We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, fresh seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pulguilla

El Pulguilla
Calle Almirante Ferrandiz 26, 29780 Nerja, Spain
952521384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 326 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good value, fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Entry to the restaurant is either through the bar off the side street or from the main car park...speciality is fresh fish which is cooked well and served in generous portions. It gets busy quickly, and service can be stretched when it is, but the buzz makes up for that.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    121
    37
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stouport on Severn
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Disappointing Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Our friends, with whom we dined, recommended this restaurant to us. We chose to eat in the rear restaurant area, rather in the front tapas bar, where most of the locals eat. The restaurant is massive and was nearly empty at the time of our visit. All four of us decided on fish for our main courses, as this is the restaurant's speciality. Service was quick and friendly. Unfortunately, all four fish dishes were drenched in oil. This was particularly annoying as we went out of our way to emphasis that we wanted the fish grilled and not fried. Neither us or our friends are likely to eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is always buzzing, full of locals and tourists alike. It is a great spot to stop for a quick drink and fishy tapas and soak up the atmosphere. The bacalao, calamaritos, and sardinas are great but they also have pinchitos and filletillos for the carnivores

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz Provincia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Freshly cooked tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visisted twice during our stay and each time the bar was packed both with locals and visitors. The waiters were friendly and efficient, and the tapas freshly cooked to order. One of the better bars in Nerja.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited here on our first night in Nerja in July as it had been recommended to us by family,

We sat in the back outdoor area (not the busy bar area at the front, which was rammed!) as we wanted to choose a selection of Tapas and share,

The service was ok, not great but then it was very busy! We were both a bit dissapointed with the menu, we were expecting more choice?! Maybe that's just us but the menu didn't really do much for me in terms of excitement!

The food was average, there was nothing wrong with it, and the portions were generous but it just lacked something for me, dare I say it was bland?! The spanish Tortilla was good though :-) maybe we just didn't order the right things!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pulguilla also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Pulguilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pulguilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.