We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mena Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mena Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Mena Plaza
Plaza de Espana, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here for three nights, last week. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, there are 'no frills' but this is not a complaint. Television has both BBC1 and ITV a bonus for UK travellers. The breakfast which is included in the price is very appealing, probably the equivalent of 15 Euro mimimum for a couple.When booking could be useful to request a terrace overlooking the square as some rooms are at the back with little outlook. The rooftop pool is small and probably only suitable for a couple of hours, not somewhere to spend all day, but again perfectly adequate. Location could not be better, about a two minute walk from the square near the balcon de europa perfect for some 'people watching' while enjoying coffee or tapas.

Room Tip: request a terrace overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    64
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
100
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for a week whilst my sister was getting married in Nerja, and had reviewed this hotel thoroughly - had known not to expect a bar area as such, and that the breakfast wasn't 5* or maybe even 4* - other than these, we had a great time. The location really could not be better - looking out over a huge square (was a quiet area - no shops or venders etc on this square, so it really was tranquil). Just a short, short stroll to the centre area of nerja (note short - I must point out that I am not the biggest fan of walking so it really is very close). Staff were great - very helpful with directions, advises,storing luggage, getting the iron/ironing board etc (did not have an iron in the room we were staying). Went up to the roof for a quick look at the pool - not awesome, but was irrelevent to us anyhow. Bars, restaurants are really close - we had wanted a quiet area with close access to bars (irish bar just 200m away - well it had some flags anyhow!),restaurants, and were very happy with our choice. We're 29 & 40, but think this hotel would suit all ages, because of its location etc

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed in Mena Plaza in Sep for a week and the hotel lived up to its previous good reviews.The location is ideal just off the balcon de europe with restaurants and bars within walking distance.The room was clean with air conditioning & modern flatscreen tv and a double bed which was comfortable. bathroom was good size with good shower.The breakfast buffet was the same everyday which was a pity.This hotel is a 2* and was good value for that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Recently got married in Nerja and decided to base ourselves in the Mena Plaza Hotel for most of it mainly due to the fact that it is located right beside the Church and the Balcon De Europa. Most of our 65 guests also decided to book here so we had the hotel well packed out.
I have to say everything was pretty much perfect about the place, reception staff were very friendly and most helpful, the place was spotless and housekeeping were top notch. Some other reviews have complained about the thin walls but having stayed in other hotels in Nerja I have to say that the Mena Plaza was probably the quietest as it is located in a square just off the main strip away from all of the busy bars.
Breakfast was nice and some days alot of the group lazed around the pool taking in the fantastic views while having a few beers which they got at reception.
I was obviously not in the hotel at the time but on the morning of the wedding the reception staff sent up a bottle of champagne to my wife to be and they were very accomodating to all the hair and make-up people who came to the hotel to get some of the ladies ready for the day.
The fridge in the hotel room was a great addition, air con perfect and there were some English channels if you wanted to watch TV.
Overall it was a great stay at the Mena Plaza and a big thank you to the staff for their help during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Mena Plaza is a 2 star hotel situated in a new "plaza", only a minute’s walk to the square that extends onto the Balcon of Europa. It is so close to everything but just far enough away to make sure you have a peaceful stay. The hotel is very clean, with good size modern bedrooms that are spotless and bright and with a balcony overlooking the rear of the hotel onto a quiet passage or onto the new square (unfortunately the square seems to be a victim of the recession. All the shops were empty but it was a nice, peaceful area). Bathroom is very clean & modern, with hot water and a powerful shower. They were a little scarce with the towels though. There is a fridge, flat screen T.V. air-con and plenty of wardrobe space. There is no safe in the room though and the walls aren't sound proof so you can hear everything that is going on in the hallways so bring a pair of earplugs. There is a small roof top pool which
is perfect for cooling off in after a long day in the sun and there is always a lovely breeze on rooftop with a great view over the mountains. The breakfast was good (cereals, meats, cheeses, eggs, fruit, yoghurt and breads) and it can be eaten outside if you prefer. There is free wifi and connection was good. All the staff were so friendly and welcoming, with warm genuine smiles when you passed by them. Nerja is a beautiful place with cobbled streets, so many tapas bars and restaurants close by and fabulous shops. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the square. Bring a pair of earplugs as the bedroom doors aren't sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Mena Plaza in July for 2 nights. I love to try different places to stay! Our room was lovely, bit on small side. Fridge ,and plenty of space in wardrobe. Pool nice size, and lovely breeze on rooftop, except umbrellas kept falling over! Breakfast nice and can be eaten outside if you prefer.

Room Tip: If you get front room you are only looking out on empty square so doesnt matter really. We had nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed with my sister and her partner for a few nights and had a great stay. The location is fantastic - very central, but off the main square allowing for a peaceful stay.

There is free wifi (and connection was pretty good). The breakfast was good - lost of choice, although it was the same each day.

There is a pool which is a nice addition, and even if you don't want to swim, it is a nice place to sit and read

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mena Plaza

Address: Plaza de Espana, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mena Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.