We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a short city break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Jaen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Jaen to your Saves list
Parador de Jaen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castillo De Santa Catalina, 23001 Jaen, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Jaen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a short city break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed a night in the parador. The hotel occupies a fantastic position right next door to the Castillo De Santa Catalina, on top of a hill above the city of Jaen. The hotel itself, albeit constructed in the style of a medieval castle is actually fairly modern. This is in no way a critisism, as it enables the hotel to provide modern facilities which probably would not be possible in an original. Our room, which I think was one of the simpler rooms was of a reasonable size, had a spacious bathroom, with power shower and also had mini bar, satelite tv etc. The usual facilities provided in a modern hotel. We had a wonderful meal, in the restaurant, mine a beatifully cooked Sea Bream, my wifes a vegetarian Cannaloni, We finished with a selection of fruit sorbets. We had a lovely bottle of wine and a couple of extra glasses and I think our bill came to around 55 euros. Fantastic value for the quality of food and wine. Also the restaurant is stunning, having the feel of a medieval banqueting room.
Jaen itself does not hold much to attract the visitor apart from an impressive Cathedral and the Arab baths ( closed for refurbishment during our stay).
We walked into the town on a footpath that leads through the forest on the hillside above the city. It is a fairly easy walk and took no more than about half an hour. We even walked back up, which again wasn't too strenous.
Over all I would recommend this hotel for a short stay of 1-2 days.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    138
    45
    13
    9
See reviews for
67
226
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SW USA
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Good stuff: great staff, great bar, fantastic breakfast, great room with terrace, wonderful location. If the pillows are too hard, ask for soft pillows. Free wi-fi in the common areas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The hotel -a renovated castle-located on top of the hill has fantastic views of the city. Good rooms with views.Friendly service. We were disappointed with the dinner in their main restaurant though we liked their wines.Their restaurant needs renovation as it had a musty smell....I would suggest that guests eat in one of the restaurants of Jaen.

Room Tip: Room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed one night after visiting cities of Ubeda, Baeza and Jaen. On top of a hill, this former castle is a unique place to stay for those curious about a castle. The food was outstanding and the room was very comfortable. Taking your belongings up to the room is challenging as there are still stairs to negotiate after using the elevator. I highly recommend this Parador for its location and castle experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not requiring the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at this parador, thinking it would be the best night on our 3 week trip. Yes, the views are gorgeous, but the parador itself seemed generic and excessively overpriced for what you got. Our dining experience was laughable... our server was very rude, the food seemed like it had been frozen for 6 months then partially reheated, the vibe there was generally very strange (they were playing a muzak version of the Twin Peaks theme song while we were eating...), our expensive cheese tasted like plastic, there were olive pits (leftover from other patrons) in our bowl of olives, and it was by far the most expensive dinner of our entire trip.

Our room smelled of disinfectant (probably due to their disinfecting program - see photo), and it was very hard to ignore. There was mold in the bathroom... again, not worth the price tag.

The pool (which we hoped would give us a break from the disappointment) was surrounded by a fortress of glass and plastic and the lifeguard was talking incredibly loudly into her cell phone for the 2 hours that we spent poolside. Not a moment of peace & quiet.

Beyond all that, we felt like the parador system itself ripped us off. Conceptually, it seems like a good idea, but in reality we found it very disappointing. There was an error in our reservation (somehow the system booked us in a different city one month earlier) and they refused to credit or refund us. Like I said, very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Here's your chance to say in a castle! Quite a sight to see as you drive into Jaen and seeing the castle lit on top of the hill.

This parador is really out of the way, situated on top of a mountain and off the beaten track. The drive up the mountain can get a tad hairy, with steep climbs and tight turns along a narrow one land street. But I would say that it is well worth the trip up, as the view is excellent.

The rooms are quite spacious and has a very castle feel. I would highly suggest you review trip advisor list for restaurants in the area as the food at parador didn't look appealing. We had dinner at Antonios which was decent but pricey.

Overall a neat experience and had a great time with e view. Nonetheless, once is enough and probably won't go back again fir repeated stays.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

A great spot to decompress in between bustling Spainich city visits. Lovely restaurant and the views off balconies in the roioms are spectacular. It is fading just a bit in terms of the furniture and decor, but the setting makes up for that.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Jaen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Jaen

Address: Castillo De Santa Catalina, 23001 Jaen, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Jaen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Jaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Jaen 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Escapio, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Parador de Jaen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Jaen Hotel Jaen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Jaen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.