We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Julie & Mike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calabaza - CLOSED

Calabaza
Calle Pintada, 9, 29780 Nerja, Spain
952525569
Improve this listing
Price range: $18 - $26
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Calabaza is a restaurant situated in the possibly the most beautiful little town of Costa del Sol. We try to make your visit a memorable experience and we have created a restaurant that will come back home talking about. We are proud of our working staff that is completely new since the month of December 2012. We hope our menu is to your satisfaction and we are looking forward your visit.Calabaza es un restaurante situado en el que posiblemente sea uno de los pueblos mas bonitos de la Costa del Sol. Intentamos que su visita sea recordada con satisfaccion y para ello ofrecemos un restaurante del que hablaran encantados con sus amistades. Estamos muy orgullosos de nuestro personal, que es completamente nuevo desde el mes de diciembre del 2012. Esperamos que nuestro menu sea de su agrado y con una sonrisa le atenderemos en su proxima visita.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Julie & Mike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

If this restaurant was in England we would be paying Michelin Star prices and have to book well in advance. We had a fantastic meal and friendly good service, the ambiance was perfect, we only wish we could go there any time we wished. When we go to Nerja again we will be visiting Restaurant Calabaza

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    24
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Ate here recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was of a good standard and beautifully presented. I had scallops to start and fish for main and they were excellent, really well cooked.

The service is a little slow but there was only 1 waiter on so he was doing his best.

A welcome change from the more tourist friendly places. will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What a Pity!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We did go back to Calabaza this summer in the hope that it was back to it's glory days. Unfortunately this is not the case. The chef is still trying to copy the signature dishes of their former fantastic chef and it just does not work. Also, there does not seem to be enough staff in the kitchen which leads to painfully slow service. The waiting staff are very pleasant and attentive, but unfortunately have to apologise too often for the slow kitchen service. We are sorry to submit this report but do not want our earlier report to mislead. Hopefully we will hear that it has improved in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great fusion place. Stands out from all the other 'tourist restaurants' in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Went on a monday evening. Found it randomly, not very crowded when we visited. Know Nerja well, but not heard or seen this place before. Ordered only starters as not so hungry and as all started sounded good. Was so pleasantly surprised over the food, very very good! Also great service. Nerja needs more places like this! Restaurant Olive is a favorite of ours, but this one goes right up next to Olive now. Strawberry gazpacho is a must have for starter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great food and warm, friendly service. This restaurant was recommended by a friend living in Nerja and we were so pleased we went. Try the suckling pig!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calabaza also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calabaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.