andalucia, no wonder!). It's an upside down hotel, with reception on floor 6, the restaurant on 4, and rooms 1-3 and 7-9. Ours was on floor 1, so almost on the beach, which was perfect. The restaurant below us, plus the area for sunbeds was immaculate, and private. Other beds were put on the beach for those who prefer the sand (grit!) to the mock grass, but the beach was so clean and tidy, the whole thing was fab. We did get fed up with the young Asian men and women who came far too often offering massages on the beach, but this is not a reflection on the hotel, as the beach itself is a public area and not owned or run by the hotel.

Our room was very well serviced, beds and linen spotless and very comfortable. A few English TV channels for those wishing to watch the news etc. The curtains are black-outs to avoid being woken at dawn by brilliant sunlight, a very good idea. However, no kettle for tea and coffee, so either take your own or go without - there is a mini-bar which would keep milk fresh. There's also a free safe for valuables, which you set with your own numbers. I disagree with the former comment that the balcony was a 'bit small'. Plenty of room for a table and 2 chairs and extra space.

The breakfast buffet is excellent, offering cereals, juices, yoghurts, fresh fruit, cheese, ham, pate, omelette, full English breakfast but with fried, scrambled and boiled eggs, a huge variety of bread for toasting, And the staff served drinks. All immaculate.

Our only slight moan was the dinner that went with half board. It was mediocre. Although priced at 19.50 euros for the 3 courses, when we asked if we could eat from the a la carte menu, they would only allow us 7 euros towards the cost, which seemed a bit unfair. Like a previous comment, we too chose the 'crab salad' which was crab sticks, which I do not eat at home, let alone abroad. The food was 2* at best and really should compete with the other restaurants within walking distance where you can get a 3-course 'menu del dia' for 9.50 euros and offers better choice, quality and value. And of course there are even better - and more expensive - restaurants around as well. We ate out 4 times out of the 7, and would definitely stay there again, but on a B&B basis (but Thomsons don't offer it so it'll be expensive I fear!).

We have been to Nerja once before and can't wait to go again next year!

Room Tip: If you love the sea, choose a room with sea-view and balcony. So quiet and to wake up and go to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in the best location in Nerja. The staff are friendly and helpful. Although the room was fine the balcony was a bit small however the views made up for this. The little beach was easy to access as was the pool area although this was compact and difficult to walk round once people had moved their sun beds. We went half board the breakfast which is buffet style had plenty oh choice and all freshly cooked. However the evening meal, although OK at times lacked choice ( nothing for vegetarians) was very bland, and les than adventurous! If we go back it would be on bed and breakfast. There are a great number of very good Tapas Bars and restaurants close buy that offer excellent food at very good prices

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great location, small beach to relax, and really really nice service

Sleeping to the sounds of waves was a real treat.

We didn't eat there, but did have a wonderful cocktail on their Balcon. They were so accommodating, always doing their best so that you have a nice stay

We called from the public parking, and they came to get us and our luggage and then took our car for us, to their own parking

Great place. Loved it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Hotel Balcon de Europa is a lovely, friendly, Spanish hotel. I stayed for a week over Easter with my husband and mother and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We were welcomed by the very friendly, knowledgeable Alberto who took all our luggage to our rooms. My room was not ready at the early hour that we checked in but this was not a problem as we could store our cases and we were in desperate need of food after an early start. We ate outside on the balcon at the hotel's snack bar. The food was lovely and the location superb.
We loved all aspects of the hotel. It had an old fashioned charm and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was lovely with a really good selection with a particularly appealing Spanish section which my mother and I really liked.
Dinner was less good but it was really relaxing to be served all three courses and many of the dishes were really nice especially the fish. The wine was also good and also good value for money.
The rooms were comfortable and well appointed but were rather warm so my husband had problems sleeping although the sound of the waves was really relaxing.
I will definitely be returning to this hotel. It was a relaxing break full of character.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#5 Family Hotel in Nerja
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balcon de Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.