We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos El Capistrano Villages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos El Capistrano Villages to your Saves list
Apartamentos El Capistrano Villages
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Urb. El Capistrano Village | Local 5 - Centro Comercial, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Nerja
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

On arrival, none of the four receptions had any record of our booking. Eventually, we were moved to an apartment in a neighbouring town of Torrox, with the reception manager bluntly informing us that "we only normally use this place in emergencies! ". We were told we would have a private pool...this was a lie! It also turned out that the apartment we were put up in, was actually for sale...on the monday of our holiday, we had three seperate couples viewing the apartment we were staying in. it would appear we were put out in this apartment and forgotten about...not once did we have a visit from a cleaner or receive fresh bed linen or towels. The washing machine flooded the apartment, and as we were about 10km from reception, and nobody gave me a contact number, I had to clear it up with no assistance. when I informed the staff of this on check out, I was simply met with an "ok"...no apologies etc. The customer service, or lack of it, from the staff is truly shocking. All in all, the worst place I have ever had the misfortune of staying in.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    66
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
58
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at the Capistrano village for 5 nights with my boyfriend at the beginning of October 2013. Having read all the reviews I was a little wary but it looked like a beautiful place and really, it was. When we arrived at ten past 2 in the afternoon it was closed till 4 which was pretty annoying after going up a fairly steep small hill in the heat! And I was glad that the others reviews told me that it's actually 'Capistrano Village' as I had booked Capistrano Sur' so that would have been confusing.
We were greeted by a lovely friendly man called Sammy who gave us a map and led us to our lovely apartment, with it's own garden which was beautiful! Old fashioned but nice little apartment. Two fans were provided so that was great as it's terribly hot at night(even with the fan) but at least that lessened it to an extent.
We were allowed access to both pools, the smaller quiet one was my favourite. However the loungers were tied up and could not be used as the bar was closed there. It didn't really bother me as there's a grass area to lie on (lots of flies though) though I don't think people should have to pay for loungers. A long enough but lovely walk in and out of town, we only took taxis on the late nights out at a cost of seven euro. All in all a lovely stay and I would go back.

Pros:
-Beautiful place
-Nice apartment (though we were lucky to be at the main road and not up the hill)
-Lovely pool area
-Nice walk into Nerja
-Supermarket on site and laundry I think but I never used that
-Bus stop right outside is the one that goes from the caves to Malaga so very handy

Cons:
-Someone came by once and turned on sprinklers in our garden but we never had and housekeeping
-Full roll of toilet paper provided which did us but if you're there a week bring your own
-Kettle was on the hob which takes ages and I'm a tea lover so that was disappointing

Room Tip: If you are old/unfit try to get a place near the road, basically anything that doesn't require c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Unfortunately, my sister and I had already booked to come to these apartments prior to reading the reviews, although at that stage it would have cost more to change accommodation and decided we would ignore other people's opinions and deal with whatever awaited when we arrived!

We arrived into Malaga around 21:15 and had pre-booked private taxi transfer. Our holiday voucher gave an address of El Capistrano Village, 29780 Nerja, which is what we quoted when making arrangements for the taxi.

We arrived at the village and the taxi pulled up outside a sign which pointed to reception and basically said this was end of journey. There we were, me, sister and my 78 year old mother, suitcases in tow, looking at the steep hill below and upwards. Anyhow we followed signs to the reception, although there are three different companies operating here, but it didn't make any difference as they all closed at 8.00 p.m. The sign on the door said keys had to be collected from the Nerja Club Hotel. As we had only just arrived and no-one around we thought what the hell do we do now! I remembered reading about the cave bar and saw a sign pointing to its location. I went into the bar and asked a english couple if they could help. One of the guys popped out to show us and we realised that we had probably passed it when in the taxi!! We decided to go to the hotel together in case we had to produce passports etc., but when we arrived a rather bullish guy passed us an envelope and said there was a map and keys in there and basically we were on our own!

Inside was a tiny map with arrows pointing the way, but the whole area is so dimly lit you could just about see it! As we made our way back up the hill towards reception there was a big map of the complex lit up. We took a look and guessed our accommodation was right at the very top of the village! So we all trudged up the hill with suitcases, mother doing her best to keep up. We reached the top looking for the name on the envelope and the number 24B. To cut a very long story short, we were still nowhere near to finding our lodgings 2 1/2 hours later. We roamed all over the place in the rain! There was an emergency number in the envelope which i called, but the guy couldn't speak english so couldn't make him understand. We decided to walk back to reception. I then went back to the cave bar where the same guy was still there, He very kindly looked at the address on the envelope and said that San Juan wasnt the name of the villa, but another complex, a taxi ride away! He phoned for a cab and made sure the driver knew where to take us. We finally arrived at our accommodation only to find we had been allocated a two bed, not three! It got sorted out the following day and error down to the booking agent.

