We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balcon de Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Balcon de Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Balcon de Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Such a nice Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great location, small beach to relax, and really really nice service

Sleeping to the sounds of waves was a real treat.

We didn't eat there, but did have a wonderful cocktail on their Balcon. They were so accommodating, always doing their best so that you have a nice stay

We called from the public parking, and they came to get us and our luggage and then took our car for us, to their own parking

Great place. Loved it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    240
    86
    27
    18
See reviews for
78
429
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Hotel Balcon de Europa is a lovely, friendly, Spanish hotel. I stayed for a week over Easter with my husband and mother and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We were welcomed by the very friendly, knowledgeable Alberto who took all our luggage to our rooms. My room was not ready at the early hour that we checked in but this was not a problem as we could store our cases and we were in desperate need of food after an early start. We ate outside on the balcon at the hotel's snack bar. The food was lovely and the location superb.
We loved all aspects of the hotel. It had an old fashioned charm and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was lovely with a really good selection with a particularly appealing Spanish section which my mother and I really liked.
Dinner was less good but it was really relaxing to be served all three courses and many of the dishes were really nice especially the fish. The wine was also good and also good value for money.
The rooms were comfortable and well appointed but were rather warm so my husband had problems sleeping although the sound of the waves was really relaxing.
I will definitely be returning to this hotel. It was a relaxing break full of character.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claverton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in such a fantastic position in a beautiful town. We had a room at the front with spectacular views, it is well worth paying the supplement for a sea view. The room was comfortable and soacious, however, there was no kettle so bring your own if you want one. Good bathroom facilities with a great power shower, unlike the hair dryer which lacked power. We were able to sleep with the patio door slightly open, the sea noise is very evident.( Room 303)

Breakfast was really enjoyable with a good selection of choices, this, however, was not reflected in the evening choice. the meal in the evening is a set menu unlike the breakfast buffet, our most enjoyable evening meal was the evening buffet which takes place once a week. There are numerous good restaurants offering a great selection. The menu of the day proved to be excellent value and of good quality. We would return to this hotel but on a bed and breakfast basis.

A delightful town, in a good position to explore the area around.

Room Tip: Sea views are spectacular but could be noisy, sea noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We took a short break with a Jet2.com package flying from East Midlands to Malaga. It was our first time with Jet2 and they were every bit as good as any other local airline we have used. Staff went out of their way to be helpful both in the UK, on the aircraft and in Malaga.
The Hotel Balcon de Europa (we booked a suite) was very good - its well located right on the beach, it was very clean, the housekeeping was faultless and the food was excellent with good breakfasts (both continental and traditional) - dinners had about five choices for starter, main and sweets and an excellent wine list. We had booked half board (for some odd reason it was cheaper than B & B) and couldn't have been happier with the deal. Certainly had we booked the deal separately we couldn't have got anywhere near the package price (which incidentally included private transfers). And the weather (26th March 2013 to 31st March) was spot on. Plenty of entertainment locally as it was the week prior to Easter and the Spanish really go to town in preparation for Easter Sunday.

Room Tip: Suites look directly onto the sea and have a reasonable sized balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

my wife and I stayed at The Balcon last week in March and agree with most reviewers comments about the location(It is perfect),rooms and common areas (very clean),the Breakfast buffet (very good),Nerja (lovely).

The sole reason for only an average review is purely down to the evening meal which was,in our opinion,very poor indeed and we quite honestly expected better.Crab Salad with Crab Sticks??,Cheescake that was never in a million years a Cheesecake,Risotto that was just plain boiled rice with a spoonful of sauce poured in the middle,the most boring salad selections I have ever seen in Spain,(or elsewhere in Europe to be fair and that even includes us in England ) and an overall lack of imagination (or funds) from the kitchen.

Again, like many others, we would return but definately only on a B&B basis.

Room Tip: Book it but only B and B and its worth having balcony/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Always book my holidays with Thomsons. This is the first time i have been to a hotel with waiter service, i was not keen and would not do it again much prefer buffet. The menu choice was poor and all main dishes seem to be served with sauce, veg not exciting and barly cooked. Selection was not great on anything. Deserts very poor we ordered cheesecake which was like a bread pudding!!!!.
Location perfect.
I would go back to this hotel but only on a B&B basis.
Reception staff brilliant resturant staff never had much of a smile and no conversation!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel's location is probably one of its best features. Our room on the 2nd floor had a personal balcony with views to the sea and the private beach. Quiet and clean with plenty of space. Although slightly dated, it was clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have ever come across, with everything possible you could think of being offered....even Spanish Champagne!! The serving staff were very attentive, constantly clearing used plates and replenishing coffee/tea. The restaurant had views to the sea and private beach and in the warm/hot weather, the glass doors could be completely opened. There was a small outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi and plenty of roof top sun loungers to be found, as well as sun loungers on the private beach area. A step out of the reception area and you found yourself on the Balcon de Europa and instant access to the town centre with all its shops and restaurants.
Hotel staff spoke good English and were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms with views directly to the sea would be quieter than those overlooking the Balcon de Europa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#7 Family Hotel in Nerja
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balcon de Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.