We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Bonita

Maria Bonita
Avenida Castilla Perez, 21 | Plaza de los Cangrejos, 29780 Nerja, Spain
952520213
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 326 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We ate here twice during a recent stay. Food was very tasty, well presented and reasonable value. I'd recommend trying the BBQ meats ( 15 euro), and the house Cava was also really good. They also have a bouncy castle, and children's menu which the kids loved.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    51
    12
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great food - reasonable prices.
Remember to book a table - if you don´t want to wait :-)
I can recommend the paella

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food, well presented in a relaxed environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had always gone to a different restaurant close by but someone recommended us this place to try so we gave it a go!

It early evening so we were the first people seated, the lady who helped us was very friendly and contributed to a relaxed atmosphere that was inviting and far from stuffy. Seating was comfortable and clean and the whole restaurant was well presented. The menu was extensive with lots to choose from but not too much that you felt confused. We opted for the Fillet Steak & Cajun Chicken. The meat was cooked to perfection and a high quality. The presentation and extras on the plate was what made this place special for us with the different vegetables (and fruit) complementing the meal perfectly. We drank whiskey and coke (maybe too many) and the measures where LARGE, certainly contributed to a good night ;-)

We squeezed in some Banoffee Pie that was more like ice cream with a biscuit base and bananas on the side. No caramel so bit disappointed but was still tasty and very big.

We paid 60 Euros with a few rounds of drinks so not to expensive considering the high quality.

We will definitely be back again and if they are consistent this may well turn into a favourite!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This restaurant is lovely. Near the sea front so a delight to sit outside and enjoy the view and a breeze. The food is excellent. We went twice in July and were all tempted to order the same as our first visit because we had enjoyed it so much.

Portion sizes are generous. Salads, especially the Hawaiian are a work of art. Puddings are a tasty indulgence. The salmon steaks were especially delicious.

Some of the reviews here have obviously confused this restaurant with another place - one poor review describing it as just up from Burriana Beach. It isn't. It is near the Riu Monica.

Reservations are recommended. When we were there in July we saw a number of disappointed people poling up and expecting to eat on the terrace and quite a queue too waiting for tables. Some customers were quite rude if they couldn't be accommodated. The staff however made no attempts to hurry us along just because there were queues, which was nice. We have been hurried out of other places when here is an opportunity to squeeze in more covers.

On our second visit we were given delicious mini margueritas after our meal. A lovely change from the ubiquitous limoncello.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A must visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were on holiday in Nerja in early June and visited Maria Bonita's, The food was amazing, the presentation and quality were some of the best we had eaten all holiday. There were no seats outside which really doesn't bother us as we like to eat inside in the evening. For the price it is really good value. But go early or pre book!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Bonita also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Maria Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Bonita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.