We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable quick lunch and wonderful view, suntan in December . . . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino

Portofino
C Puerta del Mar 2, 29780 Nerja, Spain
952 524 197
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 290 restaurants in Nerja
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Affordable quick lunch and wonderful view, suntan in December . . . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We just had salad Nicoise and Foccacia between the two of us. They were happy with our samll order and we didn't feel under pressure to get more. Anyway, the bread also came with salami and Manchego - just what we wanted, a quick lunch to share. We sat on the terrace and wished we had time to go for a walk on the empty sunny beautiful beach. Afterwards we realised that we'd almost got a tiny tiny touch of a suntan - happy days!
PS The espresso was GOOD.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    30
    32
    20
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food but a shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This place has always been a good place to enjoy a cold drink or a bite to bite. The pizza are fantastic and also the club sandwiches. Everytime I have been here unfortunately the service hasn't been that great and a bit cold which is a shame because the restaurant is lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food that melts in your mouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Wonderful Italian food with friendly staff and amazing views. Even had options for those not interested in pasta or pizza.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A leisurely lunch spot, with a wonderful view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We tried this spot when looking for a lunch one day and returned as it was so good. We sat on the terrace perched on the cliff overlooking the Balcon and beach. The food was lovely, freshly prepared and tasty, the drinks were cold and refreshing and service was excellent, attentive not rushed. We especially liked this duck salad, hot crispy duck on a bed of greens with dried apple and a scrumptious dressing - yum. The pasta was well prepared with an excellent range of sauces. Enjoyed everything we tried. There was a quiet buzz about the place we liked.
We are still surprised that smoking is a norm in restaurant and cafe outside spaces, there you go!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant views, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for a light lunch and had the prawn ceasar salad and a nicoise salad, both were top quality and the view was stunning. We were well looked after and no complaints at all.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.