We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really wheelchair friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balcon de Europa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Balcon de Europa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 hotels in Nerja
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not really wheelchair friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at The Balcon 1st - 8th March. In spite of informing the hotel and Thomsons that my husband was a wheelchair user and requesting an accessible room we were allocated a room with a shower accessed via the bath on 9th floor. The view from the room was of the air conditioning unit. We upgraded to a room with a walk in shower and a view of the balcon the next day at a cost of 25 euros per night. The weather was poor so we did not need to use the swimming pool which was up a couple of steps and would have been a struggle. The food was just okay; one night I ordered crab salad and was served crab sticks! The following night we dined out at 'Oliva' - fabulous food! Last year we stayed at Riu Monica but decided to stay at the Balcon for the waiter service and location. The staff at The Monica are more friendly and obliging and the food is better, although it is buffet service. There are no Thomsons reps at the Balcon and very little hotel information in the room. The Monica has more of a buzz about it, even though the entertainment was quite poor. There was no entertainment at The Balcon to speak of, we went into the piano bar one night and found it totally empty and walked out again. Luckily there are lots of good bars and restaurants to discover in Nerja and we met some lovely people there. I complained to Thomsons on our return with regard to the room to be told that Thomson do not have a contract for the 8th floor rooms (which are all walk in showers). Apparently we should have contacted the 24/7 helpline number who would have rung the hotel who might have taken pity on us and moved us to the 8th floor at no extra cost. Whatever!

Room Tip: Book a sea or balcon view and don't book through Thomsons if you need a walk in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    211
    75
    24
    16
See reviews for
66
365
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We returned on 12 Mar from our ninth visit to this hotel. Our sea view room on the fifth floor, was excellent, clean and quiet as it always has been. The corridors have carpet 'runners' so no high-heeled noise.

The food has always been variable, we have eaten dinner on only two occasions out of 63 possibilities, because the choice is uninspiring and bland. Breakfast selection is far better with a good choice of fresh fruit, joghurts nuts and dried fruit. The Manchego cheese, Serano ham and choice of breads is very good. The cooked items could be a lot better, but it is a decadent treat to have a Cava or Bucks Fizz and you can always ask Miguel to open a fresh bottle.

We have always found the staff very helpful, but if you have no Spanish like us, they may take a little time to become accustomed.
The situation of the sunbathing area at Nautico, (public) beach level is lovely, though the limited number of sunbeds means that it could be very congested at peak times
The seating and facilities inside the hotel, if the weather prevents outdoor activity, are limited.

The draw of this hotel is the location, near to the 'old town' and many interesting restaurants, with people watching, sitting under the trees on the Iglesias Carmen.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Came here Sunday.weather not great but expected this. Room 306 seaview. Superb! Dropped off at hotel Monica and walked here as we have been before. Lots of old haunts closed as season not kicked in. Went for dinner which was buffet for 1st nite only. Plenty choice, hot and cold. Food OK. Had note out. Quiet! St pats note. Ended up in Irish bar next door. Got busier but not crammed. Live music. Good! Breakfast next day good' plenty choices. Weather great. Beach day.waves crashing, super! No clouds, low 70s. Dinner OK! Not great but OK. Place full of older folk but lovely, pristine hotel very clean,rooms mod with flat screen TV with British channels. Following day, rained like hell!
Location of hotel is reason we selected it. The best in nerja! B&b would be best option if much cheaper than half board as the choice of food, even at this time of year is still good, with tapas free with most drinks in most bars or 1euro each which makes a varied note out. We will stay here again but b,b.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for a week, had a sea view room on 1st floor. Our balcony felt as though it was on the beach! Very quiet, the only noise at night being from the sea. Agree with other reviewers that the hotel's main selling point is its location, some other aspects were fine but could have been improved. Room spotlessly clean as indeed was the hotel in general, bed very comfortable. No problem with free wireless internet though this probably depends how many are using it at the same time. Plenty of choice for breakfast, we found the cold selection of meats, cheeses etc more appealing than the cooked. Good choice of pastries etc and also
Cava at breakfast, so bucks fizz or just plain sparkling wine! Coffee not the most exciting in the world but adequate. The dining room looks out over the sea, and with a front-line table the views were amazing. You sit at any free table, there is no fixed allocation, and the staff were happy to clear a front line one for you if people had just left.

Dinner was rather variable. Generally very good but on one occasion rather average though others who had chosen different things to eat were perfectly satisfied. We found the staff generally very accommodating and friendly though a little Spanish undoubtedly helped in that respect.

Location of the hotel on the Balcon, near the narrow streets of the old town, plenty of cafes, tapas bars, restaurants on the doorstep, hard to beat.

If this hotel were in a different resort we would definitely return. However, we didn't find Nerja as attractive as some other locations e.g. Balearics so probably won't be visiting again though this is no criticism of the hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying the small supplement for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXFORD UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just back from a week at Hotel Balcon de Europa in Nerja for my birthday with my husband. Couldn't fault it. The position of the hotel is brilliant with great views of the Med and the beach below. Definitely worth paying the extra for a balcony and sea view. Rooms are spotless, Staff very helpful. Beautiful breakfast restaurant with views of the Med. Breakfast buffet everything you could wish for - plus fizz for breakfast - how decadent! Lots of tapas bars within a short walk through the pedestranised streets. Will definitely return to Nerja and the Balcon.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice, each time for about 4 days. The location of this hotel is great, close to shops and restaurants, with magnificent views of the sea if you get a sea view room. The mattresses are great. The beach is small and despite appearances, it is not private. No beach in Spain is private. The sea view rooms are well sized and beautifully furnished. The breakfast is included and OK (not great), the coffee especially could use a lot of improvement. The internet service is weak and frequently cuts off. The front desk claims they don't know why. Despite being the most expensive hotel in town (by far), for their tiny sauna they actually charge 20 euros per person per hour. The room temperature is uncontrollable. Most of the clientele are older Brits. The staff are professional and efficient but unfriendly.

Room Tip: take a sea view room unless you are on a tight budget, in which case there are many other hotels wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from a two week trip to this hotel, which at this time of the year was frequented by mostly people over 60. Well its great if you like listening to other people’s conversations, listening to them use the loo or parading up and down corridors or in the rooms in their high heels as the walls are super thin. The weather was poor whilst we were in residence, which highlighted the fact that there is nohwhere comfortable to sit in your room. If you sit on the bed to watch tv or read, the bed skids across the marble floor as they are on castors. Similarly there are only a few comfortable chairs in the hotel lounges so they are taken quickly (like sun beds in reverse) but the lighting is so poor, it is hard to read anyway.

On the plus side there is UK tv in the rooms and plenty of hot water. The safe is free, but you have to pay for the fridge. The pool towels and beach sunbeds/parasols are free. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. There is a happy-hour from 5.30 to 6.30pm, but then again the cocktails seem watered and are expensive to start with. There are no receipts given for drinks bought on ‘tab’ so keep a running total as we nearly had an unhappy ending to our holiday due to charges imposed which did not belong to us.

The food is absolutely terrible. The hot food in the breakfast buffet is cold. The best bit is the fresh fruit and the choice of breads. At night, the menu del dia food tastes as if it was cooked three weeks ago and reheated again. It is bland and boring. For example, macaroni cheese is a big bowl of soggy pasta with some cheese sprinkled on top. It is hot though!

It is really all about location and this cannot be faulted. If you travel with Thompson’s though- be aware that this is clearly the poor man’s version of Rui Monica as this gets priority every time as far as the company is concerned. However if you want to sit and people watch, or listen to your neighbours' conversations, this is the hotel for you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#7 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balcon de Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.