We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican Food - We would come back for the Chili Con Carne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zacatecas Tex Mex - CLOSED

Zacatecas Tex Mex
Calle Los Huertos, Nerja, Spain
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
470 reviews 470 reviews
449 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
“Mexican Food - We would come back for the Chili Con Carne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Cocktails (Margarita, Tequila Sunrise, Mojito) all priced at €4.75. We had two Margaritas - they were good!

The wine list started at €9.95 per bottle. Mexican Beer €3.75

We started with Chicken Wings with a spicy sauce (€5.50) and Guacamole (€5.95). To follow we had Chili Con Carne (€9.95) served with rice and salad, and American Hamburger served with salad and fries (€10.95). The Chili Con Carne was very good - home made with lean meat and was spicy and very tasty. It was a shame that the burger wasn't home made.

The total bill for 2 people which included the cocktails, a bottle of Rioja Crianza (€13.95 - very reasonably priced), 2 waters and coffees was €62. The manageress/owner was friendly and charming.

The restaurant also offers a good value set menu every evening for €9.95 (2 courses).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Mojitos in town :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Me and my partner recently returned from a wonderful, relaxing holiday in Nerja. I'd been the previous year but never tried this place and wish i had of. The food is excellent, so tasty and full of flavour. I love mexican food and this is one of the nicest places i've eaten. Service was great, and their cocktails are gorgeous :) We went 2 nights in a row it was that good. Excellent value for money and they do a 2 course for 9.95 menu now...well worth it.

p.s Try the nachos :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fab food & super service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

A lovely restaurant. I'm a big fan of Mexican food, so am always keen to try what's on offer when I'm on holiday. This restaurant was incredibly welcoming, had a great menu and the food was delicious. I also enjoyed a yummy cocktail. Well worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Went to this restaurant 2 years ago and decided to go back this holiday as we had enjoyed the food do much - it was as good as we remembered. The fajitas were superb and the service was fabulous. I would highly recommend a visit

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Marvellous Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We love mexican food and being starved of it in Manchester every time we go abroad we always try to seek it out. What a find this was!!. We liked it so much that we went back on consecutive nights. The food is immaculate and spicy means spicy !!. The restaurant has a great feel and the service is ace. It is great value for money and we left full and happy and wondering why Manchester hasn't a decent mexican restaurant like this. Our favourite is Rosie's Cantina in Amsterdam but this little gem really gives that a run for its money. If you are in Nerja and you like excellent quality tex mex food just go to this - its a delight.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zacatecas Tex Mex also viewed

 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zacatecas Tex Mex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.