We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated hotel in lovely quiet village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playamaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Playamaro to your Saves list
Hotel Playamaro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Miguel 28 | Maro, 29787 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Understated hotel in lovely quiet village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just came back yesterday from 5 days in hotel. This village is a little gem only 3 kilometres from Nerja but another world from the hustle and bustle. Lovely beach, well stocked shops and good local bars and restaurants. Hotel clean, staff friendly and a relaxed atmosphere. Only down point was no fridge or tea and coffee facilities in room. I would go again if I was staying in the area.

Room Tip: I would go for the more expensive rooms - I went for basic but a little more spent would be worth wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    23
    8
    17
See reviews for
15
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the end of June for a week, as a solo traveller.
I felt very safe in the hotel and the whole area.
The buses to Nerja leave from the roundabout a couple mins walk from the hotel.
Nerja is lovely. It was a lot bigger than I had anticipated, but a very nice resort. Most of the tourists were Spanish. Lovely beaches and the Balcon de Europa is beautiful.
As a single female traveler I had no problems at all, and found all the locals to be very respectful and helpful.
The restaurant staff are friendly, and the ladies at the reception desk speak good English.
My only downside to the hotel is that it is built in a style where the ground floor is a type of courtyard with balconies going around it on the upper floors. This meant that every little sound was amplified and echoed through the building. The cleaning staff arrive at 730 am and bang every door possible as loud as they can. Take earplugs if you want a lie in. That is my only gripe about the hotel though.
The half board option was excellent value as it was 3 courses in the evening. I don't eat meat so ended up most nights with an option of a mixed salad, followed by a fish dish and a dessert. The food was fine. Swordfish steaks, green beans and sauteed potatoes as an example. The portions were good and the food was very tasty.Breakfast was a buffet of toast, bread rolls, cheese slices, ham, oranges, apples, cereal, mini croissants, and mini muffins. There were lots of teas, coffee and orange juice. Plenty of choice. Anybody on here who has complained about the food should stay in a 5* hotel. For what I paid for the holiday I think it was very good value.
The bedrooms are big and I had a lovely big balcony terrace with sea views.
If you want to be at the heart of a resort this is not the place for you, it is in a tiny, very quiet village. Perfect for a solo traveller like me.
I would stay there again (with earplugs hahaha). It was nice to go out in the day and then return to a peaceful atmosphere. There is a small village shop and a couple of restaurants in the village but nothing else.
Cleanliness wise I could not fault it at all and that is unusual. Your room and balcony is cleaned every day and your bed gets made up for you also, giving it that nice feeling when you return after a day out. A very clean hotel :)
An ideal get away from it all hotel with friendly staff. I recommend this hotel :)

Room Tip: choose a room NOT on the ground floor to reduce noise from cleaners in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is located in Maro which is several km east of Nerja. If you are looking for some where quiet, away from the foreign tourists and are not interested in going to the beach, this maybe the place to stay. Value for money, the hotel was great. We had a suite with kitchen, living room, separate bedroom and a large patio that faced south. Very good value for the money. Breakfast is included and lunch and dinner were fine. The Maro beach is fairly deserted, a 5 minute drive from the hotel and at the bottom of an easily accessible cliff. There is a bar and beach restaurant.

Room Tip: As for a room with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Had a great time in Nerja last Sept but unfortunately the hotel was not part of the lovely experience. Firstly the position of this hotel is not in Nerja at all, it is actually in Maro a tiny place near the cueva de nerja. Most sites promote it as Nerja (with Travel Supermarket actually placing it on false position on the map). Maro is pleasant Spanish town but it is extremely sleepy and quite a contrast to what you look for by booking to visit Nerja. Shops open pretty much when they want and apart from them and two small bars there is not a lot else around. You can get a bus but these finish around 8pm and after that it is about €10 taxi to Nerja. Despite reception telling us it is a 20 min walk it takes well over an hour...