Note, it is very hilly, we had to take a taxi every time we went down to beach or centgre - 7 euros each way. The apartments are only cleaned once weekly and towels halfway through your holiday. You have to provide toilet roll, there is only roll in the bathroom when you arrive! You are responsible for emptying kitchen/toilet bin and bottles. Swimming pool area didnt open until 11.00 a.m., although you can gain access to the pool but not sunbeds. These are chained until the lifeguard arrives at 11 and cost 3.5 euros each, per day. You also have to pay a 20 euro deposit for a swimming pool pass, which you get returned when you check out. I will say the snack bars around the pool area serve very good food, also the cave bar is excellent, so don't have any complaints in that respect.

Note check out time is 10.30 - we were lucky that our room wasn't allocated later, so we were able to keep it on to shower etc until taxi pick up at 5.00 p.m.

If you arrive in the day time Nicosol (booking agent) will show/take you to the accommodation, so take heed arrive before reception closes at 8.00 p.m. Would i go back, no, probably would have been better to visit for the day! Depends what you are looking for and type of holiday you enjoy. A lot of people here owned property or had it as a time share, and had a car!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Me and my boyfriend have recently returned from a week away staying in a 2 bed apartment in the El Sur Capistrano Villages, Nerja.

Positives:
- Lovely pool area
- Practical apartment, everything we needed and was clean (included washing machine, fridge freezer, mini oven ect)
- Spacious balcony
- La Cueva (Cave bar below apartment) was cosy and a great place to spend evenings
- Quiet Location
- Shop on site and larger supermarket very close by
- Resurant on site, although never ate there
- Had some issues regarding broken items in apartment but once reported were fixed within a few hours
- Pleasant 20 minute walk to town centre.
- Cheap and cheerful pool bar

Negative:
- Apartment a little outdated
- Have to pay 3.5 euros for a sunbed at pool area
- 20 minutes walk to beach and busier bars and restaurants which is down hill on way there which is fine, but walking up the steep hill on returning is very uncomfortable in the hot climate
- Not much to do within immediate area, would have preferred to stay closer to town or beach
- Sheets were not changed


TIP - PRE BOOK AIRPORT TRANSFERS WHICH IS 70 EUROS AS WILL END UP PAYING AROUND 110 EUROS FOR STANDARD TAXI.

Would stay again if wanting a quiet, relaxing, basic holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was a family holiday with my dad and my 15 year old sister. All i can say is that the place was very average, i haven't really got anything bad to say about the place but then again i don't have anything amazing to say.The main town is quite far away and we had to get a taxi there and back which was definitely a down fall. The staff were mainly polite, everyone spoke pretty good English. The pool area was nice but you had to pay to rent a sunbed every day. The room itself was very cute and there was a food shop on the premises as well as a cafe and 2 bars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment with hubby and two girls and were really wowed by the terrace and views! Sensational. It may be hit or miss going by some of the other reviews but our own apartment was superb; full seating area, sunbeds, dining table for 6 and shower and that was just the balcony! Inside was a modern kitchen, bathroom, furniture and although there was no a/c there were ceiling fans and all windows were security barred so they could be left open to benefit from the hillside breeze. The onsite pool and cafe was family run and very friendly, great for the girls to practice their Spanish. We visited most afternoons after various excursions for a dip and bite to eat. A pleasant (though steep) walk through lovely gardens to a fab beach with loads of tapas bars and restaurants, children's play equipment and sunbeds. A pleasant stroll along the beach and up some stairs and you're in the centre of Nerja a very quaint and lovely town. We did have a car so could visit beautiful Frigiliana and a very family friendly water park in Amunecar. The whole area is stunning and ideal for a family holiday. If you're looking for wild nightlife and want all the action on your doorstep this is probably not for you, but if you are mobile and/or hire a car you'll have a wonderful time. As mentioned by others there are several sites as part of the complex and checkin for all sites seemed to be in the Capistrano Village which was difficult to navigate but really worth it. From what we saw Capistrano Playa is the best located of the 4.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times and the last two years in the same apartment, the pool is beautiful and the kids love it, though look oit for the jobs worth security/life guard. The Cave Bar is great for food though very small and hard to get a seat. The location for us is perfect and not far from the town or local hotels when walking or getting the bus. The Complex on the whole is well kept and very clean with a nice choice of bars etc, well worth coming again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos El Capistrano Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos El Capistrano Villages

Address: Urb. El Capistrano Village | Local 5 - Centro Comercial, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos El Capistrano Villages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartamentos El Capistrano®, in Nerja, Costa del Sol, registered with the Andalucian Tourism Department (under nºA/ MA/00740)The villages El Capistrano Villages® look like typical Andalucian villages, where the white houses, the narrow pedestrian streets and the well kept gardens, convert those in the ideal place to spend nice and quite holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartamentos El Capistrano Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos El Capistrano Villages Hotel Nerja
Capistrano Nerja
Capistrano Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos El Capistrano Villages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.