We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for relaxing, fun, great food and excellent facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Nerja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Nerja to your Saves list
Parador de Nerja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Almunecar 8, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Letchworth Garden City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location for relaxing, fun, great food and excellent facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was our second visit to this Parador and it was just as good as last year. Accommodation was excellent and served with good sized bathroom with separate toilet/bidet, twin large beds, mini-fridge and large balcony with large sunshade.
Mix this with great breakfast selection, and excellent restaurant/cafe(with tapas). Pool/sunbathing towels provided to relax on a really quiet grass and trees area leading to the edge of the cliff overlooking the beach and sea. Adequate pool for serious swimmers and games players.
Add some sunshine and a stack of books and you cant go wrong.
PS. Go down the private lift to the beach and try the real Paella place or grilled sardines; very good value.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms facing the sea are excellent for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    181
    40
    5
    3
See reviews for
71
286
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We made a flying visit to Nerja for a weekend in January, staying at the Nerja Parador because of its great location between Burriana beach and the town centre. The hotel while not being as attractive a building as other Paradors (often old castles and stately homes) is in a great location on a cliff overlooking the beach and with a private lift which takes you straight down to the promenade. Rooms are spacious and cool with private balconies and good facilities. Our standard room on a higher floor was fine, but I would recommend the ground floor room we had when we stayed here a few years ago, which includes its own outdoor terrace area in the pretty gardens and a very spacious Jacuzzi bath. We did not eat at the hotel apart from breakfast which was an interesting Spanish take on a buffet - lots of unusual cold meats, pates and cheeses along with standard breakfast fare. Staff were welcoming and efficient and our stay was hassle free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in November. We ordered a room with seaview and we did not regret. Breakfast is really good and we recomend it. The hotel should have better beds. Go to Ikea and buy some that are softer. The other thing that is strange is that the svimming pool closes the first of September. It should be open when the weather is fine and this autumn it should be open until the middle of November.

Room Tip: buy one with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

spent 9 nights here after a bad experience at another local hotel.
The best yet, not cheap but you get what you pay for, ( even though the air con. wasn't very good ) We will not go anywhere else in Nerja now.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a pearl. Great view, Just lobely garden. The kiutchen does an excellent job. The rooms are not so great, the bed not really comfortable, and the AC doesn't work (at least in our room). The biggest problem for our working holiday was the Wifi. It worked a few days and then went down. The staff was unable to handle the problem and the wifi was after that sometimes working in the reception are. The worst was that the staff tried to tell us and out clients and that our devices were deficient when the problem obviously was that the didn't know how to gret the router back to life. "We may have to call Madrid..." was a comment that says a lot....

Room Tip: seaview is a must ! We stayed on 3rd floor and I guess that is the best floor, best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Some of our favourite stays in Spain have been at Paradors. Jaen, Siguenza, Lerma come to mind. All restored old buildings and full of atmosphere. On my third visit somehow Nerja doesn't quite make it to the very top - maybe it's the price.

The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, with nice views whilst the staff are courteous and professional. Whilst we were there (3 nights- room only) the sea was warm and calm with sunny skies so we used the lift to spend our days on Playa Burriana with breakfasts and long lunches at Ayo. Most of our fellow guests, it seemed, relaxed in the Parador's excellent gardens and pool and maybe that's the way to get best value.

We found our first room (325) a tad noisy but were moved seamlessly to another without fuss. One small gripe - they charge for parking now although as an Amigo member we got a 50% discount.

Nerja is fun with some nice restaurants up on Plaza la Marina and a perfect jumping off point for Malaga Airport. Would we syay at the Parador again? Yes.....if we were feeling flush!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have never been to Raffles Hotel but I imagine it is rather like this fantastic borehole. Charming beyond belief, it is set in lush gardens atop a cliff to the side of Nerja town. There's a lift down the cliff to the beach with restaurants, bars and shops. The hotel is immaculately maintained and spotless. The staff are wonderful, friendly and super attentive. The food is divine. We will be back.

I wish I could the same about the town of Nerja. Our first visit was very disappointing but it wouldn't stop me coming back to this amazing hotel.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Full sea view essential 229, 230 or 231 the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Nerja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Nerja

Address: C/ Almunecar 8, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 Family Hotel in Nerja
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Nerja 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parador de Nerja sits on a cliff above the sea on the Malaga coast, amidst wonderful beaches. As you surely know, in Nerja, summer is blue, adventurous and welcoming. The hotel will greet you with a magnificent garden in which the greenery contrasts with the blue of the swimming pool. The bright, spacious interior is very comfortable and almost all of the guest rooms have balconies facing the sea. The superior rooms offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean, the Sierra Almijara mountains and the lovely cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Escapio, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador de Nerja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Nerja Hotel Nerja
Parador Nerja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Nerja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.