The hotel its self is clean and adequate enough but the staff and facilities were a problem. The pool was closed the whole time despite it being 32o outside (we were not informed of this at all before we got there and actually booked based on it having a pool and there being pictures on the site). We also had problems with the air con, and went three nights of the 7 with no air con – after being told twice it was fixed we had to move to a room half the size.

The major irony of the hotel is the name as the beach is actually really difficult to get to. It is down a dirt track and there are no facilities or shops/cafes, it is a local unkept beach. The other regular beach is a 30 min walk in the same direction.

Room Tip: It was also promoted as self catering – this was not the case it was room only with no fridge, so at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We booked this hotel on alpha rooms a few weeks before going. We were looking for a cheap week in the sun and only paid £235 for the room. I didnt read the reviews on trip advisor before booking (thankfully). After booking I read them and was worried about what we were going to be in for. We booked bed and breakfast so we expected to have a bedroom and bathroom. When we got to the room we found we had twin bedroom, lounge, small kitchen and a bathroom. I can only assume this was one of the self catering apartments. The lounge was air conditioned which was great as it was very hot when we were there. The room was cleaned well every day and the towels changed every day. Breakfast was as I had expected it to be. Ceriels, bread rolls, cheese, salami, ham, jucies, fresh fruit, jams etc and of course lots of tea and coffee. It was served from 8.30 til 10.30. The staff didnt speak very much english but it didnt cause any problems. The staff were all very pleasant and very polite with a smile and a welcome every time we came into the hotel. Having read some of the bad reviews here it makes me wonder what some people expect for very little money!!!!! All in all we found Playamaro VERY GOOD VALUE for the money and would DEFFO stay again. Thanks for a great time to Playamaro!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Playamaro and it was a lovely relaxing few days in a lovey, old fashioned part of Southern Spain. The village itself, Maro, has beautiful, small streets and is quiet with wonderful whitewashed buildings, hardly any tourists and all Spanish and French. The staff didn't speak much English so it was an opportunity to try to speak some Spanish.
The closest beach there was a long, difficult walk, especially coming back uphill in the burning heat. The small hotel pool was closed for the season, which seemed ridiculous in August. We did use the sunbeds on a couple of occasions but the other rooftop facilities were closed too.
There weren't many restaurants in Maro, so we went into Nerja. The taxi was 8/9 euros and the drivers were friendly. We weren't aware of a local bus service as the information we received from the hotel was limited.
We really liked Nerja also and would stay there if we went back, there are plenty of nice quiet places to stay there too.
We stayed in one of the apartment rooms which had twin beds and a bathroom. The room was clean and maids came every day. We expected the room to have a kitchen but it didn't. It did not even have a fridge but they put one in when we asked them. Neither did we have a balcony or terrace.
We were B & B and it was very good, the typical cereal, toast, rolls, cheese, ham, yoghurts, fruit etc so plenty of choice and good time between 8.30am-10.30am!
The staff were friendly and very helpful.
We might consider staying there again if we had a car and the pool was open. We loved the area and Nerja very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We booked on a self catering basis and expected to have a basic kitchen to prepare food. When we arrived we had a twin room. We were told none of thier rooms were furnished with kitchens.
We had a good deal for a weeks accommodation and the room was cleaned to a good standard each day. The room was a little small but had good air conditioning which was essential for the August temperatures.
The staff were friendly and will accomodate luggage on your last day if you have a later flight.
Maro itself is a quiet village but you can easily get a bus to Nerja , although do get a timetable as they seem to be a bit erratic. A taxi back from Nerja cost us about 8 Euro's .
Maro has some lovely beaches nearby and some lovely coves to be found if you fancy a long walk off the beaten track. Friglianna is also worth a visit.
I would recommend this holiday for couples and people looking for a quiet holiday in a relaxing spanish village. It is not however suitable for people with mobility issues as there is a lot of walking to get the bus and to beaches etc.
Our Spanish is very limited and we wished we had learn't more as there were very few english people in Maro and local's spoke limited english.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playamaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playamaro

Address: San Miguel 28 | Maro, 29787 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playamaro 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Playamaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playamaro Hotel Nerja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playamaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.