We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Don Peque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostal Don Peque to your Saves list
Hostal Don Peque
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Diputacion, 13, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My Mother-in-Law and I chose this hotel after reading the fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor. The room was small but very comfortable. Lovely decor, very rustic and lots of lovely artwork around the hotel all painted by the owner Clara.
Tea and coffee was provided in the room which was a lovely touch as breakfast was not provided because of the season.
It's close to all the shops, beach,restaurants and the Balcon De Europa.
We went 25th Feb for 5 nights and it cost us 200 euros for both of us which we paid when we were leaving. We had a top floor room which we didn't mind because it had a balcony overlooking the main street, but wouldn't be good for people who have difficulty walking.
Overall a great place to stay and value for money considering the location.

Room Tip: Not suitable for people who are disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    46
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
118
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip advisor. Very helpful and friendly owners, Superb location central to the shops and restaurants and for walks in the area. No breakfast as it is winter but a very good cafe at the top of the road will provide fresh croissants and coffe for two for 6 euros - beat that Starbucks (by the way the coffee is served in cups not buckets and tastes better) Lots of places offering 3 course menu of the day for 7 or 8 euros. Bar Chanquete at the corner of Calle JAEN, opposite the free parking place for your car does an amazing menu del dia with lots of choice and daily specials which are very good. Popular with workmen and teachers from the nearby school.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojacar, Spain
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Location is perfect.Run by French people, whose daughter´s name is the same as ours, it could not fail. It did not.

The place makes you feel like when you went on holidays in the 70s,and I can´t really explain why.It might be their caress, our how good they make you feel, or Nerja itself.But you will love it.

I am not telling you anything practical.Location, cleanliness, warmth, etc...is perfect. It is just a not so new building in the old center of Nerja. but if you hate these new 4 star hotels (all the same to me) this place will make for a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Breakfast in the attic is a MUST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in the Hostal Don Peque on the 31st Dec 12 and 1st Jan 13.
The place was spotless with very individual rooms tastefully decorated.
My only criticism would be the price of 70 Euros per night for a Hostal without breakfast (Its only served in the summer) would seem to be a little excessive, seeing that 3 star The Plaza Cavana just 100 metres further down the road with pool/Gym and Breakfast was 5 Euros per night less expensive for the same period.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have just had 5 days in nerja, doing some research for our forthcoming wedding, so delighted to find this little gem, perfect for recommending to our guests for central clean, friendly location with all the facilities you could wish for. Don't be put off by the name "hostal" it really is just the same as a hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, Surrey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a second trip to Hostal don Peque and it was every bit as good as our previous stay in 2010. Clara works so hard and her attention to detail is extraordinary. Cleaniless is second to none, all the rooms are so tasteful, hand decorated, colourful and spotless. Many of Clara's only unique paintings are dotted around the Hostal and she has a wonderful collected of quirky hats all which add up to excellent ambience and atmosphere. For us Brits there is even a link to UK television which was a bonus for my husband! Continental breakfast was very good, always served on the rooftop with a selection of local cheeses and hams. The hostal was very centrally located from excellent restaurants, the beach and shopping. We cannot recommend this place too highly and will certainly be back for a third trip!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sat nav if it is your first visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our arrival at Hostal Don Peque was not the easiest - locating the hotel can be tricky and we had to drive around the block a couple of times before we had a clue! We were lucky enough to find a car parking space nearby, but allow plenty of time for your often-frustrating search, and any vehicle larger than our VW Polo won't stand a chance on the streets - although the hotel advised that there are two pay car parks fairly locally.

Don't be put off by the unprepossessing entrance to the hotel - because the smile that greets you from the Reception desk on the first floor once you've struggled with your luggage makes it all worthwhile! The French husband-and-wife team are the most welcoming and friendly hosts, and the breakfast on the roof terrace that they serve is a delight - although place yourself under the numerous parasols to have the best experience.

The hotel is very clean and a great deal of thought has gone into the Moroccan-inspired rooms - our spacious third floor 'blue' room had some lovely touches, and the furnishings were fresh and new. Whilst I would not pretend that you could take much advantage of the promised 'sea view' due to the rooftops in the way, the table and two chairs on the balcony was a good place to relax after the beach before taking in the many attractions that Nerja has in store!

One of the main benefits of the Hostal Don Peque is its central location - there are bars and restaurants a plenty very close by and the street that the hotel is situated on closes to traffic in the evening so that a number of bustling street cafés can spill out just in front of your door. This could be a bit noisy if your room is on that side of the hotel, but we never had any problems being on the opposite side (and being 'night owls' - the hotel gives you 24-hour access).

We thoroughly enjoyed our four-night stay at the Hostal Don Peque, and would definitely return for its friendly greeting, central location, excellent value-for-money and the fact that nothing seems too much trouble - we were delighted by the recommendation for a restaurant on our last night and the hotel even made the booking and arranged a prime position on the terrace...now, there's customer service for you!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hostal Don Peque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Don Peque

Address: C/ Diputacion, 13, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Don Peque 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Don Peque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Don Peque Nerja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Don Peque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.