We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well deserved reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Don Peque

Save Saved
You added Hostal Don Peque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Don Peque
C/ Diputacion, 13, 29780 Nerja, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 hotels in Nerja
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well deserved reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip advisor. Very helpful and friendly owners, Superb location central to the shops and restaurants and for walks in the area. No breakfast as it is winter but a very good cafe at the top of the road will provide fresh croissants and coffe for two for 6 euros - beat that Starbucks (by the way the coffee is served in cups not buckets and tastes better) Lots of places offering 3 course menu of the day for 7 or 8 euros. Bar Chanquete at the corner of Calle JAEN, opposite the free parking place for your car does an amazing menu del dia with lots of choice and daily specials which are very good. Popular with workmen and teachers from the nearby school.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    39
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
106
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mojacar, Spain
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Location is perfect.Run by French people, whose daughter´s name is the same as ours, it could not fail. It did not.

The place makes you feel like when you went on holidays in the 70s,and I can´t really explain why.It might be their caress, our how good they make you feel, or Nerja itself.But you will love it.

I am not telling you anything practical.Location, cleanliness, warmth, etc...is perfect. It is just a not so new building in the old center of Nerja. but if you hate these new 4 star hotels (all the same to me) this place will make for a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Breakfast in the attic is a MUST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in the Hostal Don Peque on the 31st Dec 12 and 1st Jan 13.
The place was spotless with very individual rooms tastefully decorated.
My only criticism would be the price of 70 Euros per night for a Hostal without breakfast (Its only served in the summer) would seem to be a little excessive, seeing that 3 star The Plaza Cavana just 100 metres further down the road with pool/Gym and Breakfast was 5 Euros per night less expensive for the same period.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We have just had 5 days in nerja, doing some research for our forthcoming wedding, so delighted to find this little gem, perfect for recommending to our guests for central clean, friendly location with all the facilities you could wish for. Don't be put off by the name "hostal" it really is just the same as a hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a second trip to Hostal don Peque and it was every bit as good as our previous stay in 2010. Clara works so hard and her attention to detail is extraordinary. Cleaniless is second to none, all the rooms are so tasteful, hand decorated, colourful and spotless. Many of Clara's only unique paintings are dotted around the Hostal and she has a wonderful collected of quirky hats all which add up to excellent ambience and atmosphere. For us Brits there is even a link to UK television which was a bonus for my husband! Continental breakfast was very good, always served on the rooftop with a selection of local cheeses and hams. The hostal was very centrally located from excellent restaurants, the beach and shopping. We cannot recommend this place too highly and will certainly be back for a third trip!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sat nav if it is your first visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Our arrival at Hostal Don Peque was not the easiest - locating the hotel can be tricky and we had to drive around the block a couple of times before we had a clue! We were lucky enough to find a car parking space nearby, but allow plenty of time for your often-frustrating search, and any vehicle larger than our VW Polo won't stand a chance on the streets - although the hotel advised that there are two pay car parks fairly locally.

Don't be put off by the unprepossessing entrance to the hotel - because the smile that greets you from the Reception desk on the first floor once you've struggled with your luggage makes it all worthwhile! The French husband-and-wife team are the most welcoming and friendly hosts, and the breakfast on the roof terrace that they serve is a delight - although place yourself under the numerous parasols to have the best experience.

The hotel is very clean and a great deal of thought has gone into the Moroccan-inspired rooms - our spacious third floor 'blue' room had some lovely touches, and the furnishings were fresh and new. Whilst I would not pretend that you could take much advantage of the promised 'sea view' due to the rooftops in the way, the table and two chairs on the balcony was a good place to relax after the beach before taking in the many attractions that Nerja has in store!

One of the main benefits of the Hostal Don Peque is its central location - there are bars and restaurants a plenty very close by and the street that the hotel is situated on closes to traffic in the evening so that a number of bustling street cafés can spill out just in front of your door. This could be a bit noisy if your room is on that side of the hotel, but we never had any problems being on the opposite side (and being 'night owls' - the hotel gives you 24-hour access).

We thoroughly enjoyed our four-night stay at the Hostal Don Peque, and would definitely return for its friendly greeting, central location, excellent value-for-money and the fact that nothing seems too much trouble - we were delighted by the recommendation for a restaurant on our last night and the hotel even made the booking and arranged a prime position on the terrace...now, there's customer service for you!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here between the 24th-28th August with my husband. After reading numerous good reviews on trip advisor we decided to choose this little gem in the heart of the town of Nerja. The room was great-very nicely finished by Clara and just as comfortable as you could wish for and always left spotless by the cleaning lady.

The hostal is very pretty with paintings and nice furnishings all over the place and it is located just in the middle of the town with bars, restaurants and shops on your doorstep literally! If you want a small, family-like place which is clean and value for money then this is the place for you and the great asset is its central location.

Clara and Robert are a nice French couple who run this place; they were always helpful and whenever we had a query or needed to make a reservation Clara or Robert would always take care of everything. Thanks Robert and Clara:)

The breakfast was simple yet very good -Clara makes the jams herself and they are truly delicious! The freshly brewed coffee was excellent too as were the bread and cup-cakes. It is served on the terrace which offers a great view of the town and sea.

We would choose this Hostal once again if we come back to Nerja. Thanks Clara and Robert:) Keep it up:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Don Peque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Don Peque

Address: C/ Diputacion, 13, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#2 Family Hotel in Nerja
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nerja
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Don Peque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Don Peque Nerja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Don Peque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.