We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parador not Paradise” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Nerja

Save Saved
You added Parador de Nerja to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Nerja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Almunecar 8, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 38 hotels in Nerja
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Parador not Paradise”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Location,location,location.Superb location with ample free parking space.Ecellent grounds overlooking the beach and with lift access.And now the rest of my review.Average food which is very expensive and tired rooms.My main gripe is that the reception staff i met were lacking in not having any personality,unhelpful and rude.I do expect happy staff who appear to enjoy their job which is to look after and help visitors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    141
    31
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
236
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
madrid
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I'd recommend this hotel for someone looking for a peaceful location by the sea in Nerja. It was lovely, The staff were great, rooms and facilities good. The breakfast buffet was very good. it was a very decent 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just been in Nerja Spain, The Parador Hotel was well above expectaions. The hotel have a lovely garden set up with a view of a beach and the sea. Apart from a couple of grey days the weather picked up and the holiday was great. The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. We only ate there one night which was ok. We hade lunch most days and this was really good, especially the Tapas we had. Again with a seaview to go it could not be faulted.

Room Tip: We requested Seaview and we got a 2nd floor room, next time I think we should ask for top floor seav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A great hotel in prime location, just an elevator away from the beach and a short walk to the town centre. Great views from hotel room balcony. Could see the lights on coast of North Africa at night. Breakfast very good with great views of the med. This hotel was spotlessly clean with great staff who were polite and courteous and who could'nt do enough for their guests. A bit expensive though.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view and overlooking the Med. with a double bed and not two singles pushed togeth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Well located in a prime location with great views over the Mediterranean. We found the hotel relaxing and comfortable. The staff were both attentive and friendly and made for a pleasant stay.

We spent only one night at this Parador and for dinner we choose the 'Menu de Degustacion' this turned out to be a good choice, with excellent wines...

In conclusion, an above average Parador experience...

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Parador de Nerja for 1 night at the end of a villa holiday and will definitely go back next year for a longer stay. The gardens, huge pool and views are spectacular and the lift down to the beach a real bonus, especially on the way back up, after 2 helpings of Ajo's paella at lunchtime!!

Yes, the hotel is a little old-fashioned, but that includes the service, which is excellent and so rare these days. We had a standard room, with very comfy bed, plenty of room, a big balcony with sunshine most of the day and everything was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the vast expanse of sea was a real highlight, with a fantastic choice of high quality food, very good service and the sort of coffee you always want, but very rarely get.

Thank you to the team at Nerja Parador who make this a very special hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was exactly what we were looking for after the end of our 2 weeks in Southern Spain. We arrived at 3 pm and were given one of the larger rooms with a spacious balcony. It felt like a more private area of the Parador. We especially liked the option to lay out in the grass overlooking the sea or take the private, guest only elevator down to the beach. The breakfast is outstanding at this Parador and included in some special rates.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador de Nerja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Nerja

Address: C/ Almunecar 8, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#4 Family Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Nerja 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parador de Nerja sits on a cliff above the sea on the Málaga coast, amidst wonderful beaches. As you surely know, in Nerja, summer is blue, adventurous and welcoming. The hotel will greet you with a magnificent garden in which the greenery contrasts with the blue of the swimming pool. The bright, spacious interior is very comfortable and almost all of the guest rooms have balconies facing the sea. The superior rooms offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean, the Sierra Almijara mountains and the lovely cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parador de Nerja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Nerja Hotel Nerja
Parador Nerja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Nerja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.