We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Jaen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Jaen to your Saves list
Parador de Jaen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castillo De Santa Catalina, 23001 Jaen, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Jaen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A memorable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The location of the parador is great on top of a hill with a spectacular view. We could see the sunrise and sunset from the balcony in our room. If you want a different stay than in a regular hotel choose this parador. Nice dinner and breakfast.
The parador lies isolated so you must have a car to go around. You can go up on the hill to get a
view of the valley below.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    138
    45
    13
    9
See reviews for
67
227
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sønderborg, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The views from the rooms and around the property are really beautiful. My wife and I enjoyed romantic breakfasts on our balcony overlooking the mountains.

***One nice service of the parador: it is free of charge to have breakfast delivered to your room, assuming you have purchased one of the board options. Find the form in the folder on the desk in your room.***

Views and free breakfast delivery aside, the property is in need of a serious update. The decor looks worn-down and used, both in the public areas and in the rooms. It very much looks like it was chic decades ago, but now appears outdated. I'm being really picky here, but for the price you pay to stay at a parador, especially this one, it is reasonable to expect the highest level of luxury furnishings.

Also, one caveat: why have the "keep silent" signs around the lobby? I've never seen that at a hotel before, and it creates a strange atmosphere. Maybe the intention is to create a spa-like serenity, but I thought it was stifling.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Our return to this Parador is even more breath taking than the first time. The weather was perfect for sitting on our balcony and enjoying the view of the valley below. The front of the hotel provided had an equally amazing view of the city. Rooms are comfortable. Public rooms reflect the mid evil past of the castle. Staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The position of this parador is unbeatable, on a very high and narrow ridge above the town with magnificent views all around. We have stayed here several times and are always happy with the service, rooms and food. And don't forget to visit the castle. A bit too much focus on olive oil, but Jaen province is the largest producer of the product.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our third night in a parador was here (stayed in Cazorla and Ubeda ones also as part of trail of Nazrid). Cazorla was good, Ubeda was great but this was amazing altogether. Very impressive in scale and location with super views from the rooms. We had a king suite with 4-poster bed. Loved it. Had a pricy lunch and dinner here but, what the hell, we were on holidays. Nice veggie lasagne for lunch. For dinner wife had a substantial duck dish which was lovely. I had a salmon with creme cheese filling which tasted amazing but there was very little else on the plate and was not filling. Overall though meal and wine were good if expensive. Nice views on walk around hotel. Definitely my favourite parador. Good value as part of the 3-night deal available through the official parador website. Free parking. Good staff. Nice breakfast. Alas pool was closed (we arrived on 1st October, pool closes 30th of Sept) which was very, very disappointing but what can you do. Everything else was brilliant

Room Tip: Room to rear, looking south provides best views though sunsets to west can be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longnor UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Absolutely fabulous location and interesting building. Food was excellent and with one exception the service first rate. The rooms are small however and the sound insulation non-existent - if your neighbour takes a bath at midnight you will not sleep until they are done! We found the staff very helpful and they responded when we had an issue over service in the restaurant - after that the service could not have been better.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Everything has already been said.

Great hotel. Beautiful views. Peaceful. Lovely rooms. Food great.

My only complaint would be that the dinner menu didn't change over the three nights that we stayed. However everything that we ate was exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Jaen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Jaen

Address: Castillo De Santa Catalina, 23001 Jaen, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Jaen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Jaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Jaen 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Escapio, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Parador de Jaen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Jaen Hotel Jaen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Jaen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.